We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Lion

Black Lion
Ranked #95 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Here at The Black Lion, we aim to be the best at everything we do... And we do a lot!! From a fantastic restaurant serving food until 10pm (9.30Pm Thursday, 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays) to a consistently busy late night bar... And everything in between!! ... The Black Lion is all about live music, served up 6 days a week. Up-and-coming local bands, live and authentic Blues, swinging live Jazz Sundays, Brighton's most popular Funk and Soul bands - right through to renowned names on the DJ circuit... We've got the lot! ... Our fantastic DJs have a simple brief: "keep 'em smiling, make 'em dance" We play anything from Northern Soul, Motown, Funk, Rock & Roll, Ska, Mod Revival, Indie, Reggae and Old School Hip Hop... It's a fairly eclectic blend, but we find it attracts lots of the right kind of people, and they seem happy when they stumble out at 3am. ... On Sundays we're the 'Live & Swingin' Lion' - our in-house band plays a rotating mix of gypsy jazz, swing, blues, soul and funk. Serving fantastic home-cooked roasts all evening until they run out, as well as our full menu (advanced booking highly advised), we can't think of a more perfect end to the week. ... The Black Lion is fast becoming the go-to place for top-class, affordable cocktails in Brighton. With an extensive list made from quality, fresh ingredients, the best Bloody Marys in town, and weekly changing creations, you'll find something for every taste - always made with care and a flare by our inventive bar team.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Amazing polite, courteous staff & gorgeous decor. The food was gorgeous with lots of choice, all having that "home made" taste. As well as variety, the food was hot, arrived quickly after ordering & was more than plentiful. I couldn't finish mine & definately had no room for the lovely sounding home made deserts! My husband took me there for our Anniversary & as a surprise, he'd got a babysitter & booked a room for us for the night. The room we had was decorated tastefully, the bed was wonderfully comfortable & very clean. Can't fault any of it, we had a lovely evening & night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredsGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    112
    23
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A group of us were down here for a mid-week break and stumbled on this place. Boy, were we lucky! The staff were excellent in being helpful and courteous. Although we are a little older than the normal clientele we felt totally at ease here. The food was really good and service prompt. There is a good selection of drinks available and the atmosphere was one of the highlights of our little holiday.
Cost of food was about £15 for 2 courses and drinks were not a rip-off.
We will definitely return and obviously do recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Food, Even Better Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went here recently with my partner and his parents after getting turned away from a restaurant around the corner due to the queues. To my surprise, it was a great experience. The atmosphere inside is great, with big rustic wooden tables and fairy lights surrounding the place. We were quick to be seated and offered menus and drinks straight away. The staff were very friendly and very attentive, but not over bearing or too distant, something which many places struggle to get right. To eat, I ordered a chicken burger and cheesy fries. Overall, no complaints. The food wasn't out of this world, but for the price and the situation it was exactly what we were looking for. Would definitely come back again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chard0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely Food, A Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I first came here to eat about a year and a half ago after visiting for a drink and being drawn in by the tasty looking menu. Since then I have been back a few times and the food has always been great.

The Sunday roasts are amazing - really big portions with mountains of delicious roasted veg and red cabbage, plus the meat is always served in a generous portion and is usually cooked to perfection. I've had the beef, lamb and veal and have enjoyed all of them immensely.

I wasn't quite so impressed with the dessert menu as on my most recent visit I found the sticky toffee pudding a little too much like a fruit cake with some toffee sauce on top, but having said that I've had either the brownie or chocolate fudge previously (I can't remember which one they offer) and it was really tasty.

The atmosphere is great, and this is no doubt helped by the rustic decor throughout - think chunky wooden tables and flickering candles - as well as the good selection of music (sometimes live). It's also in a lovely location, near the seafront and South Laines.

The staff have always been helpful and polite without being annoyingly false, pretty much exactly what you'd want.

The food is a little pricey, but not extortionately so. I think a Sunday roast is about £11 or so and that includes all the trimmings. It's a little expensive but nice for an occasional treat, and the quality of the food is really something.

Overall this is definitely worth a visit on a Sunday for a unforgettably gorgeous roast if you don't mind paying a little extra It's also a lovely pub to visit on a cold evening as has a cosy and welcoming feel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mollyrchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wychbold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

it was a great start to our weekend, we had the antipasti to share which i must admit was very nice and recommend. it had a great ambiance very cool wall art and music. the staff were very accommodating for us to swap items on the antipasti.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Lion also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing