We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a centre but of what......” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brighton Centre

The Brighton Centre
Ranked #19 of 159 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's a centre but of what......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I came here to watch Dweezil Zappa and his ' Rocking Teenage Combo ' . I think Frank would have had the centres' sound engineers publicly flogged and wired for radishes up thge fundament. On the outside....looks OK , sandwiched between 'The Grand' and The Odeon.....inside looks OK but the Box Office is just a round desk and there's acres of space completely wasted. The concert hall....well I come from Poole and I actually worked in the Arts Centre now called 'The Lighthouse' (what a stupid name) and the Wessex Hall was magnificent. The Brighton Centre auditorium looks like a pub set-up but larger. There's no fixed seating (AFAIK) just chairs and the acoustics were terrible. The PA came from the Battersea PA home of very sick PAs and needed shooting at the end. It was embarressing for Dweezil and us but we loved the music and just got by with our memories and the actuality of listening to Dweezil playing. Next time I won't be here. Next time I'll ask Dweezil to consider Bournemouth (which I hate as much as Brighton) or even Poole. If you want to listen to music then don't come here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patratzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    148
    68
    28
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tired, sad, soulless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Time to knock this place down and build something new. Once inside the venue is ok -all the seats are reasonably close to the action but absolutely NO character - food-service is weird too - hot dog stands indoors. Don't be fooled into thinking a box is cool - the boxes are like pillboxes at the VERY BACK of the auditorium and you'll perch on an uncomfy stool - though since each has its own private door probably ok for some discreet fun with the right company (don't tell them I said so)!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NealBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Terrible venue and even worse bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Saw Joan Rivers here on Saturday, had front row seats and paid a fortune for them, show and Joan was great but the venue, what a dump. The bar was understaffed and £5 for a tiny plastic cup of what could only be described as vinegar was an absolute rip off. No where to sit so took drink into the venue and had to place it on the floor. Come on Brighton surely you can do better than this, People were queuing all around the corner to get in but there were doors open where people just walked straight in (as I did) but no one from the Brighton Centre could be bothered to let the poor people in the queue standing in the pouring rain know. Brighton if you are going to re-vamp then for goodness sake get your staff some new uniforms, preferably ones that fit and don't look like they have been slept in!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pennington32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok auditorium let down by everything else there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went to see Joan Rivers (great show) and had ok seats - bit pricey but heigh ho. Entrance and bar/restaurant areas awful - completely lacking soul and no comfort at all. Bar served the worst wine I have ever tasted - and it was a fiver! Shame on you Brighton Centre. Sooner the site is redeveloped the better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vejerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good entertainment venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Brighton Centre is located on the seafront and is within walking distance of the station if you are fit - taxis and buses are easily available if you are not! All kinds of entertainment is put on here and there are the usual cafes and shops in the main entrance. Western Road and Churchill Square shopping areas are easily accessible from the Centre if you want to make a day of it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brighton Centre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing