We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in local pub but needs to up the service!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sussex Yeoman

Sussex Yeoman
Ranked #152 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Sussex Yeoman is two minutes' walk from Brighton station. Great locally and ethically sourced ingredients, extensive menus, wines and real ales. For reservations please call.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food in local pub but needs to up the service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 15 on a Sunday. Busy but pub still ready for us on arrival. Good space, atmosphere and music. Excellent food-best roast in ages!!! But service was below average for a £15 roast!! Bar staff could not remember drink orders or clear up plates. There were 3 staff on and plates were only cleared as about to leave. No reason to order pudding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    43
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glacier National Park, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food/couple of gripes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I went here today for lunch. The place wasn't too busy, no intrusive music and very friendly and obliging staff. Interesting menu with lots of choice and my cod dish was excellent and my friend loved the venison burger.
One thing I would say is boycott the Sun! Really, I know some people still read it but I don't!
More importantly I think you need to advertise that you are dog friendly. I would not have come if I had of known this because I am allergic to dogs and seeing bar staff stroking dogs and then serving food and drink without washing their hands really makes me feel sick! I guess if you have a dog you feel differently.
Lovely food though. Would go again and customer service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fattybumbum333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Steak and Chips...yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Popped in here on a Monday night whilst on a business trip, the first thing I noticed was it was quite busy. For a Monday night this was a good sign.

I had the Rib Eye steak with the triple cooked chips. It was lovely. Steak was massive I took a photo of it but it doesnt do it justice. Plently of other meat and fish dishes on the menu which also looked good and if they tasted as good as the steak then I would like to go back.

Friendly service and I thought reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gavwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

after ages of trying to find somewhere to eat (All the places we wanted to go to were full) we eventually stumbled upon this place about 50m up a hill from Brighton station! People running the place couldn't be more helpful and we waited only 5 mins for a spare table. Good real ale on tap and a great atmosphere as the place was full! Menu was excellent home cooked food and not too pricey, we will be back, thx

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slikyskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I went to the Yeoman this Saturday and had a fantastic meal. Other choices were fully booked but this turned out to be much better than where I first had in mind! The staff were fun and friendly and I had possibly the best service I've ever had in a restaurant - they overheard me telling my parents that I had proposed to my partner (and she said yes!) and so they gave us a complementary bottle of Prosecco - wonderful!

The prices used to be quite high but they were very reasonable, as were the portion sizes. When I went to Jamie's Italian a while ago the dishes were several pounds more expensive but quite a lot smaller. The food here was delicious - a really cheesy stilton and broccoli soup with lots of nice bread, then some really tasty open ravioli with goats cheese, pesto and spinach amongst other things. The meaty options looked awesome too.

I would thoroughly recommend anyone to go eat there. I would definitely go again but I'm leaving the country in a couple of days!

All in all an awesome eating experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sussex Yeoman also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sussex Yeoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing