We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This restaurant is now CLOSED - how about Nantais” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havana Spoon - CLOSED

Havana Spoon
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
East Sussex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This restaurant is now CLOSED - how about Nantais”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The last time I had a meal at this restaurant I had noticed it was not as good as when it first opened and decided not to eat here again. When visiting this area recently I did notice this restaurant is now closed, I just wanted to advise people to save them a journey. Why not try a quaint little restaurant further along church road walking towards Brighton, which has recently opened at 41 Church Road, Hove, called Bistro Nantais, serving French cuisine. Tel. 723334.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlyspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    15
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Confused by bad reviews - I love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Eaten here a couple of times as a little out of my usual price range, however both times have been beautiful! The staff were all impressively polite, attentive and professional. The decor is fab, modern and chic, adding to the comfortable and upmarket atmosphere.
The food was also brilliant. All 3 courses were gorgeous, especially the butternut & sage soup starter - glorious on my taste buds! The variety and detail that goes into each dish on the menu is just wonderful.
Thoroughly recommend to all, depending on price range as it is a little expensive, but totally worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte2693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great venue, great food & drink, spoiled by the staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Restaurant, cocktail bar and club in the heart of Hove. I have eaten before when it first opened and have since used the cocktail bar/club several times. Food & drink amazing but what I can't over look is just how rude and obnoxious the staff are. This place is best avoided until the owners realise this issue and address the problem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristianUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
2 reviews
“LOVELY DINNER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had the mezze and duck rolls to share to start which me and my girlfriend both really enjoyed. Ordered fish and chips which was very reasonably priced and very tasty, my girlfriend had the lobster linguine and she really enjoyed it and it was so nice I took some for myself too! Service was very good and so was the atmosphere, had a few drinks in the bar afterwards, all in all a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was one mishap after another. First fish was included in the vegetarian starter for one of the party and then our platter (calamari, salmon and prawns) was inexplicably snatched away as well. When it was brought back 20 mins later most of the fish was gone and we had mostly battered veg in it's place. We asked for tap water to accompany the wine and they brought out bottled water. When the main courses came out they brought sea bass instead of cod including cockles and they tried to force us to take the meal. They also poured out different types of wine in the same glass. Fawlty Towers per the reviewer below sums it up. The manager who was serving us was a nice enough lady but hopelessly out of her depth and like a rabbit caught in the headlights

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lost-Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Spoon also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing