We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of Street Thai

Street Thai
Ranked #209 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Trying to find shelter and good food on a rather wet and blustery evening in Brighton! Stumbled across Street Thai, luckily. The host was friendly and accommodating, managing to accommodate our party of three with no reservation. We ordered Massaman curry and Pad Thai, dishes were beautifully presented, delicious and very generous portions. Waitress service was attentive and friendly. The price was also a good ending, £34 for three main meals including , 1 bottle of Chang and JD and coke. Would definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    144
    50
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not really street food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The restaurant has very friendly and attentive staff; the décor is modern and non-pretentious. This is the second time we had been here. The first was during the summer and the roof terrace was a nice option. However it is such a shame the food is still a let-down. It is OK English Thai but not really street food. Perhaps we have been spoiled by having the real thing overseas. Each street vendor produces a uniquely flavoured dish, and there are some amazing combinations of ingredients. Here the sauces and curry pastes seem very bland. I don’t think we will visit a third time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value Thai place”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Big group of us came here for a friend's birthday. Service was great and the food was well above par.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giggsy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Found it”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The first time we went to Street Thai was in 2011 and this time we wanted to go back again but we kept getting lost in The Lanes, luckily we stumbled across it again.
Last time we were able to eat on the roof top, but due to the weather it was closed.
The young lady who was also the bar person showed us to our seats, we ordered the spring rolls, a chicken cashew dish and chicken pad thai, we both felt we had eaten enough without being over full, the first waitress service was fast and friendly, the waitress that bought the food out was rude and is one of the reason Street Thai only gets 4 stars from me, the other is the dirty menus, they had food stains over them and they looked a bit old.
We hope to get back to Brighton in a couple of years and will be trying to find Street Thai again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hippo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Thai, good value”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great restaurant that is slightly less formal than other Thai restaurants, but the food is fantastic. It seems a lot fresher and more modern than many. I'm a bit surprised by the negative reviews as I've been four or five times and found both service and food to be great.

The very large roof terrace is always a great added extra, in the summer. It's a real sun-trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notters_the_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Street Thai also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Street Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing