We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plaice was pleasant, place was not” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishbowl

Fishbowl
Ranked #648 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Fishbowl Bar & Fish Shack. The original East Street hangout serving booze, bites and beats from midday until late all week long. Sat on the corner of East Street & Pool Valley since 1658, the Fishbowl is a Brighton institution. Our kitchen is open daily from 12 until 9 serving the best shack style seafood around. Spread over two floors with an outside terrace, we have ice-cold draft and a selection of craft beers, premium spirits and wines, with DJ's and live music providing the soundtrack.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
849 reviews
566 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Plaice was pleasant, place was not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to stop at this establishment for lunch on a Tuesday as, from the outside, it seemed to be the only real restaurant in immediate vicinity of the pier that was open at that point. We were slightly set back upon entry, as it appeared not to be a restaurant, but a bar, with only sofas downstairs. We were told, however, that there was seating upstairs; so there we sat. The upstairs floor, like downstairs, looked as if it had not been cleaned in several months aside from the tabletops themselves.

Next to our table was, yes, a fish tank, built into the wall: quite probably the best feature of the entire restaurant during our trip.

Orders are plaiced at the bar; so to the bar I went, to make the orders. There is a distinct lack of imagination regarding pricing: every dish is exactly the same price. The man taking our orders was not unpleasant also not exactly friendly.

The main food was actually really good: both dishes. The chips were much too soft, however, and the peas were average at best. I’m not entirely sure why they bring salt and pepper as condiments when they salt and pepper all of the dishes adequately before serving, but I suppose a little top up doesn’t hurt some. I would recommend the garlic and herb batter myself, however there is a wide range of options to choose from – another fairly good feature of the plaice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GandalfTheDrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Public Relations Manager at Fishbowl, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for your review. The Fishbowl is now under new management with a full new team running the pub and kitchen. We're sorry to hear of the negatives in your previous visit and want to assure you that this is not to the standard that we now operate the pub. We now have a brand new menu of many homemade dishes including Fish & Chips. We hope you have not been put off for life and feel able to visit again to see the improvements when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    50
    15
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
“Friendly staff, quick service and great menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I am familiar with the Fishbowl pub, my friends and I are big fans of their fish & chips with the different batters ( all excellent!), the menu is finally bigger and now includes mussels, calamari and even Caesar salad! The great improvement is their gluten free batter and freshly made ketchup which is delicious! The service is quick and the staff are bubbly and friendly, love it x

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmonroe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Extremely run down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Went there with friends and cannot understand how a pub can charge nearly 20 quid for 4 standard beers and do what appears to be zero work on the premises. Went to the loo upstairs and at all my friends decided it got the title worst loo in brighton. Basin was cracked with hairs stuck on it, one urinal was out of service taped up with a bin bag and the other was only held on by a pipe. Service was slow although not unfriendly, but the pub was very run down and tatty.

Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good classic fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had lunch there today, chance picking of pub and not disappointed, pleasantly surprised, very nice fish and chips , homemade tartar sauce and chips, to be recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBL3392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good variety fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went in for lunch with eight of us and although downstairs it was a bit tight there was room upstairs for us to sit together. Although they did run out of bitter twice they were quick to restock it and the food came with reasonable speed. You select your fish and your batter and sides, which are mainly peas of some description, it comes with chips, they have halloumi but it's pretty much just fish and chips. Good, moist fish, batter and chips crisp not soggy, a little stingy on the tartare sauce but that's my only complaint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cptrelentless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbowl also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Fishbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing