We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NicolaD28...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at this cottage for a hen weekend. It was an absolutely perfect location for the shops, restaurants and bars. We didn't have to get a taxi or public transport to anywhere. It was a spacious house and accommodated 9 of us comfortably.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thanks for leaving us your lovely review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Dragonfly Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexRipa...
Essex Coast
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An outstanding, cosy and well appointed central Regency cottage.”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is the perfect holiday cottage for visitors to Brighton. It is very central and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. There is a very good pub next door and it is very close to Preston Street which has a plethora of restaurants of great diversity and is just off Western Road which has all the major stores. Just a short walk to the promenade and to the pier and The Laines and the Pavilion.

The cottage has three decent sized, comfortable double bedrooms and can accommodate quite a large party with additional bedding and the deployment of the lounge. The lounge is very comfortable, there is a decent sized dining room and a very well equipped kitchen with a quality cooker, dishwasher and washer dryer; it would be no trouble cooking and serving dinner for ten! There is also a charming walled yard with plenty of seating.

I shared this lovely house for a week with a friend; it really is the height of extravagant luxury for two people!

The owners are charming and incredibly helpful and obliging and always available to answer questions if telephoned.

Just outstanding for a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, comfort and the lovely, helpful and informative owners.
Liked least: There is not anything to dislike.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dragonfly. You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucy h
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for all us girls”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Dragonfly cottage for a hen weekend that I was organising. The house was ideal for a large group of 12 girls, we stayed inside the house on the Friday night and there was plenty of space, and it had a lovely cosy feeling. The outdoor space was also perfect for a warm evening, being able to have the back door open and access into this space ideal. The landlord was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The house was in a perfect location, 2 minutes to the main high street, and various shops and restaurants. Ideal for what we needed. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhichHote...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a girly weekend away in Brighton”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I booked this weekend for a friend's hen do. There were ten of us and there was plenty of room and space for all of us.

The location was fantastic- it's less than 5 minutes from Churchill Square shops and round the corner from Sainsbury's, Waitrose and anything you would need. We could walk to the bars, clubs, the beach and the station- we did not have to get any taxis anywhere. It does mean parking is tricky though so if you want to bring a car and don't want mind parking your car somewhere a bit further out of town then this would work for you. I have a friend in Portslade so parked my car there after dropping stuff off quickly before getting a train back in.

The owners, Brett and Cheryl and their neighbour were very helpful and instructions and information were easy to follow. They were always quick to respond to any questions I had and even after we left, I told them that we'd lost the top of a cocktail shaker and they've found it and are sending it back to us in the post- great customer service!

There is wifi with a really good signal, the TV is a good make and we were able to play video messages to the bride on it from a USB stick, there was an iPod dock (pre- iPhone 5 connector) and a DVD player with a selection of DVDs.

The kitchen had the basic utensils, plenty of plates, bowls, mugs, glasses and serving dishes. If you need more than one big saucepan for your meals during your stay, then I would think about bringing your own. You will need to bring your own oil, condiments, tea & coffee bits, kitchen roll, toilet roll and whatever you want to eat and drink etc. but I found things like foil, cling film, bin bags, cleaning cloths and very important- the corkscrew! Plus as I've already said- there are shops a couple of minutes away which between them will have everything you will need.

The back garden is lovely to sit in with a glass of wine and some nibbles. The cat hoover cover did make me jump when I went into the downstairs bathroom but that would not stop me recommending this place! We had a great time- thank you very much again to Brett and Cheryl!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer service, location and set up of the house
Liked least: Parking to load/unload the car can be tricky
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
145chloe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage for a stay with friends”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here recently for a hen do, there were 10 of us. Firstly the owner let us arrive on Friday at a time that we chose and also arranged parking permits for us so that we didn't have to park in the public car park. The house is in a perfect location to access all of Brighton within a maximum of 15 minutes' walk to the pier and the street is very quiet. The garden is a lovely sun trap when the weather's good and the living room is a perfect size for everyone to be able to relax together.
As we were able to liaise with the owner directly he gave us a great price for our stay and was extremely friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely weekend cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
We are delighted that you had a good stay. On behalf of Crown Gardens and the landlords, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig71
Olten, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great house, excellent location, warm welcome by the owner”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of approx 10 people in the Dragonfly cottage for a few days.
All of us enjoyed the stay.
The location is excellent, just up the road from the high street and near the seafront.
I can definitely recommend the cottage.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

On behalf of Crown Gardens Ltd and the owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon O
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly and flexible owner”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dragonfly Cottage is located very centrally, 2 roads back from the beach and has easy access to all local amenities. The cottage is kept in very good condition and the owners very kindly allowed us firstly to have only a 1 night stay (below the minimum 2/3) and also allowed us to stay as long as we needed on our check out day of Sunday which allowed us to enjoy the day in Brighton without having to carry our luggage with us. I would highly recommend staying here and if I return to Brighton I will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

On behalf of Crown Gardens Ltd and the owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing