We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE this place”
Review of Legends Bar

Legends Bar
Ranked #17 of 122 Nightlife in Brighton
Attraction details
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I've been visiting Legends for lunch and early evening for a few years now, at least 4 or 5 times a year and I adore this bar/hotel. It's a gay bar but my husband and I have always been made welcome and nobody cares what you are (the way it should be) . It has a beautiful seafront terrace, it's dog friendly (in fact they bring iced water and treats over for your pooches!). The food is absolutely gorgeous , the wine is fab too and cheap. They often do an offer, buy a bottle and get another half price. We did this twice, we're very drunk by bottle 3 so they even saved bottle 4 in the fridge for our early evening trip!! We'd forgotten about it to be honest!!!!
All the staff are friendly and do their utmost to please and if you're lucky, you'll meet some of Brighton's eccentrics in here too which is always an added bonus. Can't wait, because in 3 weeks I'll be back xxxx love you Legends x

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rilleytherag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    8
    8
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a hotel & bar but not a club by any means”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

not a bsd venue, nice bar upstairs, very clean & fresh, quite nice staff too, don't be fooled by the "basement club" idea though, this place is not a club, for clubbing revenge is much better on most nights, we do like legends tho & great for early on / very late in the night :)

Helpful?
1 Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst bar I've been to”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Like many bats around Brighton we were told many times to 'keep the noise down' by jobs worth 'bouncers'. Were told to stop dancing in a circle because someone could get annoyed!!! Not once were we aggressive but were told we were not welcome despite spending £40 a round on drink for 5 people!! Security are the biggest bottle jobs in the world fat and slow and too scared and uptight to let people have a good time. Wouldn't recommend the place in the slightest in fact it's the worst place I've ever been!!! Walk past it!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brightonsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Always a fantastic night out, lively feel and amazing vibe.
Relax in the bar area or downstairs they have a club which is open most nights.

I haven't eaten here but have surprisingly heard their Sunday lunch is outstanding; their drinks selection is good, a little expensive but worth it.


Staff swing between friendly and unfriendly although this has never bothered me too much when it is just drinks and a party you want opposed to service with a meal. Nonetheless their door staff are absolutely lovely. Would recommend - if you're visiting Brighton you HAVE to go Legends!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Charm089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place ”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Daytime visit and good friendly crowd and it was clean and lots of customers of varying ages enjoying themselves.

Prices about right for Brighton.

Lots of lovely people and the bar staff in particular friendly chatty and nice to look at too!

Helpful?
4 Thank RobertWSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Legends Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing