We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Christmas day meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Bay Brighton - CLOSED

Little Bay Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Little Bay Restaurants have been offering high-quality Modern-European cuisine for very reasonable prices since its creation in 1992. With a selection of starters, mains and desserts, as well as a comprehensive wine menu, Little Bay has everything for everyone. Their opulent décor, professional service and sophisticated yet relaxed atmosphere provides the perfect dining experience. Their flexibility and professionalism will allow you to choose how you want to enjoy that experience.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas day meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great value, quirky decor, high quality food presented in a stylish way.All my family ( from 91 to 1 ) were very impressed. We WILL be back next Christmas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    188
    41
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hersonissos, Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Fun But Go Elsewhere For A Gourmet Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Eating out with friends recently, and they were paying...!!

What fun this place really is, All nooks and crannies with ashtrays like a theatre....Not a lot of headroom when you are up near the ceiling!

If there is a crowd of you it would be really good fun, and obviously on the night I went, with Christmas parties going on, a lot of other people thought the same.

The food?

Mussels seem to be a favourite for starters, and a bowlful which would put most other restaurants' main course mussels to shame.

I had the pork terrine and very nice it was too, almost too much as I ordered a Macedonian salad to go with my main course of braised lamb, very well cooked and so very tender, the gravy with it (OK you can call it 'jus' if you want), was a touch tasteless but the lamb didn't really need any more added flavour.

The main oddity is that all the meat on the mains comes out the same shape, obviously protion control at its best!!

The salad really was quite excellent with crisp peppers and cucumber, if it had been a bit warmer then I guess that even the tomatoes would have tasted quite good.

The service was good, but then we were sitting right above the till and hatchway.

Best of all perhaps, the strolling minstrel who frighten the life out of the diners by serenading them......The music varies night to night I am told.

Pricewise? well for these days less than four quid for a starter is not bad, and less than 8 for a main is pretty good too!!..

Recommended for big groups who are not too fussy and want to have a bit of fun while they eat.

Not sure i woudl go all the way to Belgrade just to visit a 'Little Bay' though!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Decided on eating out on a Friday & was soooo impressed. The restaurant is quaint,kooky & different. The booths give u privacy but still can oversee the restaurant. The entertainment added to the odd feel which we loved. Food was delicious. Our waitress Ruth was attentive,warm & welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninny1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“love this funny place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Repeat custom is the key here.. I've been here about 7 or 8 times and what I like is the food! the food and the price!
this place is extremely cheap for the quality of food they put out, I literally dont know how they do it so competitively. There also very friendly staff and the entertainment is amazing! especially the male opera singer with the beard!

the only 2 gripes I have (if im being picky).. are

1) the menu doesnt change much so have had to order the same thing on a few occasions
2) depending on where you sit it can be absolutely BOILING
on one occasion I think I had a shamanic journey

apart from that keep doing what you're doing and we'll keep coming back!

Joris

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very poor and tacky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

i went for lunch here with my boyfriend in the summer, 2013
we were recommended to come here so we thought wed try it out.
the food was very strange and not very tasteful….
the actual restaurant was very tacky and the furniture was very tacky and chipped and not painted in some places…
it was ok.
would not return

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geopett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bay Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing