We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Al Nakhl Brighton UK
Ranked #705 of 1,140 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I've tried the Persian lunch at Al Nalkl for the first time . The food, the service and the decor were very good and it is value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    13
    8
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“OK, Could be better.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful, although a little weak on the English.

Food was fine, but I was expecting something with a little more spice having lived in the Middle East for 4 years. Heavy on the lamb. Very well cooked and presented. Prices reasonable.

Surpised more wines for Middle East not available as they can be very good.

Atmosphere was good, decor has seen better days. (Looks like a Wimpy bar had a makover).

Would I return ? No. Not for any particular reason, it was fine just think it could be done better. Oh, it has a Hubbly Bubbly terrace upstairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Extraveltrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Huge portions of delicious Turkish food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We walked into this restaurant to get away from the crowds and hot weather at the Brighton beach. Not only was the place cool, the food was also yummy!

We were two people and ordered the three mixed mezze starter and a main dish each, which came with fluffy and tasty basmati rice. We were able to choose the three mezze dishes from the menu and they were served with lovely flat crispy bread.

Even though we were starving the mixed mezze almost filled us and we ended up having to doggy back most of our mains.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Turned away”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I both visited this restaurant, as we were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and fancied some Persian food (we are both Middle-Eastern ourselves and familiar with the customs etc).
We arrived at the restaurant at 9pm on a busy Saturday night, I was wearing a modest skirt suit and my husband some jeans and t-shirt.
The restaurant representative looked us both up and down, paused for a moment and then said "I'm sorry, we're closed".
The restaurant atmosphere was tense, there were a few people eating but they were all fellow Middle-Eastern people in traditional dress.
We were both mortified, disgusted with the attitude and thought it a bit rich to behave like this when the restaurant is situated in Brighton of all places! Very sad in this day and age that it should come to this.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice authentic food In great location”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The food is very authentic here & good value. Would definitely come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Nakhl Brighton UK also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Al Nakhl Brighton UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing