We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour!!”
Review of Only in Brighton!

Only in Brighton!
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.30*
and up
Secrets of the Lanes Walking Tour in Brighton
More Info
$39.30*
and up
LGBTQ History Walking Tour in Brighton
More Info
$10.48*
and up
Only in Brighton Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 42 Tours in Brighton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: What connects Abba and a panty-less celebrity? Mount Everest and Tescos in Hove? A stained wall and the genesis of a worldwide retail brand? What's the story behind a same-sex wedding in 1923...Britain's 'most useless' monarch...a certain Parisian radio station? Why is my charming Regency property crumbling? Only in Brighton is a vivid 80-minute guided walk - a curiously fact-filled and tongue-in-cheek look at the landmarks, past and present, that make Brighton a city like no other. For the visitor, it is an insider's introduction; for the hardened Brightonian, a revelation and celebration. This personal tribute cuts to the heart of a unique city in all its glory, shame and muesli. Tours most Fridays and Saturdays 7pm April-November. Check website to confirm dates. £8/6. Meet outside Al Duomo restaurant, by Royal Pavilion Shop. No need to book. Private tours available outside normal hours - email to ask.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a Great tour! Rick our tour guide gave us a very interesting knowledge of Brighton, from the shoddy way the regency-style buildings were built using Bungaroosh to the reason why the first Bodyshop was painted green. From the year Brighton presented the Eurovision song
contest that helped launch a certain band on their way to fame! To the murmurations over the West Pier being place second on CNN's list of 27 sights that will remind you how incredible Earth is! Well worth it! Thanks Rick!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969_Agent_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    17
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my 4th Brighton tour this year (they have all been really good!)...and it was brilliant.
Full of great facts, interesting and funny....presented by someone with a real passion for this beautiful little city....in among the facts and jokes there were actually some lovely and poinient moments as the guides love for the place came through.
Funny, informative and interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“davidb5039”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have only just moved to Brighton so this was a good opportunity to find out some of the little-known facts that you perhaps don't read about in the official guides. Starting at the Al Duomo we took in the Brighton Pavilion, the Dome, a bit about the local architecture, Anita Roddick's first shop, plus some interesting facts about quirky Brighton residents! We finished on the seafront in good weather and a superb sunset - apparently quite unusual! Would definitely recommend it and thank you to Rick (I believe?) our very good guide.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidb5039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rain did not stop play”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

the tour starts outside al duomo,at first i did think it had been cancelled as i stood under the canopy of the restaurant sheltering from the dreadful weather looking as dodgy as pinky in brighton rock.Eventually i realised that the soggy bunch clustered around a freddie mercury lookalike was my tour group,after introductions we set off on a very rewarding informative tour.Our tour guide was very good,he allowed Brighton to be the star whilst letting us discover a quirkier unknown side of the town with his gentle toungue in cheek humour. I recommend you give the tour a go,visitor or local,you will be intrigued by brightons secrets!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting and moving facts”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed this tour as part of a Living Social voucher deal. It was more than worth the money, and the information and anecdotes were fantastic. Would certainly recommend it to any visitors as well as to locals wishing to find out more about their hometown. Especially moving to hear about the man who moved into a smart seafront hotel, regaling his listeners with stories of his exploits in the First World War - only, some time later, to be arrested, strip-searched and jailed, not in Brixton's men's prison, but Holloway prison for women, because "he" admitted to being a "she". Only in Brighton!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Only in Brighton! also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Only in Brighton!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing