We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for 2 weeks n they say it was a great hotel with fantastic views..the room was always clean..great choices for breakfast..and the staff always with a smile looked after them very well as my mother cannot walk alot..good disable facilities..on the whole highly recommend as you feel at home...thanks to all the team

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank roquetasdemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you and your family had such an enjoyable visit , and are happy to recommend us in the future.
We hope to see you all back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Checked in to Room 201 for a mid week 2 night stay Wed. - Fri. 23-25/4/2014.
Travelled on Southern Trains from London to Brighton.
Had lovely lunch at Sichuan restaurant at 58 Queen's Road on walk to hotel
from Brighton Rail Station. ( http://tiny.cc/ub8vex )

Request at time of booking through agoda.com on 5/4/2014
was for a seaview room on upper levels.
Checked in at 2 pm was smooth. Check in staff most polite and helpful.
Room 201 was a corner room with side sea view towards ruined West pier.
Will request for front direct seaview in future.
The room was spacious, clean and well maintained. Perhaps it was one of
the more recent refurnished ones.
Decent LCD tv with Freeview channels.
Comfortable king size bed.
Bathroom towels changed daily.
Room Insulated from outside noise with double glazed windows.
A free litre of bottled water in your room on arrival is a very nice thought.
Tea/coffee making utensils with kettle in room.
On offer at 99p stores are 6 bottles of 500 ml. handy size natural 8.2 pH mineral water
for 99p.
Immediately went gallivanting around the Lane's area of city.
Bagged some bargains at GAP Kids with up to 75% off sale that was on.
Every Wed. 10 am - 4 pm at the Churchill Square piazza is a farmer's market
with a good selection produce from Sussex.
Took an aerial ride on the Brighton Wheel at £8 per person on site price.
Ride was not pre planned otherwise if booked online entitles you to 10 % discount.
( http://www.brightonwheel.com )
Short trip has always included visit to the the Brighton Pier. This time had a frozen yoghurt with fruit assortment ( aptly called the full Melody @ £3.50) at the pier on a free deckchair in
late afternoon sun. Before leaving, had the popular noodle with chicken take away large portion ( £3.70 ) from the rear of the pier where the rides are.

Breakfast at Queens was a very relaxed and enjoyable affair.
Self help cereal and hot breakfast on offer. The bacon was lean
which I noted.
I like the fresh melons. The fresh croissants was a delight to have
with Earl Grey tea. By the way hot drinks are made fresh and brought
to your table by the delightful staff.
Staff was courteous & friendly.

Did not have time to utilise the well equipped gym and pool in the basement
which I saw and was impressed. I believe there are sauna/steam rooms as well.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay at Queens during a 2 day Brighton shopping trip.
Aim the next time is to get to stay in a front direct sea view room
on the upper floors overlooking Brighton Pier !
Last stay was at the UMI Brighton.

Just a suggestion to the hotel owners.
Newer sofas in the reception waiting area will
more than enhance the overall first impression.
Thanks to the lovely staff we encountered during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanGian05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable and pleasant time at our hotel , and managed to get to see a lot of the sights on your visit also.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I have just got back after spending two nights at the Queens Hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary. As it was a special occasion we decided to book one of the Tower Suites as I'd seen a picture of one and thought it looks good, well let's just say the picture did not do the room justice at all!

The room itself is enormous, I'm sure that the bathroom alone is bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in. It had a lovely seating area overlooking the 180degree sea views. The bed was big and comfortable, a little too soft for my usual liking but I'd prefer that to being too hard! In the (enormous) bathroom we had a Jacuzzi bath and separate shower, plus double sinks.

I'm hard pressed to find any negatives about our stay at all, the only two things I could really say are grumbles more than fully-blown negatives. One is that if you want to use the in-room safe there is a charge of £2 per day - when you've already paid £300 for a two night stay it seems a little unfair to then charge for this service which is offered free in many lower-grade, cheaper hotels.

The other is the noise - now, I know this is not the hotels fault in any way which is why I haven't deducted anything from the rating - we didn't sleep very well on either nights as from about 1am - 4am there was so much noise from drunken revelers. Baring in mind that these were weeknights, I'd dread to think how bad it could be at the weekend. However, this is the compromise that you have to make to get a hotel in such a fabulous location and it definitely wouldn't stop us coming back again!

Back to the good bits, aside from the fantastic room we also experienced great staff in all aspects of the hotel from the reception desk, to the bar, to the cleaning team right through to the health club. The swimming pool was lovely and breakfast was great too.. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Tower Room if you get the chance, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happypandauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor , and of course Congratulations on your anniversary!
I think your review has summed up the many fantastic aspects of our Towers suites exceptionally well , and as you so rightly mentioned , the views are simply breathtaking !
i shall pass on your lovely comments about the staff to all of the team , and Im delighted to see that you will be coming back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had the triple room at the Queens Hotel in Brighton.
Although the hotel is tired in some areas our room was excellent.
It has been recently decorated, it is very light, clean and roomy.
We had two single beds and a small double. All very comfortable.
Tea and coffee making and TV and hair dryer.
The staff in reception, the bar and the dining room were all very helpful and friendly.
The price of £210 for the room for 2 nights was excellent and included breakfast.
Great location for the pier, seafront and the lanes.
We thoroughly recommend this for a great girlie trip.
Also recommend the Little Bay restaurant. Fun Opera singer on Weds and Sat.
Had a fun time and a delicious meal at Aguadolce tapas restaurant.
Open top bus is fun and Brighton Marina worth a visit.

Room Tip: Triple room excellent. Proper beds and large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
Of course we always like to see that our guests have had a really enjoyable visit , and it is nice to see that this was the case for you and your friends. Our rooms are generally quite large , and you found yours to have been both roomy and bright , and you found the facilities in both your room and the rest of the hotel to be to your liking.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you all back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Whisked away to the Queens Hotel as a birthday treat over the BH Weekend! First two nights were spent in a beautifully spacious family suite. Beds were lovely and comfortable with ample of bedding, perfectly proportioned clean bathroom with a very good shower***!! Decided to fold away the sofa bed leaving us with a lovely lounge area perfect for the afternoon sun! Brilliant wifi connection and found that the staff were alway quick to answer and never unable to help! Staff were friendly! enjoyed banter with the night manager! Third night spent in kingsize room, beautifully made up with amazing views of the pier and seafront,through a gorgeous bay window! Perfect with the sofa and glass/bottle of wine! Beautiful pool, perfect place to un-wind and then sweat it out in the sauna :) Hotel in very central location which is perfect for ourselves .... Really would not notice all the outside noise unless I was purposely looking for it! A* could not recommend more highly! Weekend to remember! Thank you queens hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor , and may I take this opportunity to wish you a belated Happy Birthday!
It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable visit , and found the hotel very much to your liking , and of course our staff to have been so friendly. They are one of the greatest assets the hotel has , and it is always so nice to hear such great feedback about our team.
Its wonderful to see that you would recommend us , and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent two nights over Easter weekend paid £410 for a family room with breakfast.
Room very large divided into two with a view up to Worthing. Fridge in the room Bed very hard and uncomfortable. Carpet needs changing. Quiet noisy with traffic and party goers coming home 3am plus.
Breakfast pretty poor, mainly cold scrambled eggs, left most of it. Tables rocky and sticky
in poor condition. no explanation of how the system works just wave you to a free table
and get on with it. Coffee not to bad though.
The staff were ok just doing their job

Won`t come back again was oversold by the glossy hotel website. A bit shabby in every
sector and did not feel in the mood to use the pool spa.
Premier inn for us next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection and service. We operate a "greet & seat" system each morning over breakfast , where our guests are met by a supervisor and seated at a suitable table , and a staff member familiarises our guests with the buffet etc., but if a guest seat themselves directly , unfortunately our staff might not be aware.
Our hot buffet selection is quite extensive , and gets continuously replenished (bacon , sausage , black pudding , beans , scrambled eggs , or if fried , poached , or boiled are preferred , these can be cooked to order , as can vegetarian sausages). In addition our cold buffet selection consists of cereal , toast , fruit , croissants , fruit juice , with tea & coffee being readily available also.
I hope you might consider a return visit to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Sadly no sleep moved rooms but still noise until 4.30 am ! Staff kind but dreadful nightclub and street noise . Ear plugs provided at 3.30 am that's a first . Such a shame . Great location . Left exhausted. Rooms ok but stains on carpet . Breakfast reasonable

Stayed: March 2014
Thank janesmithmiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensOperations, Operations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I was sorry to see that your sleep was interrupted during the night , but it is great to read that you found our staff to have been kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $83 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing