We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So tired and drab” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So tired and drab”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We paid £170 for one night for a suite and I have never been so disappointed. The room was not suite quality and was not even quality of a 2 star room in a run down hotel. All it had going for it was space. The leather armchair was ripped, there was dust everywhere, room spelt and there were hairs on the beds. Well as for the bathroom - I have seen more up to date and welcoming public toilets. For the prices of the rooms you are better off booking 2 rooms in a premier inn or travel lodge. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    767
    509
    247
    183
See reviews for
411
891
59
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a Valentine's break. I booked the Tower 4 suite (suite?? Really?). We arrived at 1pm, to be told that check in was at 3, no problem, we went for lunch and a quick walk around the lanes. On returning at 3, we were told that the room wasn't ready. We were asked to wait in reception for 10 minutes. We specifically asked if it would only be 10 minutes as we would go out if not. After 20 minutes, I asked when the room would be ready. The receptionist went into the back office and on returning to the front desk, told us that someone would go and check the room! These suites are advertised as modern, if fixtures and fittings from the eighties are your preference, this is the place for you. Book T4 and you can wait 25 minutes for the bath to fill, or jump in the shower for one minute (the shower tray will overflow if you stay in any longer). We stay in hotels regularly, and I can categorically state that I have slept on the worst mattress I have ever experienced in this room. This is an overpriced, tired establishment that is in serious need of investment. If you have booked already, cancel and look at real quality hotels such as Hotel du Vin, Drakes, or one of the boutique hotels in the area. We love Brighton but would never return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Queens hotel for one night on 17th Feb 2013. We had moved the booking from New Year because of a sick child, and staff were very accommodating regarding this. During a courtesy call on the day before, i was asked whether i had any special requests; i cheekily asked for a sea view room. They explained quite reasonably that they could not guarantee but would do their best. We arrived to be allocated room 403, what a beauty! Amazing sea view at the front and the side, and best of all, for a family of 5, separate bedrooms! A double and a double sofa bed with tv in one room, (for the kids) and another double en suite with tv (for us)! we couldn't believe our luck. All very clean, nice furniture, loads of space, just great. The swimming pool and gym was fine (and we are connoisseurs!), the kids loved it, all of the staff were great. breakfast was a little hectic, but the hotel was clearly very busy and managed it well in my view. it could have been a disaster if they had not managed it as well as they did. We like to sleep with the window open for fresh air, and it was a little noisy from the street overnight. We paid £129 for the night, good value, and Brighton rocks, we loved it. Would recommend. Amazing location as well as staff who care about the standard of service they provide. We will be back!

Room Tip: for a family, choose room 403!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 151Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked direct with the hotel for an over night b+b room with seaview.

The hotel has no parking and we used the NCP around the corner £23 for a 22 hour stay (average I think).

We were allocated room 206 which although was a great size, modern decor and very clean it was all a bit tired. Paintwork chiped, woodwork damaged, the bathroom had a stained and chipped bath, tiles needed some attention...just worn from plenty of use. They offer room service and consequently no mini bar which is a shame.

Plenty of closet space, built in hair-dryer, wonderful sea view.

Breakfast in the morning was interesting. As stated by previous reviewers they do not have enough room to seat everyone so unless you are lucky be prepared to sit and wait for a table. The man overseeing this part was on the ball, making sure everyone was dealt with in order with minimum fuss. The staff were working hard to clear the tables and get them set up speedily. The food was surprisingly good for a buffet, scrambled eggs were nice, selection of cereals and fruit. Croissants, and/or toast. The juice was from concentrate but very standard procedure for hotel breakfasts, cold water is also available.

Overall it was ok, nothing special but also nothing so bad that we wouldn't go again. It is average. What you can't knock is the position of the hotel which is why we keep returning, close to the pier, beach-side, close for shopping, NCP nearby.

Room Tip: Seaview but higher floor, perhaps 3 or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port solent
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked at last minute. Great hotel, lovely sea view room. All staff very polite, good customet service. Clean very warm rooms. Only comnent to dissapoint was the steam and pool having to walk through the gym.
Recommend the queens and will come back in the summer to enjoy the outdoor life in brighton

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vigusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my partners birthday. The hotel was really nice we booked through booking.com and paid for sea view room which was the same price for a standard room on last minute.com. Sea view was well worth we were lucky it was lovely and sunny when we arrived so had a lovely view. Our room was nice and big with plenty of storage space, it could have done with some tlc in the bathroom but it was nothing too major. The "spa" was a bit of a let down, the pool is off the gym, the sauna and steam room were not so hot and I found the staff there slightly stand off ish. Breakfast was very busy and the restaurant was not big enough for all of the guests. Reception staff were very nice and helpful and we got a complimentary litre bottle of water! Would certainly book again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank love2holiday1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Queens Hotel for one night, for a special weekend away.

The great things:
The room was recently refurbished and it was of really high quality.
The pool was nice and quiet.
The hotel is right opposite the pier and beach - a perfect location, and the reason we selected this hotel.
The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and it was continually being replenished. Views over Brighton seafront from the restaurant was really nice too.

The no-so-great things:
Parking was a NIGHTMARE! It is sooo expensive to park in Brighton - walk, train, bus if you can. We paid about £40 for two full days and 1 night at a car park near the hotel.
The public areas of the hotel are a bit tired and don't do the rooms justice - it's like two completely different hotels!
The room was small.
The swimming pool was really cold.

Things we found helpful:
Don't drive there if you can, the hotel doesn't have a car park.

Overall a pleasent stay, but probably wouldn't stay here again. There are some nicer hotels nearby with parking and in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing