We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's 'ok'”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Kent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“It's 'ok'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked direct with the hotel for an over night b+b room with seaview.

The hotel has no parking and we used the NCP around the corner £23 for a 22 hour stay (average I think).

We were allocated room 206 which although was a great size, modern decor and very clean it was all a bit tired. Paintwork chiped, woodwork damaged, the bathroom had a stained and chipped bath, tiles needed some attention...just worn from plenty of use. They offer room service and consequently no mini bar which is a shame.

Plenty of closet space, built in hair-dryer, wonderful sea view.

Breakfast in the morning was interesting. As stated by previous reviewers they do not have enough room to seat everyone so unless you are lucky be prepared to sit and wait for a table. The man overseeing this part was on the ball, making sure everyone was dealt with in order with minimum fuss. The staff were working hard to clear the tables and get them set up speedily. The food was surprisingly good for a buffet, scrambled eggs were nice, selection of cereals and fruit. Croissants, and/or toast. The juice was from concentrate but very standard procedure for hotel breakfasts, cold water is also available.

Overall it was ok, nothing special but also nothing so bad that we wouldn't go again. It is average. What you can't knock is the position of the hotel which is why we keep returning, close to the pier, beach-side, close for shopping, NCP nearby.

Room Tip: Seaview but higher floor, perhaps 3 or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    783
    514
    250
    187
See reviews for
422
906
61
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
port solent
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked at last minute. Great hotel, lovely sea view room. All staff very polite, good customet service. Clean very warm rooms. Only comnent to dissapoint was the steam and pool having to walk through the gym.
Recommend the queens and will come back in the summer to enjoy the outdoor life in brighton

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my partners birthday. The hotel was really nice we booked through booking.com and paid for sea view room which was the same price for a standard room on last minute.com. Sea view was well worth we were lucky it was lovely and sunny when we arrived so had a lovely view. Our room was nice and big with plenty of storage space, it could have done with some tlc in the bathroom but it was nothing too major. The "spa" was a bit of a let down, the pool is off the gym, the sauna and steam room were not so hot and I found the staff there slightly stand off ish. Breakfast was very busy and the restaurant was not big enough for all of the guests. Reception staff were very nice and helpful and we got a complimentary litre bottle of water! Would certainly book again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank love2holiday1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Queens Hotel for one night, for a special weekend away.

The great things:
The room was recently refurbished and it was of really high quality.
The pool was nice and quiet.
The hotel is right opposite the pier and beach - a perfect location, and the reason we selected this hotel.
The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and it was continually being replenished. Views over Brighton seafront from the restaurant was really nice too.

The no-so-great things:
Parking was a NIGHTMARE! It is sooo expensive to park in Brighton - walk, train, bus if you can. We paid about £40 for two full days and 1 night at a car park near the hotel.
The public areas of the hotel are a bit tired and don't do the rooms justice - it's like two completely different hotels!
The room was small.
The swimming pool was really cold.

Things we found helpful:
Don't drive there if you can, the hotel doesn't have a car park.

Overall a pleasent stay, but probably wouldn't stay here again. There are some nicer hotels nearby with parking and in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I did a lot of research before booking my hotel in Brighton. I was looking for a hotel that had Spa and Leisure facilities onsite and a swimming pool onsite. There are a lot of mixed reviews on here and it was difficult to choose but Queens seem to match all my criteria. I didn't pay extra for a sea view room so I had a room with the view of another building an alley and a nightclub! If I looked out the window and craned my neck I could see the pier and the sea which was a nice bonus considering it was free! The hotel itself was lovely. Beautifully decorated and in keeping with Brighton's feel. The room I had was lovely. Clean and welcoming with tasteful decor. There was tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer in my room. The brochure of things to do and places to eat left in the room was a nice touch.

My two main grips with the hotel which is worth mentioning are: in the leisure facilities you have to walk passed/through the gym to get from the pool to the sauna/steam rooms. I did not enjoy this and I don't suppose the gym members liked this either. It's too far to travel sopping wet and cold and being stared at. Note: bring a dressing gown and flip flops. The beauty rooms are also no where near the pool (on another floor in fact) so if you were thinking of going for a massage followed by a swim it's not that relaxing. Definitely a hotel first, spa second. My other issue was the terrible internet access. I had chosen Queens because it offered free wifi. I didn't manage to connect at all the whole weekend which was really frustrating. They need to upgrade their wifi!

The other thing was the noise from outside. Partying all night Brighton is so noisy! The room was not soundproof. But you don't go to Brighton for a quiet relaxing time do you! ;) enjoy

Otherwise lovely stay. Great breakfast, friendly staff and nice environment. Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlayerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed just one night and got an amazing deal through Booking.com as we had to be in the area for work. Compared to other similar accommodation this hotel is superior with large, nicely decorated rooms, crisp white linens on the beds and clean modern bathrooms. We had a great view over the Pier and walked to eat in the Lanes, just around the corner. The staff was attentive and helpful. Breakfast was included but don't expect real Italian coffee and fresh orange juice! Great croissants though! Parking is a problem, best to come by train and walk everywhere.....

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room on the top floor (4th!), great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful while we stayed two nights on a Monday and Tuesday.
Room service were efficient and honest placing anything with value on the bed side table,
no need to worry there.

Great location, short walk to pier, the lanes and eateries - Though note: NO CAR PARKING ON SITE!

Plenty of choice for breakfast, full english or Continental as usual - coffee wasn't bad either!

Room 101 was tidy, the bathroom a little tatty (loose handles, cracked tiles and bath surrounds) but shower was adiquate.

There was a strong breeze on the coast while we stayed, one of the sash windows was insecure and allowed the wind to howl through however - a lot of early hours outside noise could have been less noticeable if this had just been rectified by the maintenance crews.

A very strange damp, 'old feet' smell on the first floor while you wait for the lift too, but thats just me being picky.

Overall, for a short stay I was pleased, however I wouldn't mind trying somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Room 101 was noisy due to the loose windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan1971s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing