We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Noisey”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel itself is not too bad, the rooms are reasonably furnished and clean. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough to help. The location is good for both the sea front and the lanes and shopping areas. However there are some bad points. There are lifts however once out of them you still need to negotiate many steps (as you do to get in the hotel). However its the noise at the rear of the hotel. Avoid these rooms at all costs. The hotel backs onto a night club and a 'gentlemans' club. Fights, shouting and police most nights.

Would I stay here again? I possibly would but I would make sure I was not in one of the rooms at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not one at the rear of the hotel, avoid at all costs if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    814
    527
    256
    196
See reviews for
439
944
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent a couple of nights here during a business trip last November. What can I say... the only thing I liked about it was the location. The staff was friendly, for the most part. The room was very spartan, as was the bathroom, and they were both rather old and tired looking. The bathroom in particular was badly in need of a facelift. My room overlooked a club or bar or something, and the noise was intolerable! Don't expect to get a good night's sleep (perhaps the rooms with a sea view are quieter). Breakfast was nothing special, but luckily there are plenty of tea rooms and coffee shops in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

My permanence here wasn't completely terrible, but I won't book here again the next time I come to Brighton.

Room Tip: I suggest you look elsewhere if you want to get restful sleep during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflake70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Tring
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

After staying in various wacky/not so wacky B&Bs in Brighton and having stayed here at Queens on business I returned with my boyfriend for a birthday weekend treat and Christmas shopping trip.

Our room was very large (king size sea view room) and was a bit chilly but warm enough with the radiator turned up and snuggled under the spare blanket while watching TV. Plenty of wardrobe space (3 in total) but only a few hangers in each so take your own if you're taking more than a few items of clothing. As previous reviews, bathroom small in comparison to the room and the shower wan't very powerful. The curtains were very good quality and ensured a nice dark bedroom in the mornings! I personally think the hotel is well maintained for its age but as always, they could make some improvements. The duvets could do with being bigger on the king size beds for starters!

We expected noise due to the location but were pleasantly surprised with just a bit of road noise and a few late night revellers passing but generally OK depending on your level of sleep - my partner wore earplugs the second night whereas I was able to sleep through.

The location for the beach and shopping is absolutely fantastic, a few minutes' walk from the pier and to the start of the shops. Great shopping opportunities for quirky, arty and unique presents or jewellery.

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable with fruit juice, fruit (although not best quality), cereals (in need of a dust-off), toast facilities (average sliced bread), croissants, jams and a hot buffet consisting of good quality sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, beans, canned tomatoes and fried bread. Black filter coffee and tea was served rather abruptly in a mug with DIY jug of milk on the table, could be better.

Cocktails in the hotel bar area were enjoyable (2 for £7 5pm-9pm) which was nice for pre-dinner drinks. We didn't try the food at the hotel but the menu was varied and what we did see looked well-presented. Could do with some bar snacks or nibbles (olives, nuts etc.) which would be a nice touch.

We parked in the cheaper Regency Square car park (£12.50 per 24 hours) which is no distance at all to walk back to the hotel along the sea front. It's well-lit and had plenty of spaces.

Check-out is 11am but the hotel have a luggage hold facility so you can leave your bags on the last day until ready to depart which was very handy.

All in all, a reasonably priced and comfortable stay but I would consider other sea front hotels next time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberpuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a few days away with freinds, the hotel was central for the lanes and centre, Rooms were clean light and airy, bathroom was a little small considering the large bedrooms. hotel was quiet, no banging doors etc, could here traffic on front but not too troublesome, staff freindly and helpfull.
good cocktails!!
Enjoyed the massage, though could not get two at the same time,

Room Tip: up graded to a sea veiw, it was light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

hotel is very old . but the hotel has a great beach view. rooms are huge. price is good. foods are good. you should stay this hotel if you go brighton. do not swim in brighton . sea is very deep. afte r the beach 2 or 3 meters . the sea is 3 or 5 meters.

Room Tip: some rooms has a beach view . 3rd level is better to see a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ua9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Without a doubt it is good value for money, and it is clean.
But it is tired, the service is barely adequate, the breakfast is poor. It is shabby and tired. My biggest complaint is that the beds are small......and not the best quality. That is a shame because there is no need for that. There rooms are more tan big enough. There is no parking at the hotel, but there is a public car park very close by....a little under £25 per 24 hours so this will be in addition to the cost of the room.

The best part about this hotel...it is very central to all of the main attractions in Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disgusted_TWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel several times and feel it is looking a bit tired. The breakfast was nice, but not the same selection as it used to be. In fairness what they had was more than enough. We paid extra for a sea view but had to stand on tip toes to see anything. The windows were small. The Hotel is in a perfect location. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. The car park next door is very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing