We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little train”

Volk’s Electric Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.56*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #15 of 161 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We took this great little train to Black Rock to see the Sand Sculpture(which were very disappointing) having not been on it for many years it was a very nostalgic journey. OK the stations could do with a freshen up but for the short time you a waiting it doesn't really seem to matter. It was a lovely day and made a pleasant change from being in the car or bus. Can't wait for it to open again in 2014 to have another ride.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    182
    48
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Railway Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Railway was quite busy when we visited last Wednesday (October 2nd). We found it quite expensive but the experience was quite invigorating. The stations were clean, although a coat of paint would not go amiss and the staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Well worth a visit with more pluses than minuses, but a word of warning. It was a lovely very warm Autumn day last week when most children were at school. The Railway passes very close to a naturist beach, where 90% of the nudes were males who were parading up and down exposing their genitals to all and sundry. Most people laughed it off, but one or two females were quite shocked and parents should be warned about this if intending to take young children at weekends or during school holidays. Warning/Discretion signs in the stations would be a good idea. I am broad minded but seeing groups of naked males in various stages of arousal is not something one expects to see when taking a train ride. !!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
994 reviews
460 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Nostalgic ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This 130 year old railway is still running, but some of it, especially the stations are in need of a coat of paint. Nice ride along the sea front but not much to do at Black Rock unless you plan to walk on further to the marina. Trains run every 15 minutes from the end of March till the end of September, 11.15am till 5pm during the week and 10.15am till 6pm on weekends. The service can also be intermittent depending on the weather.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Victorian Train with Attitudes to Match”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a ride on this train 9 September 2013. We parked at the Marina end of the line and rode down to Brighton Pier. I asked the driver about the time of the last train and was told 5.00pm. When we returned at 4.15 we were told that the service had closed because of the ‘weather‘. This seemed reasonable. The Station was deserted and it had been raining hard but was now dry. We were given a refund for the return fare and set off on the long walk back to our car, parked at the Marina end. That’s about a 1 mile walk and not made easy by one of us being in a wheelchair. Image our surprise when the service almost immediately resumed and were passed by 3 further trains during the 1 hour trudge back to our car. Call me a cynic but this seemed like clear discrimination. Was it the wheelchair or us? The wheelchair is folding and small enough to fit easily between the seats without damage. There is a notice at both stations that all buggies must be folded. It seems that the children with their buggies and the disabled with their wheelchairs are not welcome on this train.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun but over-shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The railway was doing very well, packed to capacity each run on a dull Saturday.
.
The "stations" were very shabby and could do with a coat of paint. It is very depressing to see them in such a state, and given the charges and the numbers travelling, one would think the company could run to some redecoration.

It's sixty years since I last used this railway!! Fun and nostalgic to be on it again, unique views of the seafront and giving easy access to the Sand Sculpture and the Marina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nodrog137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volk’s Electric Railway also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Volk’s Electric Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing