We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OPPULENCE”
Review of Royal Pavilion

Royal Pavilion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.52*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #1 of 162 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rebuilt in the 19th century by architect John Nash, this building features a unique mixture of classical and Indian styles, which has been labeled as "Hindu-Gothic."
UK
Level Contributor
671 reviews
468 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“OPPULENCE”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

You have to go to see it when you visit Brighton. Very quirky building with great history. Even if you do not go in, great to walk around. Great this time of year, as the ice rink is open.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,797
    1,619
    269
    68
    41
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“well worth the money”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you want to see how 18th century royals partied and caroused, then this is the place.
With sample menu in the kitchen, renewed and refurbished rooms and fittings, it is every bit the place to see how the royals partied before the scrutiny of modern media.

The wallpapers and hangings are luxirous, the chandeliers massive and ornate, every corner is decorated to the hilt.

we enjoyed our visit and imagining how good and wild the parties could have been!!

there is a lot to see, including the usual tat in the shop. We left laughing and amused though, and it is thoroughly in keeping wiht the high living themes of this alternative town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank alistair j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Fantastic place never realised what to expect well worth the entrance money. Try the tea rooms this was good too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthBear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Having visited Brighton a few times we decided we should finally go to the Pavillion and see what it's all about and we're so glad we did.
It's an amazing building with so much detail inside the dragon chandeliers are amazing to look at with so much detail i dont know how it was all done back in the day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Ceremony”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our Son and his Fiancee were married in the Red Drawing Room at the Royal Pavilion last weekend. The room is amazing (and not available to see as part of the tour), painted and decorated so ornately like the rest of the Pavilion, with lovely red walls and amazing palm topped pillars holding up the ceiling, perfect room for a cold but bright November afternoon.

The Officials were all very friendly and explained what was about to happen, the ceremony as one expects from a Registry Office, time for photographs of the signing of the register before the newlyweds were taken in to the main part of the Pavilion for official photographs.

The whole party (around 50, maximum capacity) were then taken out to the garden and colonnades for more photographs. Unfortunately before the Photographer could finish an alarm was set off and we had to leave the garden and stand in the main drag. As it was cold and there seemed no sign of us going back to the garden to finish off the photos the Bride and Groom left in their car and then so did we.

We only felt sorry for the next wedding party, where the Bride must have just entered the room when the alarm went off - don't know how long their delay was and the surprise must have been spoiled.

Would highly recommend this as a wedding venue.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dewlishdame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Pavilion also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing