We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay to pass an hour or so”
Review of Brighton Marina

Brighton Marina
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.39*
and up
Sailing Sunset Cruise from Brighton
More Info
$197.45*
and up
Private Group Powerboat Ride in Brighton
More Info
$528.75*
and up
Private Sailing Sunset Cruise from Brighton
Ranked #2 of 65 Shopping in Brighton
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Okay to pass an hour or so”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Its a bit like a shopping center near a Marina, lots of bars and restaurants, Pizza Express, American diner etc. The views are alright but certainly not stunning.

Modern marina, the retail shops are pretty basic and several empty units.

Not worth a day out or special trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    162
    104
    72
    57
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staffed by Rottweilers”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently moved to Brighton and occasionally visit the Marina Village complex. On a warm, sunny day (with no howling channel gale) it’s a nice walk from the centre of Brighton a mile or so away - the lower esplanade is beautiful as is the more busy main road, Marine Parade, above. But the Marina itself is approached by the most ugly concrete ‘cliffs’ imaginable (why oh why didn’t they landscape it with regency-style balustraded walkways & palm trees?) and the marina itself is a little too artificial for my liking. There is, however, excellent parking at the Marina, even if it is approached by even more ugly concrete tunnels.

So far we’ve enjoyed a meal at Café Rouge (though it’s not as good as the one in Brighton’s famous Lanes area) and at Zizzi’s. Next we plan to try the Chinese floating restaurant - before the winter sets in when it could be more like cruising the Arctic Convoy rather than Hongkong’s Aberdeen harbour!

Be warned: we have twice used the large Asda (Wal-Mart) Supermarket which is by far the worst we’ve ever experienced. On the first visit we had to step aside while a burly (is that a euphemism for obese?) security guard hurled several steel shopping baskets into a smaller stack beside the entrance & nearly knocked us over as he lumbered away!

On another visit I needed to ask the customer services desk some questions. The middle-aged woman snapped in reply to each a curt “Now”, “Now”, Now” (Brighton dialect for ‘No’). Having previously found lesser forms of rudeness from other staff we decided not to confront the manager in case we were attacked. We’ll never, ever visit that Asda again! (And that’s a thought: Brighton sadly has few major supermarkets within the city. Even so, we’ll definitely avoid the Marina Asda!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Variety of restaurants, shops and walks”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Brighton marina is a little gem. Lots of interesting walks around marina, little shops, great bars and pubs, wide range of affordable restaurants. From the Seattle hotel restaurant (£100 for 2 Saturday night or much less for their Sat eve steak night menu - to Wetherspoons where 5 of us ate 2 courses on Sunday for £50). Walks along bottom of cliffs right along the coastline. Walk along the marina wall and watch Sunday morning boat racing. Enjoy coffee or 2 for 1 breakfasts before 12 noon at most marina front cafes, and if you need to fill your picnic basket, go to Asda. Lovely small funky shops and lots of boats of all types to see and admire.
There's the stoney beach next to the Volks trainline or the smaller sandy beachs next to east of marina, which provide fun at low tide exploring the rock pools.
Big new development planned attached to marina which will see area transformed even more within 3 years.
Free 4 hours car park in marina.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went for shopping but to be honest I expected more (probably as we'd searched online for designer outlets!) I imagine it would be a great place for a night out though and we wish we'd found it the night before.

The views from here are lovely and had the weather been better we'd have spent more time here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jumpinletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant marina, but don't waste your money on the sand sculptures”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Marina is attractive with lots of good eating and drinking places. However sand sculptures are a disgrace. Have visited before and really enjoyed the sand sculptures, so had no hesitation in taking 13 French friends there this year. How embarrassing! The site is a disgrace, the sand sculptures are so disappointing (only Beethoven stands out) and the whole experience a disaster. Buck up your ideas Brighton!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Marina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing