We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regency Hotel Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went to Brighton for Easter and although we didn't book anywhere found the Regency had double vacancy, we were showed the room first and although a little tired looking the room was spotless as was the bathroom. Everything you needed in the room and the hotel was in the process of being redecorated. Breakfast was served in the hotel across the square which was no problem and all I can say about the food was delish !! Bacon good quality as was the sausage, nothing to much trouble and all food cooked to order meaning you could pick whatever combination from the full english you wanted, and extra toast was always offered (proper cut bread too) Location was perfect and the car park on the square was the cheepest in Brighton. Will definatley stay again if down that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpiefan5853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    44
    23
    13
    19
See reviews for
34
83
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First thoughts where mixed. It grew on us in the end. We stayed in room 7,this overlooked the square and we had a good sea view. I agree it is over priced, but it is Brighton and you would be pushed to find a cheaper hotel in that area.
Room was vey small but clean. Bathroom was tiny and a mechanical toilet was noisy. Bit worrying because the electric plug was by the side of the loo, being a Man and a bad shot could lead to a very painful end...
Room was warm and we slept well in the bed. No hand towels, just a bath towel. Breakfast was from 8.30 am until 10.30 am. Breakfast was very good, lots to choose from, so no complaints there.
Parking, it's free from 8pm until 9am, but you have to make sure you are parked in pay and display. This is £3.50 per hour or £6.00 for 2 hours. There is an underground car park and that is £12.00 for the night. Overall the hotel was fine.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenL419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although very well located, Regency Hotel ultimately provides a disappointing experience.

Our double room did sport a four poster bed, but at a hundred and five pounds a night was certainly on the small side. The view over Regency Square and the Brighton sea front was magic, but the grubby windows took off some of its shine. The same lack of care extended to the bathroom, where the broken handle was missing its lock. There were no hand towels and the disposable tooth brushes provided had a habit of coming apart in your hands. Small things, but they don't give you the feeling of a space that's really cared for. The mattress and linen weren't modern or high quality, which is always disappointing.

Certainly there were none of the imaginative flourishes that bring a smile to your face in other hotels. The packet of complimentary Nik Nak crisps by the bed I thought was novel in a kitsch sort of a way, until I realised they were 70p. £100 room and you're charging me for crisps? This isn't Ryan Air. These things can't make much odds on your bottom line, and as guests we're conditioned to expect food in baskets in rooms to be free. What's the sense in appearing cheap?

Same goes for the £20 charge to checkout at 12:30 instead of 10:30. Ten thirty isn't exactly generous to begin with, why make your guests anxious about incurring a punitive fee? If there are cases you need to come to a late check-out arrangement, work that out case by case. People stay in independently run places rather that chains to avoid just this kind of nonsense.

Finally, breakfast. There's a hot food buffet, which was mostly empty when we arrived at 9:40 (late, but well within the posted serving times). The table cloths were disposable paper things that had been reused many times. The waitress hardly looked at us.

Nothing was awful, but everything could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Super friendly service from the owner- did everything he could to meet our needs, including a tour of the whole hotel and a bit of background and history of the hotel and area. I was very excited to be upgraded to stay in the Dowager Duchess's old living room, looking out over that gorgeous balcony down to the sea. I think we stayed in the biggest bed I've ever seen, and we both had a fantastic, peaceful night's sleep. We'll be back when we're in the area. The owner also mentioned that they are re-doing the website soon to reflect the newly done up rooms, which will be nice. We were really happy with the whole experience- the friendly attitude of the staff was up our street and made us feel good about our trip.

Room Tip: We had the large double with a sea view- room 3. A beautiful room- the old Dowager Duchess's liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy_Mij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A spur of the moment booking and my partner and I got the best room (No.3) which, as this used to be Winston Churchill's grandmother's house was originally her sitting room. Very spacious, well furnished, huge (king size) four poster, uncluttered sea view. Staff very pleasant. Breakfast great. Will certainly be booking in here again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

After my boyfriend booked this I looked at the past reviews and my heart sank. Me and my boyfriend even discussed bringing our own sheets to sleep on as we were so afraid of the hygiene issues mentioned. We didn't and there was no need.

The staff were friendly the place was clean, amazing location just opposite the old pier and a minutes walk into town. The decoration in the hotel is interesting with lots of old antique style pieces. Was so relieved and we even admitted we liked this place more than our usual haunt which was fully booked.

The price was a bit too much 80 a night so we probably would go back to our old haunt just as it's cheaper. But if we couldn't book there we would definitely try for a room here. The staff and management have obviously worked hard at turning the place around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahhilton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in a real igloo once but did not expect that from a well located hotel in Brighton. The Internet pictures only show the very best parts. I got I'll just being in the hotel 2 hours. Worst of all is the room price. We left the hotel and signed in at Hilton with all its amenities (best seaside location, warm facilities, launches, bars, good restaurants, spa with hammam, sauna etc) all which the Regency Hotel did not have but only costed 20% more. The Regency should cost GBP 80 - 90 for a family room instead of the GBP 180 that they charged. Hilton charged us GBP 220 for a 4 pers family room which was light years better than the Regency.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl Gustav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Brighton

Property: Regency Hotel Brighton
Address: 28 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regency Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing