We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over promise, under deliver...”
Review of Legends Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legends Hotel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have stayed at Legends several times, and have enjoyed our stays. Because of this we discussed having 4 rooms for my partner's 50th birthday celebration in March with the hotel staff.

"Yes, I'm sure we'll be able to sort something out for you" was the response when we spoke to them in December, just give us a call nearer the time, and we'll sort a discount out for you.

Having tried to organise this 50th birthday with them this weekend, "I'm sure we'll be able to sort something out for you" has turned into "sorry, we can't do that now, because your guests are only staying one night"... Something that we did point out originally.

So, now bitterly disappointed that staff at this hotel are very good at making this sort of promise for someone's special birthday, then completely pulling the rug from under us... So beware folks! Don't use this hotel for a special event like this, as they may decide that they don't want your business after all, even when they've originally made out that everything will be fine.

So thanks Legends, a classic example of over-promising and under-delivering!! Extremely poor customer service...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
10  Thank Squidfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendsMO, Public Relations Manager at Legends Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Squidfluff,

Thousands of customers have celebrated their specials days at Legends and our staff will do their utmost to help make them special. So we do understand your disappointment at not being able to stay with us.

We apologise if you were given incorrect information. If we didn’t have a minimum stay requirement at weekends we wouldn't be able to offer the good rates we are known for. In fact some of our loyal customers have been known to book two nights but only stay one!

All hotels are allowed to change their terms and conditions or prices at any time before you book and it's important to understand that a member of staff would have no control over this. So it's a good idea to secure your room as soon as possible, after-all you have no contract with the hotel until you've actually book.

Once again we are very sorry we couldn't accommodate you on this occasion.
Kind Regards,
Reece, Arran and the Legends team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 839 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

First time at this hotel. Usually hotels above bars/nightclubs are pretty horrific but there were no problems with this hotel. Sadly the weather was horrific (storms and gales) so the locals must have stayed in, but the single room I stayed in was spacious, warm, had a sea view and was well equipped. Great value for what is normally quite an expensive location. Special mention to the lovely english breakfast and the very friendly guy on duty on Saturday morning.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorcost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Have just spent 2 wonderful nights in this superb hotel. This is primarily a gay hotel with gay bar and nightclub in the basement, but there are quite a few mixed couples in there, and why not? The service, entertainment, food, drinks and ambience were terrific. I stayed with two gay guy friends, Im female and straight, I didnt feel out of place. The rooms are super clean, linens and bedding are of high quality. I had room 205 which faced the sea and was a standard double. Previous comments on here suggest there was traffic noise, disco noise etc. but I slept like a log on both evenings. Friendly people, and we had lots of fun. Cannot wait to return in the summer when the weather is better and we can enjoy the outside terrace.

Room Tip: Room 205, Standard double room with full sea/pier view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tresadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We arrived at Legends and were greeted by Adam a really friendly man on reception.He made us feel welcome and explained all that we needed to know for our stay.We had a couple of drinks in the bar before going up to our room,the bar was really comfortable and had great background music.The bar staff were really friendly.
Our room was at the top of the hotel and had an amazing sea view.It was small but perfectly formed !Plenty of tea/coffee and milk's etc.Also it was nice to see a hairdryer and iron in the room.The bed was really comfortable and there were nice white towels waiting for us.
After returning from our wander into Brighton Lanes and evening meal we went back to our hotel bar where we sat and enjoyed more drinks.There is a club attached to the hotel if you are looking for entertainment,unfortunately the cabaret was on Sunday evening so we couldn't experience that but we will definately return to Legends.The breakfast was great and set us up for the day.
If you fancy a weekend away in Brighton both my husband and myself recommend that you stay at Legends and book a sea view !

Room Tip: Sea view at the top,amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barclays121budleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I couldn't think of anywhere better to stay in Brighton other than legends itself the room was excellent clean and everything was there that you needed brilliant cleaners brilliant entertainment and most or all brilliant Staff especially ADAM RICHARD.H ADAM AND MARTIN They made our stay FANTASTIC Will be returning !!!! Before we left we already planned our next stay with this brilliant resort !! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Room Tip: Any rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently stayed in Legends and was very impressed. The staff are very personable, and by the end of the stay, you feel as though you've made new friends. Nothing is too much for them and they all have a great sense of humour. They all have a thorough knowledge of Brighton and can tell you their own personal favourite places to go. The staff at Legends could teach those in other hotels how to do it.

I had a lovely room that was just right and overlooked the pier and the big wheel. I'm definetly going back.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the seafront are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed for my Wife's birthday and a friend recommended this hotel. Room was very comfortable and clean, and very spacious overlooking the pier and big wheel.

The bar and club make it a lively venue with drag acts on whilst we were staying. My wife was pregnant whilst we stayed, but we did not feel pressure to whoop it up, and were catered for very well by the staff.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Hotel

Address: 31-34 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TR, England (Formerly New Europe)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $75 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Hotel is in a central seafront location, right in the heart of Brighton. The hotel is finished to the highest standards with high quality fittings and furnishings. We offer an amazing array of en-suite quality rooms, all en-suite many with stunning sea views, full English breakfast is included. Relax in luxury, enjoy a drink on the elegant terrace or take part in the hustle and bustle on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel, Bar And Club Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing