We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Over Night Pit-Stop”
Review of Legends Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legends Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Over Night Pit-Stop”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

An ex-resident of Brighton and frequent drinker in Legends, I chose the venue based on its superiority in 3 categories - price, location and quality. It really outstripped any of the other budget-style hotels with a fantastic view, clean and cheerful rooms, and a super friendly and helpful staff.

I only stayed the one night and unfortunately had to leave early before I got a chance to try the complimentary breakfast, but I have absolutely zero complaints about my stay.

I would, however, give a slightly warning - there is no lift and it's a tall building so be aware if carrying heavy bags. Also, whilst it didn't bother me in the slightest, the single rooms are small, but you get what you pay for and it's worth the price.

Would definitely stay again and I intend to.

Room Tip: Whilst I didn't have a problem with this at all, I suggest if you're looking for an early/qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitz971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LegendsMO, Public Relations Manager at Legends Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feeedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We just wanted to point out we do have a lift, it's in the reception area.

Kind Regards,
Arran & Matt
Marketing Team at Legends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    216
    61
    22
    22
See reviews for
37
396
102
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel weekend of Fri 13/07. Check in is not until 3pm, but you can leave your luggage at the reception and return after that. We stayed in the suite on the 1st floor which was a large, spacious room with walk-in shower and separate bath; my only comment about the bathroom is that the shower controls are not inside the shower (which is a very bad design) and that the water temperature had a mind of its own. The bed was absolutely huge and was a pleasure to sleep in; the room has blinds and curtains, so if like me you want blackout to sleep this is what you get! Perfect.

The staff are absolutely lovely and really go out of their way to help you; the guy at reception is a bit grumpy though, but every interaction we had was a pleasant one.

The hotel is above a bar and night club, which is open until 5am I think, so at times it can be noisy; not an issue for me but my partner had to wear earplugs so not to be disturbed.

The suite on the first-floor has a lovely sea view and overlooks the beach and the big wheel thing.

Location is awesome; easy walking to everywhere, the Lanes, the Marina etc.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj182z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've stayed in Legends a number of times over the past 10 years. The service is consistently very good, the beds are very comfortable and the quality of items used for the breakfast menu is superb.

The hotel itself is above one of the liveliest night-time venues in Brighton so bear this in mind before booking.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a 3 day break for our anniversary in Brighton, we really enjoyed our stay at Legends, the staff are all extremely friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is ok for guests. I had ordered Champagne as an extra for our room but it wasn't sorted for when we got there so the manager (I think) apologised and offered us a bottle on the house! This was not to be expected so instantly gave a good impression of the place. The bar is super gay friendly and as an open couple that doesn't bother us in the slightest, the gay club and bar are good for all sexual preferences and the bar staff upstairs in particular are brilliant. Would definitely stay again aside from a tiny toilet and tiny shower room our stay was fantastic, a sea view that nobody could beat overlooking the wheel, pier and beach, friendly laid back staff (especially Jamie the barman.. ask for AGWA shots) and a perfect location all made for an awesome trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraeD-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay at Legends Hotel and we were more than happy with our time there. The staff were friendly and very helpful - we were missing a mirror from our room and it wasn't long after asking for one that one was found for us. The double room we booked was abit on the small side but that wasn't a problem because the room was clean and comfy plus the sea view made up for that. We missed breakfast on the first morning but we made it down the next day and found it to be excellent. And all at a good price - £150 for the two nights.
The only surprising thing for me was that a hetrosexual couple were asked by the doorman not to kiss or show any kind of public affection in the bar area one night, and was told that the same would apply to a gay couple, even though a gay couple were cuddling near by. I can't see what difference it makes, gay or straight, why no canoodling? Only a minor negative to an otherwise pleasurable stay. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamTry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It made no difference to my girlfriend and I that Legends is one of Brighton's most popular gay friendly establishments, infact calling the place gay friendly rather under states matters, the important thing was that we would be spending the weekend in a clean, comfortable and lively establishment which served a decent breakfast.....Legends fulfilled all of our criteria.

Having said that, we reserved a luxury room which I have to say, was smaller than I was expecting and indeed the shower room/toilet was tiny but that did not distract from our fun weekend. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful, noise levels were acceptable, bed comfortable, modern TV, room safe, nice white cotton fairly new sheets and an overall pleasant experience.....oh and the breakfast is as good as it gets.

Would we stay here again, very definitely.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trexmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely place to stay right in the centre of the gay area, would definitley come back again.
Staff very pleasant, and very helpful, was given a couple of 24hr parking tickets which cost 9.50 each. Instead of paying between 20-30 at the local car parks.
Room was perfect only a little bit on the small side but that dont bother me and my partner.
Breakfast was excellent and very fast.
Only minus was that we were given the wifi password for our floor (2nd) but could only pick up the 1st and 3rd floors wifi??? so couldnt use the wifi.
Didnt get the any sea views but im not fussy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Hotel

Property: Legends Hotel
Address: 31-34 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TR, England (Formerly New Europe)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#8 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Hotel is in a central seafront location, right in the heart of Brighton. The hotel is finished to the highest standards with high quality fittings and furnishings. We offer an amazing array of en-suite quality rooms, all en-suite many with stunning sea views, full English breakfast is included. Relax in luxury, enjoy a drink on the elegant terrace or take part in the hustle and bustle on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel, Bar And Club Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing