We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What ever you do don't be late!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Court Craven Guest House
Ranked #42 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Whatever you do don't arrive late! We had got delayed arriving due to two serious delays on the M6 and M25 and despite phoning the proprietor a few times to tell him we would be late when we arrived just before 10,00pm and rang there was no one in. After a short while a man came out complaining we had got him out of bed and being very rude about us being late even though we apologised profusely. He was particularly rude to my wife and at one stage accused her of being late because she had been out drinking! We had both been in a car for 6.5 hours and had nothing to eat or drink! A second man then appeared who then joined in with the first man and then told us to go away. The first man even seem to take delight in telling us we would not get a room as it was a Bank Holiday weekend! So we were not allowed into the room and where left without a room for the night late on a Bank Holiday weekend. We did manage to get a bed for the night at a friends house not too far away but this was just luck.. It was like Fawlty Towers. Never experienced anything like in my life. Can't say what the Hotel was like inside because we could not get into the place. If you cross these people you will be insulted in a very Basil Fawlty like way.

Room Tip: Get there on time and don't be late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for a week to catch Brighton Pride, and were not disappointed! The owners are so friendly and gave us a map for the city, as well as recommendations for breakfast and good nights out. They helped with our luggage and out room was lovely and clean - towels were changed and tea stocks replenished daily. With a sea view, large bay window, and comfortable bed, we really didn't want to check out! We will definitely return; exploring Brighton all day but having Court Craven to come 'home' too made our trip ten times better. Thanks Mark and Eamon!

Room Tip: Double ensuites are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went here for a business trip with my colleague. We both had a single room and found them really clean. Great service and great stay.
We had to checkout on saturday morning at 10am but our flight was at 7pm. The host Mark gave us a key for the front door on Saturday, so that we can leave our bags in the hotel and could see something of Brighton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After deciding last minute to stay in Brighton for the May bank holiday weekend we searched high and low for a hotel and came across The Court Craven, the only hotel with any rooms left that weekend and we were not disappointed.
We were greeted with a very friendly man who offered to give us a set of keys each in case we needed them. Once we opened the door to our room with were greeted with a big, bright and airy room (Room 9) with a lovely sea view.
The room came with en suite bathroom with hot running water as you demand it, large flatscreen TV with free-view, tea & coffee making facilities & one of the most comfy double beds we have ever slept in.
You even get a lovely table by the window to sit at & enjoy the view.
The only slight negative is the curtains not being thick enough to keep the morning light out & the windows are a little thin so can be a little noisy but just bring an eye mask and some earplugs and you'll be fine. The walls are thick enough so you dont really hear other guests & we had have a very relaxing time when we stayed in for the whole of the Saturday night.
The surrounding area (Kemptown) is very cool & colourful & had a wide range of shops for all tastes.
On our departure the owner offered to let us leave our bags at the hotel as our train wasn't for several hours which was such a nice thing to do & he gave us a front door key so we could collect our bags when we wanted & head to the beach for breakfast (less than 5 minute walk to the seafront)
I cant recommend this hotel highly enough, for value & comfort & location.

Room Tip: Room 9. A double bed & a single bed, en suite bathroom and a table & chairs with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back from a weekend at the Court Craven. It was a lovely stay! Owners are very friendly and helpful. Can suggest good places to go/eat. Room was spotlessly clean and very big with a nice bay window to sit in. Bathroom was immaculate and seemed brand new. All in all a brilliant place to stay, and we well definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hotel in good position, next to the kitsch pier, but by walk you can arrive everywhere!
Sea from the window (room number 11).
Staff really helpful
Big double room whith a bench....but without closet.
Modern shower and bathroom, wooden room (no carpet on the floor, fortunately!!)
Hotel 2 floors without elevator
75£/night

Room Tip: The ground floor is the best if you have heavy luggages, because there's not the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just back from spending a weekend at Court Craven, and have to say have not one criticism of this place! Friendly and very helpful greeting as we arrived, given us a map of the area, and recommendations of place to eat. (New cafe opened on St James Street -Cornells-absolutely lovely breakfast highly recommended!!) We stayed in a double ensuite on 2nd floor, which was immaculate. Everything was spotlessly clean with fluffy white towels and crisp linen. Tea/coffee facilities which were replenished during our stay. Very quiet with no noise from outside at all - apart from seagulls which cant be helped :-D We left our luggage in front room, until we left for our train, and also a booked taxi if we required it.
We will definitely be coming back to this Hotel and it had everything that we required. They do not serve breakfast but with so many cafes two minutes walk away it really isnt necessary. All brightons amenites a within walkable distance. Anyone looking for a exceptionally clean, quiet, central base in Brighton should look no further. Very reasonably priced too...nothing more to say, except looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,318 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Downs Hotel
The Downs Hotel
#61 of 95 in Brighton
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 95 in Brighton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#23 of 95 in Brighton
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,699 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Craven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Craven Guest House

Address: Craven Guest House 2 Atlingworth Street, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Craven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Court Craven enjoys a fantastic central location, just a pebble's throw from the sea. It's a short walk to the Pier, the Lanes, and all the other lovely things Brighton has to offer. At Court Craven, we offer double and single accommodation on a 'room only' basis. Our rooms are clean and comfortable with crisp white linen, TV, and tea & coffee making facilities. We don't offer breakfast, but we are in the heart of Kemp Town - where you have just a few yards to walk to discover an array of cafes, restaurants, cake shops, and bars to cater for your every culinary desire. Call us today to book your room at Court Craven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Court Craven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing