We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really well placed”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room Chandelier
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room Chandelier
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Living Room Chandelier
Marine Parade Apartment - Kemptown Seafront
Kitchen
Brighton Pier in the evening
Brighton Pier at night
Brighton Sunsets
Marine Parade
Star Fish on Brighton Beach
Brighton Pier 300metres from Promenade Apartment
Brighton Pier
Kemptown Seafront
The Royal Pavillion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Adam T
1 review
“Really well placed”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

No complaints really apart from the bad weather that must of damaged the aerial cos we had no tele for 3 days. Rooms were big and warm. Could do with a couple more pots and pans but really enjoyed our stay and will probably be going back in the summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor e
Ventimiglia, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location and a roomy flat.”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The flat is right on the seafront and near to the town centre.Its a lower ground floor apartment so no views but still great location.The flat itself is really large,not the usual broom cupboard.The central heating is brilliant with big double rads and a combi boiler.Never used the parking as I paid the fee and parked just across the road(its free after 8pm until 9am).
The flat is a bit dated and the carpets could do with a steam clean.I had to buy a table lamp as no bedside lamps and the sitting room was a bit underlit.Otherwise a really pleasant base for getting about Brighton..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: grubby carpet
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menad74
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location but disappointing as not all as promised”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My Husband, 11 yr old daughter and I stayed in the apartment for one night in half term holidays whilst visiting family in Brighton. The location was great - close to Pier and sea front and walkable into Brighton centre. We are familiar with Kemptown and love its atmosphere. The owner was easy to deal with and friendly.

We had a problem when we arrived because the parking permit was not in the kitchen and this was a big issue because the car park spot was a long walk from the apartment. It is in the Lanes and so although we could walk to it in 25 minutes it is not something that you want to keep doing. The owner said to text our number plate and he would sort it out and we presume that was it as we have not had a parking ticket - yet! We would say that the parking spot is inconvenient and if we had been staying longer we would have found it annoying. It also meant that we had to unload the luggage in the car and then it took an hour round trip to find the parking space, leave the car and walk back to the apartment. There are building works and scaffolding up so the space on the front was taken up by their vehicles and made arrival and departure stressful as there are parking restrictions and monitoring so we had about 5 mins to load/unload.
The apartment is a good sized one bedroom. Kitchen was good although never used the oven but plenty of crockery etc. A dishwasher tablet would have been good but just used the dishwasher without detergent instead. The bathroom was Ok but three tiny towels for three of us was not adequate and the photos showed lots of towels so misleading. Only a very small amount of toilet roll and we ran out and for a two day stay we would have expected that to be provided! There is a problem with the floor - it is uneven under the lino and could be a hazard for some.
The bedroom was Ok. Double bed was comfortable and clean bed linen. However we had explained that out daughter was with us and the sofa bed did not work properly and the mattress was in the hallway cupboard and the duvet and bed linen looked as though it had already been used by someone else which was upsetting. We had no alternative but to use it for my daughter as there was nothing else but she slept on the sofa as a sofa not a bed. Luckily she is 11 years old but for an adult that would have been uncomfortable.
The apartment smells musty. The WIFI did not work - very frustrating. The builders started working very loudly at 9am! The door to the apartment does not lock easily.
The apartment served its purpose for a one night stay but we would not stay there again unfortunately - the owner could rectify all the issues easily though and then it would be good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: unwashed bed linen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, great Location but with some issues”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The apartment is modern and appealing inside and the location is great for the beach, pier, Kemptown and The Lanes – unfortunately we felt a few things let the place down a bit, including the tardiness of response from the landlord regarding one issue.

Upon arrival we found the apartment quite hard to find, buried in the basement down a rather long and ugly looking corridor. The free parking space provided was located around 15-20 minutes away from the flat and there was no easy place to unload luggage outside.

Once inside the flat we thought the lounge/dining area was impressive and the place seemed compact but comfy and very clean. The amenities on offer were good and for the price we were happy with our accommodation.

However, a few issues did spoil things slightly.

1) When we arrived we were looking forward to hooking up to the free wifi that was advertised so we could explore restaurants, trips, sites and bars online and get to know our surroundings. The network name given in the instructions was not available and the only connection we could make which appeared to be the same as the router in the lounge did not work when you tried to go online. We contacted the landlord of the property about this but received no response from him until the next day by which time it was too late – as it stood, it wasn’t particularly helpful anyway as all he did was reiterate what was in the instructions. It would have been good if the owner had checked to see if his wifi was working before our arrival and that the instructions tallied up with the reality.

2) The sofa-bed in the lounge would not unfold properly to make the bed, and one of us was forced to sleep on it as a sofa.

3) The outdoor patio area was tiny and wet from a waste water outlet pipe on the exterior wall.

4) The patio table had a badly broken leg and

5) As stated above, unloading the car was difficult and parking was a long way from the apartment

That said, we found the apartment to be pleasant to spend time in and thought the kitchen facilities were more than adequate. The place was clean, well furnished and beds comfy with lots of good bedding and pillows provided. If issues 1-4 were resolved we would happily stay here again; it seems a shame that the parking spot outside the property could not be utilised by guests but if you are travelling light and not expecting to use the car that often during your stay, it shouldn’t hamper your holiday too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the lounge area and the wide range of kitchen facilities
Liked least: Wifi didn't work, car park was a long way from property and landlord was slow to respond
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesse10
1 review
“Great location and apartment size”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Was really impressed with location, right on the seafront and not far at all from the pier!
The apartment was in the basement but still had good light and patio area. Was very spacious too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly J
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home for three weeks exploring south and southeastern England”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was perfect for us, perfectly situated along miles of beachfront, minutes from bars, restaurants, shopping, buses and auto routes out of the city. The car park is a bIt further then we expected but this turned Into a benefit as every time we came back into the city, we were able to purchase fresh fish and vegetables on our walk from the car park to the apartment.

The apartment is roomy, comfortable and very nicely furnished

Brighton Rocks Bar and Kitchen, just over a block away became, our favorite place for a drink and a bite!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Figuring out the washer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christian...
Saint-Mihiel, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“won't stay there again”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I don't think the owner will be surprised by my review, in fact he was probably expecting it earlier on. I booked in January for renting last week of April. Even so the owner "forgot" to inform me that the parking space was no longer next door but (according to him) a 15 min. walk away. Well I must congratulate him on his olympic form but for us, couple in their sixties & 3 grandchildren, it took us half an hour at the end of the day walking back up Kemptown after parking. I admit that when he informed me 2 days before our stay & after I had copiously told him what I thought, he did offer to totally refund me, but of course by that time I couldn't find anywhere else, + we had ferry bookings from France & hotel rooms booked in Calais.
When we arrived we found the property shabby, rusty railing with the paint peeling off, 2 rusty bikes on the ground in the forecourt. The flat not very clean, carpet, oven etc.
We couldn't unfold the sofabed completely so the children had to sleep on the mattres on the floor, & and the bedclothes for the sofabed were not clean & smelled musty. There was a leak behind the washbasin in the bathroom. The air-extractor above the hob didn't work, meaning that the alarm went off once after doing some cooking. No instructions as to how to put the heating on. The wifi didn't work (too weak) so we had to buy a smartphone to use as a rooter for the internet. To top it all, even the new smartphone didn't work for phoning in the flat, so we had to go outside in order phone family etc.
In all a great disappointment. When I read the reviews my mind boggles, either these people don't have the same standards as me or they don't try to use the different "amenities" available. The rent is cheap for Brighton but I don't think it's worth the economy. In all fairness, last but not least, the owner seems a nice chap.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing