We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright Spot in Brighton”
Review of Blanch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blanch House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Bright Spot in Brighton”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent little hotel with fantastic service and friendly staff. We stayed in the Galaxy room found on its own at the top of the hotel. Quiet, spacious with a huge bed. Would definetely return if coming back to Brighton.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    190
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
768
33
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for a short weekend break and it turned out to be a perfect spot. Beautiful room, impeccably polite and helpful service and fantastic breakfast. Blanch House is a beautifully restored terraced house a short walk from the beach and activity of the town.
I will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp9542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrox, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed here summer 2013. We've rarely stayed in such a welcoming and relaxed guest accommodation. The room was over the top kitsch which we loved. Good facilities in the room. Trendy bathroom. Great location for the seafront and the city. Breakfast was wonderful and the lady who served breakfast couldn't have been nicer. Will go back there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Having been the first proper trip to Brighton, my other half and I wanted something that was cosy, good location and clean! This was perfect. We found this gem online after searching for hours. Its tucked away on a small road which is great for a peaceful night, but as soon as you walk out of the road you are on the seafront and the pier is a few steps away. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by one of the owners, Kerry, who showed us up to our room straight away, despite us arriving before check in time. Even walking up the stairs to the room I was in awe of how lovely and homely the place felt. We stayed in 'Snowstorm' which was lovely. Cosy, spacious and nicely decorated! Being a bit of a clean freak myself, I could not believe how clean everything was! Even the bathroom was gleaming. We had a lovely nights stay, a lovely sleep and a lovely power shower! Breakfast in the morning was delicious. There was cereals and croissants in which you could help your self and a menu which you could order from. Scrambled eggs were the best I'd had! The service is second to none, everyone is so polite, friendly and welcoming. You can tell the hotel has a real personal touch! I must say we were very sad to leave but at least we know when we return we'll already have our hotel choice sorted!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a find. My Wife and I stayed at Blanch House for one night when we went to see Rod Stewart at the Amex Stadium - us and several thousand other 40-50 somethings!!! From the moment we arrived and were guided to find a parking space - first voucher included in the price - it was a great experience. Customer service is clearly at the heart of what the team at Blanch House are all about, but it was never delivered in a false or over-bearing way - just friendly, helpful and never over-familiar - just right. Restaurants were recommended to us; best route to the Station; which bits of the famous Lanes to concentrate on. The rooms are not huge, but they don't claim to be - they are thoughtfully designed, well-decorated and clean. Breakfast was raved about by earlier reviewers and I cannot disagree - excellent. Overall, just a really comfortable, easy, engaging experience, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here on 13th June for 1 night in Sakura. Nice welcome and shown to our room, we were informed that breakfast was 8:30 to 10:30.
Room was nice and cosy as described, bathroom/ shower also good. We were on the back, overlooking
the pub, but we did not get back from the concert until 12:30, so no problem.

Good nights sleep, and no disturbance from the road or neighbours. Good information in the rooms for places to visit and restaurants, we ate at Harry Ramsdens, which was nice.

Good breakfast next morning with all the trimmings, this was hosed by Jeremy who was pleasant and effecient.

The concert and the accomodation were first rate.

Room Tip: Sakura was a nice room, and came with bath / shower which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBeckfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This little gem of a hotel is hidden away just moments from the town center. We had a tastefully decorated well appointed top floor room,including the lovely touch of homemade biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities. The staff were polite, helpful and attentive both at check in and breakfast. We would throughly recommend staying here if you want easy access to the hustle and bustle of the town, the beach at the end of the road but a quiet place to rest in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brawnta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanch House

Property: Blanch House
Address: 17 Atlingworth Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanch House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanch House is an intimate and friendly boutique townhouse Hotel; our personalised service means that you're our guest and we want to take care of you. Our glorious Regency town house is set in the heart of one of the most fun, vibrant, historic and bohemian areas of Brighton - Kemp Town and with the beach just yards away at the end of the street and a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer, Blanch House is your local address.Each of our 12 highly individual rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, LED flat screen TV and a DVD player, whilst a range of quality teas and coffee and home made biscuits, are provided to aid your relaxation. This is further enhanced by luxury toiletries and robes in all the bathrooms. We know just how much fun our guests like to have, and our Champagne, wine and cocktail bar, which serves a wide range of alcoholic and non- alcoholic drinks, sets the mood for entertaining family and friends when you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Blanch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanch House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing