We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Blanch House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blanch House
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Blanch House Hotel must surely be Brighton's best kept secret! It has recently changed hands and the improvements are very noticeable having stayed there a couple of years ago. Stunnig bedrooms all with different decor/superb breakfast and very helpful staff. Can't wait to go back! Great location too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    191
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
785
33
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A gorgeous hotel with an absolutely enchanting staff! Think chic with a bit of cozy and a sprinkle of eccentric.... Classy with personality; love it. There's a champagne bar in the lobby and each room has a different name and feel.
We received a warm welcome at the door by Josie who was extremely helpful and as charming as the decor around us. She recommended an amazing restaurant for dinner and a few great pubs around the area. After a fantastic night, we came back to a beautiful room and cuddled in a luxurious down comforter. Did I mention that breakfast is included? No, not the typical breakfast buffet but a proper breakfast. The champagne bar was full of fruits, cereal and pastries. Pick what you like and sit down and study the menu....English breakfast, smoked salmon, waffles, etc.. the breakfast was delicious and the patrons and conversation was delightful.
I definitely would come back, thank you Blanch House for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACwander_lust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner booked the peonie double room for £120 for 1 night. When we arrived we were greeted at the door by one of the friendly staff who took our bags and put them in storage as our rooms wasn't ready. When we went back to check in at 2pm our bags were in our room. The room was boutique style. Very clean. There was tea and coffee facillities and a little jar ok cookies.... Lovely touch. The bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning we went down to the restuarant to have our free full English breakfast which was included in the price. There's nothing bad I can say about blanch house. Clean, good location, friendly staff..... I would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misssbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in Alice, a small double which had everything a needed. All in all Blanch House is a great place to stay - excellent breakfast, friendly staff, great service and amazing rooms. The sea is just down the road and lots of good nightlife and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington Surrey UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here during pride weekend.
Room was compact but had everything in it that we needed. Shampoo and shower gel provided which was a lovely touch. Complimentary homemade biscuits which were delicious and very welcome when we had the munchies one night !!
Slept really well both nights and the bed was really comfortable.
I had scramble egg with salmon for breakfast both days and the other half had full English which couldn't be faulted.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and are a credit to the hotel. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.
Would certainly stay her again and in a great location way from the noise of the town by near enough to walk to the seafront and shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnylazyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karamiav
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very happy with our stay. This place deserves it's good reviews. The rooms are small, but cozy. I loved the home-made cookies with the kettle in the room. Breakfast was full of choice and the staff are truly lovely. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karamiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were four mature ladies on a long weekend away and we could not fault Blanch House. The owners and staff were lovely especially Greg who could not do enough for us; he makes fabulous Mojitos! Everywhere is very tastefully furnished and our rooms (Snowstorm & Moroccan) was exactly as described on the website. Excellent location - a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
995 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanch House

Property: Blanch House
Address: 17 Atlingworth Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#2 Green Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanch House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blanch House is an intimate and friendly boutique townhouse Hotel; our personalised service means that you're our guest and we want to take care of you. Our glorious Regency town house is set in the heart of one of the most fun, vibrant, historic and bohemian areas of Brighton - Kemp Town and with the beach just yards away at the end of the street and a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer, Blanch House is your local address.Each of our 12 highly individual rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, LED flat screen TV and a DVD player, whilst a range of quality teas and coffee and home made biscuits, are provided to aid your relaxation. This is further enhanced by luxury toiletries and robes in all the bathrooms. We know just how much fun our guests like to have, and our Champagne, wine and cocktail bar, which serves a wide range of alcoholic and non- alcoholic drinks, sets the mood for entertaining family and friends when you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Blanch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanch House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing