We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Arrived just after lunch and check in was quick and simple. Very friendly man on front desk. We had the twin room and whilst it didn't really have a sea view, if you looked out to the right you could see the sea which was nice. Room was large enough for a twin and the bathroom was fine. Plenty of tea/coffee etc and wardrobe was fine for two. No fridge which was OK for April but I think I would have liked one if the weather was hotter. Location is excellent, couldn't have asked for better really, right opposite the pier. Didn't eat in the Restaurant so can't comment. Bar was fine, overlooking the sea and has outside terrace seating too. Free wi-fi was a nice bonus. All in all, very good!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slong5082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel over the Easter period, the hotel is in the process of being refurbished which will be a real improvement as it will open up the bar area onto the terrace making it feel like one big area. Sunday lunch was great and represented very good value for money.

Keep up the good work guys!

One slight downer though, the staff sometimes think their chat on the phone or text is more important than the customer who has to wait. A relatively minor point on the face of it but in reality could be a potential "put off" for some customers.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
Thank Logan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This was the first time we had come to Brighton and the staff we're helpful from the moment we arrived helping me park my car safely and close by before insuring we had everything we needed to make our stay as confortable as possible.
The room was perfect for us both and had all the facilities we needed. The views over looking the Pier and sea were beautiful.
The staff were very helpful and friendly by informing us of where the best places were to visit. We found this very useful as we didnt know our way around Brighton.

We very much enjoyed our weekend in Brighton and the Amsterdam Hotel completed our trip and we will always recommend them.
Thank you guys for a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshiretravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

My partner and I arrived at The Amsterdam hotel & were pleasantly surprised by the fantastic location - right on the seafront! From the outside the hotel looks more like a pub with a beer garden in the front & nice seating area inside. I must admit I was slightly dubious about what the hotel would bring after booking this online and without Reading any reviews. I needn't of worried! The customer service was friendly and helpful - we were shown to our room, The Penthouse, right at the top with spectacular views of the beach & glorious skyline. We had our own lounge with leather sofas & a chaise lounge, desk and fridge as well as nice TV, bedroom housed another TV as well as a four poster bed & the bathroom was ultra modern. Above all, everything was very clean and to a great standard-highly recommend it & will definitely be back when visiting Brighton again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Always a great welcome at this hotel Charles and the team are always friendly and accommodating. Nice clean rooms ample tea and coffee and hangars in the wardrobes! The only negative may be that the sea view rooms can be noisy from the nightclub below - but we loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicesterlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We where not sure if having a W/E break in London or Brighton, after a little argument with my partner we chose Brighton, and we stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel. We where very happy to find the staff at the reception so helpful and friendly we were given a big room overlooking the Brighton Pier, the views where stunning as had been snowing all night, the idillic condition and the comfort of our room made my partner and I more colosed to each other. We will always remember this little brake. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityfinder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We booked this hotel for a romantic weekend away, we wanted to stay near to Brightons attractions and my husband thought it would be special to get a nice seaview room somewhere. This hotel seemed to fit the bill as it had a great location and was still available with our last minute booking... HOWEVER, our seaview room was right above the bar, the music was so loud it felt like we were actually in the bar. As the night went on the music got louder and we could even feel the bass through the floor!! When we asked what time it would finish were told "its going to be a late one, possibly 3am" . Sleeping was impossible even with ear plugs. In the end we had to leave the hotel at 1.30am and drive an hour and half home. We did get our money back after complaining serveral times. At one point we were told "well, it is saturday night!!" If I had wantd to stay awake all night I would have just gone to a nightclub and saved myself £130! Needless to say I will not be returning to this hotel. The room was very basic and cold and there was no hot water for the shower, although my husband thought the room was ok.
This was so disapointing because in terms of location the hotel is great. and the staff were friendly, but to advertise seaview rooms and charge extra for the privilege but not mention the bar below them is out of order. Be warned!
Oh and another thing, this is clearly a gay friendly hotel but to have a "men only" sauna that women can't use is also poor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBBHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: $70 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing