We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but a few things need addressing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Greenwich, London
1 review
“Nice hotel, but a few things need addressing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

My partner and I stayed in the Penthouse Suite for one night, and while the overall standard of the room was good, there are a few things we noticed that could have been improved on.
The door to the suite opened outwards for some reason, thus leading to the possibility of it's becoming obstructed - not something you want to have happen in an emergency. There was also no door stopper, leading to damage to the wall. There were no evacuation instructions on the inside of the door (something I've never before encountered on either side of the Atlantic) and also no "welcome pack" in the room to tell you about room service, laundry, hotel amenities, etc. (again, the first time I've ever encountered this omission). Nor was there the usual "Do Not Disturb" sign for the door.
The view from the windows was great, but only if you kept them open - they definitely needed a good clean and someone could have done with removing the cigarette butt stuck to the outside window ledge with chewing gum! The cleaning was also substandard in the bathroom - the ledge above the sink was filthy.
For some reason the hot and cold taps were not marked, something we both thought could be potentially dangerous, especially to visitors from countries where cold is not on the left as it is here. A proper shower curtain would not have gone amiss either, as someone else here has noted. Ours was not a wet room but a fitted bathroom, and the slender screen provided didn't stop a lot of water from spraying everywhere. The shower also isn't designed for anyone over 6 ft.
The four poster bed, while again very comfortable, had no canopy on it at all (contrary to the photos we had seen of the suite). Not much point in it being a four poster really, then!
The hotel is in a prime location, on the seafront right by the pier and with various bars etc. in the neighbourhood, and consequently gets very noisy at night. There is no air conditioning in the room (that we noticed) so the windows either have to be open in hot weather (and noisy) or closed. Even then, because they are not double-glazed, they let in a fair amount of noise - earplugs are definitely recommended if you want to stay here!
The hotel lift is apparently a recent addition and is not for the claustrophobic. The sign on the inside specified a maximum of four persons, but to be honest you'd have trouble getting more than two in at once. We had to spend time waiting in the bar on our arrival as the lift was being serviced, but were provided with drinks on the house.
When we enquired about room service we were told that food was only available until 7pm, when the kitchens shut, but that pizza could be ordered from nearby. Not quite the 24-hour impression it gives on their website. Breakfast was continental (and very good) but if you wanted full english you had to wait until 11am, when the chef got in - hardly the time for breakfast and also the exact opposite of their website claim.
Although the above may seem like insignificant things, they did detract slightly from the experience. But it isn't all bad; the staff were uniformly polite, friendly and helpful, the Penthouse Suite was roomy, airy, bright and well furnished, the food was good and the view magnificent.
At £150+ a night, the Penthouse isn't in everyone's budget, so whether the other rooms had similar problems as we've noted above I couldn't say.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie5785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    145
    73
    33
    31
See reviews for
25
230
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stayed here over a weekend, paying a room rate in excees of £130 a night for a so-called suite! Effectively I paid a 4 star price for a 2 star service. Room was small, furnishings were tatty. There was no minibar, no room service, and no in-room internet access and no bath, just a "wet room" with a shower..this room had not been cleaned correctly and smelt of stale urine. The room faced the promenade, but was not double glazed so noise from the next door bar (open til 3 am, with people hanging around outside until 4am) was impossible. Service at the hotel was contemptuous and minimal. On returning to the hotel at 2.30am on a saturday night I had to ring the night bell for 15 minutes before anyone bothered to let me in. The owners of this hotel should ashamed of themselves for so blatantly offering so little for so much and for brazenly exploiting the gay market. Do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donkey2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel being just on the other side of the road from the Pier and in the heart of everything it saved us a lot of time getting around which if you're there for few days only is priceless. Plus the room (double with a sea view) presented excellent value with almost the size of a small flat. It's not luxurious by any means but not too far from it either. It being room with a sea view on first floor where you're almost at the street level it would be nice to have curtains instead of a blind (and clean windows for that matter) however on overall it is worth every penny staying there. Oh, and the breakfast wasn't bad either. Continental so some sliced meats and cheese, crossaint, cereal etc. but will fill you up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turning2PoinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Booked 4 night stay at Cosmopolitan - had to leave it was so bad. So lucky to have found the Amsterdam Hotel. They only had one double room and the penthouse but on hearing of our terrible time at the Cosmopolitan, let us have these at the single room price each. Service impeccable and professional, staff impeccable and professional, wonderful atmosphere, spotlessly clean rooms and surroundings. Previous review about snobs and shower curtains - I was born in the slums of the East End of London so I am definitely not a snob and as for no shower curtain - my room had a wet room and I presume the previous reviewer's room may have done - please note: you don't need a shower curtain in a wet room.............
So many staff in hotels these days are surly but never once did any of the staff at the hotel do anything but act professionally, cheerfully and they just did everything they could to ensure we had a pleasant stay.
If you are lucky enough to stay here, just remember to ask for a quiet room if you don't like loud music and the sound of people enjoying themselves (not a criticism of anyone).
Will definitely go back.
Mrs Sue Gallagher

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

Rooms and furnishings very basic. Shower smelly and with no shower curtain so water went all over the place. Terribly noisy so a good sleep was impossible and it was not possible to have the window open. Trading on its ‘gay’ name only but nothing to recommend it.open

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

My partner Tom and I have drunk several times at the Amsterdam and needed to stay at Brighton for a couple of nights so it seemed perfect sense to stay at this hotel.
We had no problems booking in and were very surprised at how clean and pleaseant the boutique room was. This coupled with how Very friendly all the staff were we really had Fabulous stay keep up the good work Kev and Tom

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinpalmer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I really don't know where the negative reviews have come from, about the hotel being uninviting or not clean etc. I think that those people stayed at a different hotel.
Me & my husband stayed for 4 days in may 2009 & i can't find enough words to say how fantastic the Amsterdam was. Our room was gorgeous & spotlessly clean & the price was really good. We were also in the heart of brighton which was fantastic too.
The food was outstanding along with the staff too. As a straight couple we were treated wonderfully & had the best time ever.
All the staff were so helpful & even went way & beyond their normal duties to help us in any way they could. We made some fantastic friends in the staff & can't wait to go back & stay there again. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now in Brighton. Keep up the fantastic job you are all doing at the Amsterdam, we had a fantastic time, thankyou all so very much.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeyore_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Property: Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing