We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, apart from the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, apart from the noise”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A really nice hotel, with really lovely staff. Unfortunately, it's next door to a club and the music keeps pounding until 3.00 am or so, which makes sleeping pretty difficult, unless you're used to that sort of thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    150
    76
    35
    34
See reviews for
25
241
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenwich
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

To be honest hotel aside the staff at the Amsterdam were probably the best we have ever come across. I know its there job but hand on my heart I can say that it felt 100% genuine. They have excellent advice on the best bars ,shops, clubs ect. We stayed in room 10 and was one of the best rooms we have stayed in for views and quality. There is a noise issue from next door do what we did go join them ,cant wait to go back well done to the team at the the Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdave657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend, had room ten which has a terrace that you can sit out on with views over the pier and sea, lovely, would not suit those looking for peace as the bar next door plays music until late, however if you like to be in the centre of things and enjoy the hustle and bustle of this lovely seaside town with all its diversity this is an excellent spot.
The staff are all helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good, the bar downstairs is a great place to start out and return too.
I really reccomend this place for location and service.

Only minor criticism is that i found a few cider cans left on the terrace i suspect from the previous guest. I guess the cleaner did not bothere to check but otherwise the room was spotless and nicely decorated and maintained.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and myself have just returned from a four night midweek break at the Amsterdam Hotel and we would certainly go back. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the Hotel is very clean and comfortable and the outside area is a great place to chill on a nice day. We had a seaview room on the second floor, there is a very efficient lift so no carrying luggage up stairs, the room was lovely and the shower/wet room was clean and spacious. The double glazing dulled the outside noise and we slept very well. The continental breakfast was very good as was the food served between 12 midday to 7pm. If you wanted to eat later the reception staff were very happy to recommend good places to eat and there are a great choice of restaurants within five minutes walk.

The Hotel is well placed for exploring the local attraction and the great shops, Brighton Pavillion is a short walk from the Hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night, it is the best location to the pier, the staff are all friendly, professional and helpful. Very comfortable bed( hubby said it was the best nights sleep he had so far), great views from the room. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ajejap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Friendly staff were keen to make our stay a pleasant experience. Our standard double room was basic but adequate and the large shower/wet room (although a bit tired) was a pleasant change from squashing into a small cubicle. The bar staff were friendly and food well cooked and good value, especially the famous Sunday lunch. We would consider staying here again but might book a better room next time.

Room Tip: sea view rooms looked to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Visited on Wed 1/05/13, it was a great sunny day and the place was very busy, we sat on the lovely seaview patio area which faces the sea, so the views are great and it was all very clean, we all ordered the homemade burgers with homemade chuncky chips, and there were all delicious, hot and very tasty, its not often I eat a burger, and I was glad I did, it was presented on a good decent bun, no rubbish, with a good portion of salad and cheese, and a choice of dips, evan my friends said it was delicious, so we all will recommend this little gem again to all, and the bar prices are very good, with a great choice of really good wines, and I have to mention the customer service, they were so polite with a nice smile,

Room Tip: This place gets so very busy when the sun comes out,but they do have very comfortable seating inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,103 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Brighton

Property: Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Address: 11-12 Marine Parade | Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Hotel Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, in the heart of vibrant Kemptown, opposite Brighton's famous Palace Pier, the Amsterdam Hotel offers award-winning accommodation and free Wi-Fi. The Amsterdam Hotel offers a selection of large, newly decorated rooms to suit all budgets. All rooms have a large en suite walk-in shower room, a flat-screen TV with Freeview digital channels, and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have stunning views over Brighton's famous pier, the beach, and the seafront. Light and airy, the stylish and contemporary bar was completely refurbished in 2014. Looking out to sea, the bar has a large outdoor terrace, a big-screen music video system and free Wi-Fi. In the mornings, guests can purchase continental or cooked breakfast at the hotel. In the heart of Brighton's vibrant scene, the hotel is close to all of the amazing restaurants, friendly bars, theatres, shops and, of course, the exciting nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing