We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Room, Great value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Madeira Hotel
Ranked #70 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Room, Great value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a sunday night and loved the boutique room. We checked out both the standard and boutique room and it was worth paying the difference in price as the standard room needed more attention. The boutique room on the other hand was well decorated, homely and the bathroom was amazing (with jet sprays in the bath). Laura on reception was very helpful and nice.

Our only criticism would be that the room was too hot however the rest of the experience was great and the location on the sea front and a short walk to the shops was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    80
    38
    54
See reviews for
41
59
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binfield Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I stay at the New Madeira Hotel for one night, we booked the room walking in off the street after a day trip to Brighton and deciding to stay over.
Although the Hotel could do with a refurbishment as there is some peeling paint and wallpaper, the carpets have seen better days but for the price it was great everywhere was very clean. We were given a family room which was very large and it was sea facing so a little noisy but all hotels on the front would be the same I suppose, it also had a well stocked tea tray in the draw of the desk lots of hot bath water, towels and compimentry shampoo shower gel and conditioner. Breakfast was good everything you could want and the price of £70.00 for the night including parking was extremely good value for money. I would recommend this hotel to families couples and singles as all the staff were extremely friendly and most helpful you can even take in your take away and eat it in the bar area as the hotel do not provide evening meals so they are fine with it ( Many people did this). The location is fantastic right opposite the pier and close to the towns many bars and restaurants . We asked a reception about somewhere to eat and was told about the HERE restaurant just round the corner from the hotel, it had just re-opened under new management, what a find great food and a free bottle of very good wine with our voucher from the hotel… All in All a very good experience and we would certainly go back again when visiting Brighton….

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

If you are on a budget this hotel services its purpose. Rooms a worn but clean and have everything you need, the staff were friendly and the location was good. Its about a ten minute walk to West Street where a lot of the bars are located.
The walls in the room were very thin, I could clearly hear the conversation in the room next door! My bedroom door was not the securest looking either.
Overall if you just went a place to throw your head down at night this hotel fits that purpose. If you looking for something a bit better I'd recommend the Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Rooms are desperately in need of an update, and not so clean - we had to move a bed and found allsorts underneath. The hotel is over a night club so there was thumping beats until around 4 a.m. Take earplugs!

No concierge/bell boy service

We had originally booked in with a disabled person who couldn't come - we were quite glad as the hotel isn't really set up for the disabled. (Steep steps to front of hotel)

Other wise it’s ok, just don’t expect too much…

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonChompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

zoepaulzoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

good location. friendly staff. rubbish parking. large room with nice view of the sea but shower did not work. bit noisey.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoepaulzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed for the weekend to celebrate his 50th birthday. The staff were helpful and the standard of the room was fine but we stayed in room 121 which was just above the funky fish night club.Due to the windows not being double glazed we were disturbed by the general noise of the clubbers queueing to go in and the permanent noise of the traffic. It finally died down at about 5 am! My advice would be to soundproof the windows as this ruined what would have been a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

The staff were excellent. The inclusive breakfast was excellent & the dining room staff were efficient & friendly. The standard single room was tired with a bathroom in need of renewing.
Noisy nightclub on Saturday night. I thought it was less noisy on Monday & louder on a Tuesday until I realised it was from the room next door.
OK hotel but nothing special for £85 per night for a single room with no view

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#41 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#54 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#58 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Madeira Hotel

Property: New Madeira Hotel
Address: 19-23 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Madeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your New Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing