We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the Plague!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Madeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Madeira Hotel
Ranked #70 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid like the Plague!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

Arrived friday teatime after a long drive for a two night stay with my wife. We had paid the extra for a sea view and were given room 121.
The room was nicely done out in a modern decor - as was the bathroom. (Bathroom quite small - no bath.) Not the Ritz or anything but they had clearly made an effort and we were more than happy.

After a meal in town we went to bed about 11pm. Then the noise started. As far as we could work out the queue for the nightclub assembled outside our window and shouted and bawled until the very small hours. The window was only single glazed.

Basically we got no sleep until sometime after 3pm - and were then woken by traffic noise at 7am.
The next morning I went straight to reception and insisted on a different room. They said that they had never had complaints about noise before and that in any case you should expect city hotels to be noisy. We moved out.

Conclusion: if you are going to Brighton for all night dancing etc, and won't be going to bed until 3am, and will by then be totally legless so will sleep through an earthquake - then this might be the hotel for you. But its no use for anyone else.

  • Liked — Check out!
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca03nyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    80
    38
    53
See reviews for
41
59
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

Hen Weekend
After booking a weekend away a year ago it had finally come round everyone really excitied, everyone went down to Brighton in the afternoon but two of us travelled down straight from work.
Traffic perfect for a friday evening only an hour we were both looking forward to the weekend.
We arrived about 7.00pm ...checked in.....i thought i heard wrong when the manager said ok ladies you will have free admission to our Nightclub as you are right next door :(
Next door ,we might as well of been on the dance floor, the room was £95.00 per night and it was awful.
The walls were dirty with patches of the paint peeling away, the bed were grotty looking with no headboards like the rest of the rooms - DIRTY, the carpet had so many fag burns, the curtains were so dirty i am surprised they didn't walk out them selves.....the bathroom was small, damp and the mould round the shower was just unbeliveable.
BUT to top it off the entrance to the club was right outside the window ....on the website it advised the club shuts at 2am but the manager had informed us it doesnt actually shut till 3am. Which i sperfect for those who want to party all night ...brilliant BUT not for those who have been at work all day .
After complaining we were told there was no avaiable rooms left and a weekend that had been planned for a year had been ruined but the NEW MEDERIA HOTEL.
That same evening we travel back to London very disappointed.
The rest of the hotel looked very pleasant .....i strongly reccommend you ask in advance that room 101 is not where you want to be staying.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

I have just returned from a fantastic stay at New Madeira Hotel. I stayed there for a friend's hen weekend. We were seven females and from the moment we arrived we had no complaints. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. We were more than happy with our room (No 325). This room has a fantastic view of the pier.

Our breakfast was not included in the price of our room but we decided to eat in the hotel - Great breakfast.

We did go to the hotel night club Funkfish ((--)). This club is only open on a Friday & Saturday night and is very popular. We did go to this club and found it very friendly. We had no problems with sound from the nightclub in room 325.

Will return again. Thanks to all the staff including Hollie, John, and Kevin.

  • Liked — Location, Staff and Acommadation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport gwent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

we used this hotel for a hen weekend.There were 13 of us of all ages 20's -mid 60's and the staff could nt be more helpful.The rooms were basic but nice they provided everything you needed.After all who goes away to spend all there time in a room !
The staff were very nice.Our rooms were not ready when we arrived but the hotel has a nice bar area where we sat for about 1/2 hour and all happily had a drink and took in the view of the beach and pier directly opposite.
Dont book this hotel if you want 5* luxury.BUT if you want a great reasonable hotel who dont turn there noses up at a hen party this is the place for you.All sorts of people were staying here families , couples and a few hen night groups.
Great location ,great staff ,great weekend.We would definatley use this hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebblesNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2007

I chose to go to Brighton to celebrate my birthday with friends, there was six of us - three couples.
We arrived at the hotel a little early so was unable to check in, but they offered to to store our bags in a room. From what we saw of the hotel at this point was quite nice which included a nice bar area.
When we arrived back to check in we were allocated our rooms. OH MY GOD!!!!!!!! We all had to go to our rooms seperatley as the lift would only take two people at a time. They had pictures of the rooms in the lift and they looked very nice. But as soon as we stepped out of the lift you just knew that it was not going to live up to the pictures. As you walked into the rooms the curtains were billowing from the drafts from the old windows, on closer inspection to check whether they were closed properly, the frames were full of meldew and damp. The hotel itself is an old building so the floors are out and the rooms may have been ok when first done about 20 years ago but are in desperate need of updating.
Dont be fooled by what appears to be 4*s above the main door, after complaining that our rooms niether matched the description on the internet, the picture in the lift or the four stars above the door we were informed by the staff that they are in fact diamonds and these are different. The rooms showed everywhere were the newly refurbished ones which cost extra but were all booked when we enquired. One of my friends went to get in the shower and because of a faulty valve at the bottom was scalded on her chest by boiling water. Funnily enough they then found a luxury room for that couple.
Our rooms were £110 a night without breakfast which was extortionate for the facilities. We complained to the staff who listened with interest and tried to placate us however the Management were terrible and even refused to talk to one of our party after we left!
To sum up the only good thing about this place was the location but we would still not recommend it.

  • Liked — Not much.....
  • Disliked — Even the luxury rooms are tiny
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hookway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

We wanted a no frills hotel for a fun weekend in Brighton. We managed to get the family room as it was the only one available at short notice. I asked reception if there would be a problem with noise from this room as it was sea facing- and she replied no, some of the rooms do get a lot of noise from the club downstairs, but not this one. We arrived and checked in. Our room was ok- no frills as we had expected. After a lovely evening out we returned to the hotel to go to the club. We got our guest passes which was great- no queuing and we had a great time in the club (highly recommended). The problem was that there was no tea or coffee making facilities in our room which we only realized on our return from the club and the other problem was the noise!! Very noisy- not from the club, that wasn't a problem. Noise from the road- the windows were old and with no double glazing you could hear every lorry ( and there were lots) that rattled passed. Also take note that as a rule breakfast is not included, however we were lucky and negotiated it at the time of booking- otherwise it would have been the icing on the cake! So please go and stay at the Maderia Hotel as long as you are looking for no frills, are a very heavy sleeper, don't eat breakfast and don't drink coffee!!

  • Liked — the adjoining night club
  • Disliked — breakfast is not part of the deal!! and the noise!
  • Tips/Secrets — if staying in brighton, find a hotel in kemp town- quieter and better value for money, but book early!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaquaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

We booked a triple room in the New Madeira and were amazed at the price - almost half the rate per night as other hotels in the area. We did have some concerns that the price would reflect on the hotel, but had no need to worry.

The triple room (3 single beds) was large, and well-fitted for 3 people. The hotel suffered the characteristics of other old hotels in Brighton (i.e. sloping, creaky floors) and the decor was a little dated but the room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom equally clean and well-functioning and the beds firm but comfortable.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, and didn't bat an eyelid when we trooped through reception dressed in our finest feather boas, or when we rolled in at 4 a.m. (the bar was still going).

The hotel is superbly located for Kemp Town, the pier, the pavilion and the Lanes and there is parking nearby.

We'll be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MissChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#26 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#41 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#54 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Marine View Hotel Brighton
#57 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Palace Guest House
Old Palace Guest House
#56 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Madeira Hotel

Property: New Madeira Hotel
Address: 19-23 Marine Parade | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Madeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your New Madeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing