We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big value in a small hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #47 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Chiswick
1 review
“Big value in a small hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

At first I was a bit taken aback as I was expecting a large hotel rather than a small B&B type hotel, but by the time I left that was definitely all behind me once we sampled there excellent hospitality - wonderful evening meal (included in package) and a great price if you are a non resident just looking for a place to eat! The breakfast was really excellent and all ingredients are of great quality. What we liked most was the effort everyone was putting in to make the place a success, which isn't always in evidence in a lot of places these days. The manager/owner was charming and chatted as if we'd known him all our lives - he was a great ambassador for Brighton (even though he came from Biarritz!) The room was very comfortable and every effort had been made to make our stay enjoyable. The only downside which I think really would improve the hotel is to reduce some of the art that is on the walls and apparently for sale - it tends to let the place down a little - especially as there is so much of a similar type in Brighton - a less is more policy might help! I will definitely return again and have already recommended it to a friend who is coming to the UK from Australia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevitoChiswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    202
    81
    36
    42
See reviews for
83
280
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

Check-in/out was fast and efficient, room very clean comfortable with a great location and sea view, bathroom was clean the shower never ran too hot/cold when others used the water.
The restaurant was nice, intimate and comfortable, choice for breakfast was excellent, everybodies taste catered for, the bistro food, very tasty and plentifull.
We had a great 'mini' break stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggsieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

Nestled tightly between two busy streets, overlooking a small, fenced park, the New Steine shines among other hotels around it. The staff is accommodating from the start, assisting with luggage (and placing it in your room), wi-fi set up (free in the cafe), directions or just bringing you a local ale - they are available 24/7. I was most impressed with the international nature of the staff, hearing several different languages from the staff while we had our daily, full-English breakfast (continental is also available) including Spanish, German, French and some form of Slavic/Russian I'd swear... The bedroom and bathroom were modern in style and convenience though the windows are single pane - thankfully the park is dark at night and noise is minimal. The location couldn't be better - on one side is St. James, with it's many shops and the other with the drive along the beach (name escapes me) with it's many restaurants and bars (several GLBT if you swing that way), just a few blocks from the vibrant Brighton Pier, the boardwalk and the old town. If you go to Brighton, stay at the New Steine Hotel and truly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNITexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay particularly a great breakfast to start the day with. I find myself often disappointed with service at hotels when you are paying for it. At the New Steine the staff were fantastically helpful and friendly, the breakfast (an area even large hotels often scrimp on) was delicious and the rooms were very clean and smart.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at the New Steine Hotel in Brighton for a few days away.
Parking is difficult, but not impossible. A 24 hour Residents Parking Permit is available to purchase. This is a good and convenient idea.
The rooms were comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and had all that we needed.
The food was really excellent. Served in a cosy Bistro Bar/Restaurant. All food was fresh and all local produce from the area and beautifully prepared.
The hotel decor was entertaining!
The owner and staff were efficient and friendly. Here in the Steine Hotel you were not just a room number but a treasured client.

  • Liked — Room clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Windows let in a bit too much street noise.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ElleGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, Oxfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

Spent a lovely weekend in Brighton, staying at the New Steine Hotel. This is a small, chic boutique hotel one minute's walk from the seafront. It overlooks a lovely green square and the rooms at the front of the property have a sea view. We stayed in a deluxe double which was a very nice room, tastefully decorated in browns and creams. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent - just enough to set you up for walking round all of the Lanes in the city.
We used the hotel website to book the room as this seemed to give the best value for money - we paid £90 per night over a weekend.
All in all, this is a lovely hotel in a good location for the seafront, the Pavilion (highly recommended) and the Lanes. We will be returning to Brighton later this year and will certainly try to book into the New Steine again.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumblecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

A good value BB/Hotel. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful. The room was very clean and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. They clearly use quality ingredients, and this makes all the difference.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#74 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#29 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing