We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Devon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night. good place right near to town and sea front. People very friendly although all foreign. Our room was right up on top floor, lots of stairs to climb with heavy suitcase. Nice clean room and modern. Big queen size bed which was lush. Breakfast was good. Help yourself to buffet and order cooked breakfast. Maple pancakes with bacon excellent.
Car parking right outside hotel but expensive for 24 hours. You can purchase a ticket for £7.50 from hotel and park a couple of roads away for 24 hours.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you stated you would stay again.

We do have concierge services to assist with luggage to our higher floors and I hope this was offered during your stay

We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    205
    84
    36
    44
See reviews for
87
283
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Comfy beds, good shower facilities etc good breakfast choice - full English offered
, croissants, etc. Very clean rooms, Pleasant staff, very sociable, good location to Brighton. thoroughly enjoyed the stay...and will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you very much and we do look forward to your promise to return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel is well placed for everywhere of any importance in Brighton. It is in a quiet square but near the lively Kemp Town community. It is run like clockwork and service with a smile is the order of the day. Breakfast choices are good and the the bistro, which is run in the evenings, is French in flavour- both in taste and ambience. The staff are very helpful. The only drawback is that our bedroom was rather small and it is possible on occasions that some people return in the early hours after clubbing. It was not a problem for us but light sleepers find it off-putting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAJDOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit with us - we pride ourselves on our service and product and it is great we have achieved our high standards during your stay. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

An excelent location for all the key attractions. The quality of the evening meal & breakfast was very good (and local). The staff were friendly and efficient thoughout. A well maintained and clean hotel. Only negative point was that the bathroom was a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have stayed in many hotels in Brighton, small to large, budget to luxury. This certainly ranks as one of my best yet. Very clean and well maintained. Well staffed by a friendly and helpful team. The manager/owner, Herve, is charming. Well positioned for the nightlife yet in a quiet and attractive square. Stayed in room 102 (ground floor), well decorated & furnished (nothing showed any signs of wear), bathroom on the small side but adequate. Good breakfasts. Booking again for my next visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much and I am so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and will be returning soon, We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is noisy and the staff cannot speak very good English. We had two nights booked and decided to leave after the first due to loud parties going on above us. Despite requesting a quiet room! The hotel owner told us that he could not refund us for the second night giving us various excuses. We had to argue and threaten to call the police and finally he relented and gave us a refund for the second night. We only managed 3 hours sleep the first night so will never go back to this hotel.
This reminded me of Faulty Towers !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabithaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review as we are always welcome to receive feedback, however I do feel that you have misrepresented the Hotel and the situation.

When you first made a complaint to our desk at night, it was investigated by our Night Manager straight away, and he found no disturbances at all. However you did become abuse towards him in dealing with the matter and this continued in the morning towards our Manager.

It was then that you spoke with our Proprietor, and he felt that your abuse exasperated the situation further, when it could have been resolved. He agreed to refund yourselves so that you could check straight out, without causing further disruption to our other guests at that stage.

As you can see by other reviews, we do get great feedback for our product and service, and do feel that this review is unduly negative about a situation that could have been resolved had you let our team deal with it without interruption.

I am sorry that you felt like this - as I said we welcome all reviews and I am glad we are given the opportunity to respond and make our case on this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A small hotel in a very convenient location. Quiet but close to the sea front and pier. Very clean and comfortable. Staff all friendly and helpful. Good breakfast with locally sourced produce and (as another reviewer said) toast made with 'real' bread.

Room Tip: Rooms at front and back of the hotel were quiet at night with little street noise. We had rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and it is great to see that the hard work we put into our service and product is complimented bu our guest's. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#73 of 93 in Brighton
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 93 in Brighton
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#29 of 93 in Brighton
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#42 of 93 in Brighton
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing