We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #45 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A lovely find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have stayed in many hotels in Brighton, small to large, budget to luxury. This certainly ranks as one of my best yet. Very clean and well maintained. Well staffed by a friendly and helpful team. The manager/owner, Herve, is charming. Well positioned for the nightlife yet in a quiet and attractive square. Stayed in room 102 (ground floor), well decorated & furnished (nothing showed any signs of wear), bathroom on the small side but adequate. Good breakfasts. Booking again for my next visit to Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much and I am so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and will be returning soon, We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    202
    81
    36
    42
See reviews for
83
280
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is noisy and the staff cannot speak very good English. We had two nights booked and decided to leave after the first due to loud parties going on above us. Despite requesting a quiet room! The hotel owner told us that he could not refund us for the second night giving us various excuses. We had to argue and threaten to call the police and finally he relented and gave us a refund for the second night. We only managed 3 hours sleep the first night so will never go back to this hotel.
This reminded me of Faulty Towers !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabithaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review as we are always welcome to receive feedback, however I do feel that you have misrepresented the Hotel and the situation.

When you first made a complaint to our desk at night, it was investigated by our Night Manager straight away, and he found no disturbances at all. However you did become abuse towards him in dealing with the matter and this continued in the morning towards our Manager.

It was then that you spoke with our Proprietor, and he felt that your abuse exasperated the situation further, when it could have been resolved. He agreed to refund yourselves so that you could check straight out, without causing further disruption to our other guests at that stage.

As you can see by other reviews, we do get great feedback for our product and service, and do feel that this review is unduly negative about a situation that could have been resolved had you let our team deal with it without interruption.

I am sorry that you felt like this - as I said we welcome all reviews and I am glad we are given the opportunity to respond and make our case on this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

A small hotel in a very convenient location. Quiet but close to the sea front and pier. Very clean and comfortable. Staff all friendly and helpful. Good breakfast with locally sourced produce and (as another reviewer said) toast made with 'real' bread.

Room Tip: Rooms at front and back of the hotel were quiet at night with little street noise. We had rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and it is great to see that the hard work we put into our service and product is complimented bu our guest's. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We've just got back after a delightful 2 night stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out. The location is great, just a few hundred yards from the pier and set in a lovely Regency square, a very easy walk into the centre, set back about 200 yards from the beach.
You can park right outside but the hotel have a money saving scheme if you are willing to park a couple of streets away. Compared to some of the parking rates in Brighton this is an absolute bargain!

The room was lovely and clean, ready way before the official check in time and with everything you need for a short stay.

The breakfast was just superb with all the ingredients for a full English being locally sourced. Now, this is going to sound a bit over the top, but the bread used for the toast was just wonderful, not the normal brown or white sliced but REAL bread.

Unlike most hotels of this size, they also operate a bistro restaurant in the evenings and we ate there last night, again excellent food and service. Brighton is packed with fish and chip shops and plenty of Italian and other restaurants but if you want a proper French meal then this stands on it's own merits very well

I'd give it a 4 for value simply because 5 implies getting a lot more than you pay for. I thought the rate we paid was very fair and I would certainly stay there again, more than happy to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 114 which unfortunately had a VERY bright street light about 5 feet away, so quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we do hope you can return again soon as we would be more than happy to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having never visited Brighton before I had no idea where would be good to stay but we really struck lucky with this hotel. The location was great, just off the seafront and a very short walk to wonderful shops and restaurants. The room was very clean and spacious and beds comfortable. One of the best showers I have ever had in a hotel too!
We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was delicious. On my next visit I will definitely try out the bistro in the evening as the menu looked very good.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only negative for me was that I found the communal areas to be too hot. Luckily, heating in the bedroom could be turned off.
I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, very quiet but you need to be fit with all those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us, as we pride ourselves on our service and product.

As you pointed out, we do have rooms on higher floors, however we are always more than happy to assist with guest's luggage, should they require.

We hope you return to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here for one night with a colleague whilst in Brighton on business. From start to finish - the team couldn't do enough for us. Check in was quick yet efficient and my suitcase was carried up the stairs to my room which was a lovely touch! We ate from the set menu and it was great - I would highly recommend the Crème Brûlée as that was delicious! (a signature dish I was later told!). Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked with locally sourced ingredients and it showed. It was one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel and the larger chain hotels could learn a thing or two from this property. Overall it was a lovely stay and a shame it was only for one night. Will definitely go back when next in the area and cannot speak highly enough of the team at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Cat_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully you can return again soon and stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This was second time we have stayed here. Lovely little hotel.staff are very helpful. Our room this time was on second floor, we found the room to be too hot( same last time) , but were able to turn heating down. Shower could have been bit more powerful. Toiletries are good. Breakfast was fine, local produce. We were able to leave our luggage and collected it later, which was a big help as we had business in Brighton. We thought it was a fair price to pay for a comfortable night. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dinah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and for returning to stay with us, and we do hope you will become one of our regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#74 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#39 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#15 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#29 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing