We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but a noisy night!”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #50 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited on the Thursday before August bank holiday weekend. This hotel's in a great location, with parking opportunities in the roads. You can buy a permit for £7.50 from reception. Our room was attractive and clean with an enormous bed; the staff are French and charming; the breakfast was good; and all in all I thought it was pretty good value for money. Only downside was the noise! Apparently Brighton seagulls don't go off to roost when the sun sets - preferring instead to stay in town and screech all night long! This, combined with regular groups of singing, chanting, shouting pub/club goers passing by until around 4am made for a sleepless night, unfortunately. Not a lot the hotel can do about either; although the concierge apparently did make a call to the police at 3am to complain about the drunks! Despite this, I would visit New Steine again - and keep my fingers crossed for a quieter night!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAK20_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your review - and I am so glad that almost all the elements were good for you - seagulls can be noisy in Brighton - with regards the other noises it does not generally cause us a problem but being Bank Holiday it may have been escalated a bit more, but we hope you can return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for New Steine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights here with my two girls aged 10 & 12 and we loved it. We stayed in a deluxe triple with a lovely seaview and view of the gardens outside. The room was spotless and a reasonable selection of channels on the TV to suit us all. The breakfast was great quality and the staff very friendly. We splashed out on an evening meal one night which wasn't cheap but we enjoyed it & it meant we could stroll up to our room afterwards. The location is fantastic - a few minutes from the beach, pier and a short walk to The Lanes & Brighton Pavillion which was ideal for us as I didn't have a car. We will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you so much and we hope you can come stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the New Steine Hotel, wonderful room, the staff are excellent & can not do enough for you & the food in the Bistro is out of this world. Cannot praise it enough & will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

On arrival we were taken to our room. However we noticed within a few minutes that the shower was dirty (it looked like the drains had backed up.) Housekeeping were asked to clean the shower, and we were given another room. The second room we were given was smaller and the bathroom was half the size. Putting us in a smaller room didn't seem like a great way to make up for the dirty shower. Although service was friendly and breakfast was good, the hotel did seem to have seen better days since it had got its four-star AA rating. For example, I noticed that several of the framed prints on the walls had dropped from the mountings in their frames and were askew. A pretty good metaphor for the rest of the hotel really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulCKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and I am sorry if it was not as expected and we have recently been reviewed by the AA and re-confirmed on our rating. As an older Georgian Building, the rooms are of varying sizes and layouts and I am sorry if this was not suitable for yourselves on this stay, and we do hope you choose to try us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for one night when meeting family in Brighton. Most hotels in Brighton seem to have a minimum 2 night stay policy at weekends, those offering one night accommodation varied wildly from the very basic (but not cheap) to luxurious (very expensive). I had almost given up hope of finding somewhere suitable when I discovered New Steine. I agree the photos are rather flattering but we booked a deluxe double and found it ideal for a one night stay. The room was spotlessly clean and had nice touches such as bottled water, toiletries and tea & coffee. The location is excellent just off the sea front and a couple of minutes from The Lanes. Breakfast was included with our booking and there was a choice of continental or cooked. The food was very good. A parking permit was available for 24hrs at a cost of £7.50 and we found a space in the road opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra and book one of the better rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiehaggerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Hopefully you can return again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Thank you, the New Steine Hotel, for your help in a dire situation. You went above and beyond and I and my family are eternally grateful. Human kindness is hugely valuable in these days of increasingly corporate hotels. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad we were able to assist you - I hope you can visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, the last being approx 2 years ago. The rooms are clean and functional, the breakfast is excellent which I would put on par with those of a 4+ star hotel. We had a minor maintenance issue with our bathroom which the manager had his maintenance guy deal with immediately. The location is excellent being in the heart of Kemp Town, minutes from the beach and city centre.

The only downside is it is beginning to look a little tired in places; woodwork, fixtures and fittings could do with some attention (the lamp shades on the stairs have seen better days) but as you dont spend much time there other than to sleep it is a perfectly adequate and pleasent place to stay. The staff are all helpful and friendly and will do anything to make your stay pleasant and are exteremely accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and we have taken on board your comments to make improvements which are management team will look at to try and implement.

Also thank you for your kind comments about your return visit - we hope you will continue to use us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#77 of 94 in Brighton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $69 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing