We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #51 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here Thursday 3rd jan for my boyfriends birthday, staff were very friendly and the room was very nice too. I chose the deluxe room which has lovely big windows to the front so you can see the sea. The decor was modern and just to my taste, bathroom was also newly done and a good size. The bed was really comfy too, we slept very well, could have been bigger but then we are used to our super king!! Overall, couldn't fault it in any way, just lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nenny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope you choose to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 670 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our recent stay (Jan '13) was excellent. A super little B&B close to the centre and just off the seafront. It is clean, comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are super - using as much locally sourced food as possible. For the price paid the service, room, location and breakfast were excellent. We have stayed before and will do again. The only observation is that there is no lift so if you are less able - ask for a room on the lower floor.

Room Tip: Go deluxe for a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjc72_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

On arrival the welcome was poor and the staff didnt come across as approachable or welcoming.

The room decor was not nice, it looked dated and slightly grim-not the type of room you would want to spend much time in. The radiator was far to hot for the room of that size and was unable to be turned off. As a result, when opening the window to cool the room down the distinct smell of cigarette smoke was drafted through the window by either staff or customers smoking outside. The noise of drunk people in the pub/building behind was very loud and as the window could not be closed due to the heat of the room was now noisey and smelled of smoke.The bed itslef was thin and lumpy and did not provide a good nigt sleep. To top it off, the dustbin collector arrived at 5am making the most hurrendus noise. In the end I gave up and left early.

On check out, again staff seemed like they didnt care, there was no thanks for my business or invite to return. The entire feel of the place was that bad I just wanted to leave. Comparing this B&B to other ones locally it falls well below par and is not demmed in my opinion as value for money. Never would I stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am really surprised by your review as we usually receive high praise for both our standards and our service. From what I can gather, your room was located at the back of the Hotel overlooking a Private Terrace, so I am unsure as to where the smoke smell could have come from. As for the noise, the street behind is a private residential road, but if there was noise from some persons on that street I can only apologise, but unfortunately we are unable to do anything about this. Generally, it is quiet at our Hotel, so it is unfortunate that this was not the case on this evening.

Our rooms have all been refurbished in the last two years, and the images shown on our website, we feel truly do represent what you are getting, but it may not be to everyone's taste and I am sorry if it was not suitable for yourself. Similarly, the cost of the rooms we feel is very competitive in the Brighton market, and we regularly check these against our competitors to ensure we offer value for money.

As for any staff issues, I have passed your comments onto our General Manager to look into, and can only apologise if you were treated in anyway unsatisfactorily during your stay.

I am sorry if your felt it was not as you had expected and can assure you that we usually attain high marks for our service and product, and any issues you had have been a one off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for one night at the hotel between Xmas and New Year. We had originally booked the hotel next door but they could not accommodate us so were given a room next door (the New Steine) which was very good. The room was clean and very big.

The breakfast was good and the service we had from the bar staff was excellent. The hotel had many good restaurants nearby ( I would eat at the Sawada Thai restauarnt again... it was excellent and only literally 2 mins from the hotel).

The only thing which was disappointing was that our room (112) in the basement was under room 102 above which was really noisy especially during the night so I would try and avoid 112 if you are a light sleeper as the guests above us were really noisy and walked around from what we thought were stilletos !!

I would stay here again but avoid room 112 !

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay - with regards your comment about noise from upstairs, we do not usually have an issue with this, and I can only imagine you unfortunately had some very noisy neighbours on this occasion, for which I apologise if it spoilt any of your stay.

I do hope you choose to return to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Willow on the front desk did everything she could to welcome us and make sure everything was perfect. This small but smart hotel was very comfortable for our one night and set in a pretty square very close to the sea and to the shops and Pavilion.

Room Tip: Our room was of high quality decoratively and had very good storage but overall, small. The shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 212Traveller186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for putting forward the member of staff that you feel went over and beyond in her service. She has been congratulated personally by our Proprietor and it is so good to see our staff thanked for the effort that put in and the service they provide.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel. We stay on second floor with sea view which was lovely and good for the money. The location is good with beach/pier and town in easy walking distance. There is parking outside, which is expensive, but at least theres parking! Staff were very friendly and accomodating. There doesnt appear to be a lift but could be wrong so worth double checking if this is important for you. However the staff member who checked us in came right up to the room and showed us everything and they were more than willing to help with the bags. The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious!!! They use fresh local ingredients and it shows. Will definately stay here again next time we come to brighton.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jt1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Parking is the big thing in Brighton - and price. So for £70 for a single person in a double room this isn't bad. And there is free parking right outside, with plenty of spaces (in November anyway!). The parking is free from 8pm to 9am, so don't arrive earlier than 8 or you have to pay £3.50 an hour! I did wonder if all the spaces would fill up at 8.01 but they didn't, and the 9am, finish means no hassle to move in the morning. The room was fine - slightly tired, and room 102 is right by the front door but actually there was no noise in the night from other people. Breakfast was OK - the staff seem to be all French so the food is quality but they don't really understand bacon. Overall I would come here again even though it's not quite the dream of cheap friendly family-run boutique B&B, which somehow you expect but can never find in Brighton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. With regards your comment about parking, we do offer vouhcer bay parking at £7.50 per 24 hours and I am sorry if this was not offered to you as an alternative on Reception - being city centre parking is very expensive but we do feel these vouchers are good value.

For the accommodation we daily compare ourselves to our competitors for price and feel, for what we provide, we are ideally placed in the Brighton Market.

I do hope you choose to return to stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#74 of 94 in Brighton
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#37 of 94 in Brighton
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kemp Townhouse
Kemp Townhouse
#29 of 94 in Brighton
548 reviews
0 mi away
Limehouse
Limehouse
#28 of 94 in Brighton
222 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#14 of 94 in Brighton
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $68 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing