We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing to write home about!”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #53 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I found the New Steine when shopping around for a hotel suitable for my partially disabled mother for a long weekend. The staff were pleasant, helped us in with luggage and advised that parking was free on the street for anyone with a blue disabled badge. We would not have known as the street signs did not indicate this fact. We were given a ground-floor room which was basic but clean and ok. They were a bit mean mean with Tea, coffee and milk provision in the room. it is inconvenient to keep asking. The room had impractical layout as the tea tray was in the wardrobe with nowhere obvious to plug in the kettle! We had to relocate the tray on table near the window, then it only just reached to plug it in! Not ideal but we managed! The only other option seemed to be to put it on the floor by the nearest socket. There was a little mold on the ceiling of the shower which aggravated my asthma. There were no hooks in the bathroom or anywhere to hang anything so wet coats were a problem. A mirror would have been nice to do our hair and makeup. For the price we paid i would expect this. One thing i could not fault was the breakfast, which was beautifully cooked.

Room Tip: The streetlight could be a problem for some in this ground floor front bedroom as the blinds were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry if you only found your stay as average with us. We pride ourselves on our service and product, and it does not appear that you were 100% satsified on this stay with us.

The additional points you raised that could have improved your stay have been passed over to our Management team so that we can action any points so as not to inconvenience any future guests, and I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 667 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

On arrival, which was late, about 9pm, I have to say at first I didn't find the staff particulary pleased to see us, or that;s the impression I first got, this was a touch dissapointing as we had travelled from Cardiff and were tired and just wanted to see a friendly face. My husband went off in search of a parking place, whilst I was sat waiting for him at first I felt a little uncomfortable and wasn't offered a drink or anything, however within 5 mins the 2 girls on reception became happy and chatty and were most helpful, pity this wasn't shown as the door was opened to us, would of made a massive difference to first impressions. Apart from that first little blip I have to say that after that I found all the staff to be polite, helpful, friendly and happy and we liked them all very much. On being shown to our room we were most pleased with how clean and modern the hotel and our room looked, the room smelt badly of smoke but the member of staff already knew this and apologised straight away saying we could be moved the next day if we weren't happy, in fairness it really was not their fault that some idiot and decided to smoke in the room! We chose not to move the next day as we were only there for 2 nights. My husband had paid for a delux room and whereas I truly could not fault the cleaniness or the decoration I did feel it was quite over priced as the room was very small and the double bed was tiny.

The breakfast each morning was very well cooked with all local produce and we very much enjoyed it.

Overall the not so good points were, no parking, small room that was really noisy with all the clubbers in the street all night and a small bed but there were plenty of good points and they were, beautifully decorated, excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, very, very clean (a massive plus for me) and by the looks of it probably one of the nicest looking hotels in the area.

We would return however not at the price we were charged.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debgav2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad, overall, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You did raise some negative points - I am sorry if the greeting on arrival was not as the rest of the stay was. We pride ourselves on our service element and this comment has been passed onto our front desk team to ensure it does not happen again. With regards the parking, we do offer the discount vouchers £7.50 per 24 hours from our Reception which is amazing value for parking in City Centre Brighton. In terms of room size, as an older Georgian style building, our rooms do differ in size, so I am sorry if the one you were allocated felt too small for you. We do regularly price check ourselves against our competitors and feel we are well priced for the market.

I do hope you choose to come stay with us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've just returned from a weekend break in Brighton, first time for my wife and I, have to say we had a lovely time.
Booked to stay at the New Steine a week or so before the weekend, paid 236 pounds for a Saturday and Sunday night. Compared to other hotels nearby this seemed about average.
The location of the New Steine is perfect, close to the beach, the pier, the Brighton wheel etc whilst being far enough away from the city to avoid to much noise. The staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival and at breakfast.
Mentioning breakfast, wow! Compliments to the chef, a well cooked, well presented plate of full english, very tasty. Nice to see a hotel avoiding beans and fried bread and concentrating on quality.
The room itself was compact, ok, small. I bought a 'deluxe' double with sea view, I think the word deluxe needs to be removed as it is a standard ensuite double. The room has a small double bed and wierdly a single bed! Can this not be taken out to allow more room? Perhaps a nice armchair? The ensuite was the disapointment, if you are over 5'7 you will feel no water on the top of your head from the tempramental shower. Its tiny! I'm 6 foot and had to actually kneel on the shower floor to wash my hair. Funnily enough it was whilst on my knees I noticed the grouting falling out from between the tiles...nice.
A word of advice for the owner would be to remind the housekeeping team that whilst refreshing the rooms to replenish milk, tea bags etc on the hospitality tray.
All in all a decent hotel but probably a bit pricy for what you get, location spot on, staff lovely, room not so good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and may I also thank you for all the nice things you said about our Hotel - I am so glad that you had a good stay overall and that you had an excellent breakfast and excellent stay.

With regards the other points you raised, the room you were allocated was a Deluxe, but because of the large number of family visits to the Hotel, the room does have an additional bed in the room to accommodate up to three persons. The description of the Deluxe is in reference to the fact the room is slightly larger in size to the Standard, but mainly because it is facing out the front of the Hotel with views over the New Steine Square and out to sea - being Brighton sea view rooms are always sold at a premium and I am sorry if you felt this was overpriced for this factor - we regularly compare our prices against our competitors and do feel we offer value for money.

As for the shower, some of our shower rooms are smaller than others, and being an older Georgian Building we are unable to amend these layouts, however we do not advertise anything to the contrary and I do hope it did not inconvenience yourselves too much.

I do hope you will get the chance to return to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Superbly positioned near the sea and city centre. Be careful which room you choose. Ours was unacceptably noisy owing to night staff treading the boards above all through the night. No positive action to rectify this in spite of strong complaints. Breakfasts are excellent – ours were served by pleasant young female staff, which helped to mollify the effects of a sleepless night!

Room Tip: HIgher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your comments - I can assure you this matter is taken seriously and though we cannot resolve your direct issues now, we have, this week, started a process of re-laying boards and carpets in areas around the Hotel where the boards are older and creaking.

As an older style Georgian Building, we do have some areas that need more upkeep and we regulalry inspect these areas to ensure as minimal inconvenience to guest's as possible.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and that this helped mollify your negative thoughts on your nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really disappointed with our stay here as I think their descriptions of the rooms and the hotel on their website are extremely misleading.

The New Steine is definitely not a boutique hotel as advertised and it's definitely not worth the money we paid in my opinion. My husband and I booked a double deluxe ensuite room with a sea view for £102 including breakfast. Our room consisted of what seemed to be one large single and one single bed, a very, very, very tiny shower room (it was the size of a small cupboard & could only fit one person in at a time), cheap MFI furniture, with a very flimsy lock on the door. The room faced onto a square and the supposedly sea view was partially obscured by the bay window of the property next door. The walls are paper-thin & the mattresses on the beds were saggy and offered no support. Their website states they have just recently refurbished.

Breakfast was okay.

The New Steine is more like a standard B&B so I not sure why they have described themselves as a hotel. If the room were at half the price advertised, I would not feel like we've been totally ripped-off. To be honest, a Premier Inn or Travel Lodge would have been a far better choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry you did not find the Hotel to your liking. We are listed as a Small Hotel, as opposed to a B&B, due to the standard (4 star as recently renewed by the AA) and the services we provide, such as 24 hour Reception, 24 hour Room Service, Bistro and Bar, Conference Rooms, Bedrooms with Desk Space, Direct Dial Telephones, Flatscreen TV's, etc...

We check our pricing against our competitors daily and feel we are well placed in the market for what we offer. Unfortunately some of our bathrooms are smaller than others - being an older Georgian Townhouse we are unable to change that, however we do not state anything on the contrary on our website.

It is a shame you felt were more of a B&B and I believe that you expectations from that point on were in view of this fact, as opposed for the actual service and proiduct we provide, which is a shame, but we do thank you for your review and we believe that all views should be expressed and we welcome the opportunity to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose the New Stein Hotel after looking at their website which advertises a boutique hotel and shows lovely photos of the rooms. The room we chose was £119 a night (we could have paid an extra £20 a night for a sea view but as the hotel is in a square off the front we decided that the view would at best have been a sideways one and decided to go for a basic room). That was just what we got. The room itself (room 111) was on the small side and decorated in the boutique ikea/ MFI style. The carpet was very basic and not very well laid. Bathroom was small. Decor tired.on the positive side the breakfast was good and the location fine. We thought we would have problems with noise, being at the front of the hotel just feet from the road but in all fairness we were hardly disturbed. As other reviews have noted our toiletries weren't replenished and while we had a bottle of water and somebiscuits the first night these were also not replenished. The previous nightwear had stayed in a Holiday Inn Express costing under half the price and we felt that overall that gave much better value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you felt our property was basic. All rooms are done to a good standard and though room size can differ room to room (as we are an old Georgian style building) we do feel they offer a good range of services, including Tea/Coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, Flatscreen TV with up to 40 TV channels, free Wi-Fi and direct dial telephones, which I would say we feel is more than a basic offering.

I am glad though that you felt our location was perfect with no noise disturbances and that the Breakfast was good, and I do hope you will stay again so you can see a variety of the rooms we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent hotel in a quiet location yet hugely convenient for the city and all the attractions. Stephan and his team could not have made us more welcome. Very comfortable room with a good view. The food and wine were excellent and well-priced. Superb, very substantial breakfast with amazingly quick and efficient service. The most memorable feature of the hotel is undoubtedly the staff. Without exception, they were helpful, friendly and extremely efficient. When we return to Brighton, there will only be one hotel on our list! Many thanks.
Chris and Jan Steele

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your great review and I am so glad that everything was to your liking. I have passed on your comments to Stephane and the rest of the team, and we do hope you choose to return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#28 of 43 in Brighton
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#76 of 95 in Brighton
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#38 of 95 in Brighton
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kemp Townhouse
Kemp Townhouse
#30 of 95 in Brighton
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $54 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing