We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable with superb staff”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #50 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent hotel in a quiet location yet hugely convenient for the city and all the attractions. Stephan and his team could not have made us more welcome. Very comfortable room with a good view. The food and wine were excellent and well-priced. Superb, very substantial breakfast with amazingly quick and efficient service. The most memorable feature of the hotel is undoubtedly the staff. Without exception, they were helpful, friendly and extremely efficient. When we return to Brighton, there will only be one hotel on our list! Many thanks.
Chris and Jan Steele

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your great review and I am so glad that everything was to your liking. I have passed on your comments to Stephane and the rest of the team, and we do hope you choose to return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for New Steine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 650 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed overnight on a Thursday in August. Blissfully quiet (a first for Brighton), nice decor in rooms (carpet a bit basic but I guess that's to do with getting sand out?). The food was good and the staff very pleasant. We hope to come back--it's good value and an excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with - hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned and have to say a big THANKYOUf to the staff on our stay at the new steine.We stayed in room 111 and although lacks any view the room was a good size and bed very comfy.Breakfast was fab the staff could not do enough for us and the food was great.If we decide to go back to Brighton in the future we will look no further than the new steine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebt41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - I have passed on your thanks to the whole team and we are so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ok hotel. Location is best thing. Rooms are very small. Seems like a lot of money to pay but all hotels in Brighton seem dear. Breakfast was pretty good . Wouldn't be in a rush back but did the job.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. It does not appear you were overly taken with our property, which is a shame. The prices we charge are standard for our style of property, in our location, and we are regularly checking our competitors prices to ensure we have competitive rates for our guests.

I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from stay at New Steine Hotel Brighton, Check in was no problem and led to room 207. Room was clean but bit on the small side, nicely decorated. Shower had very poor water pressure and no bath. Breakfeast the next day was very unorganised, Had to stop someone to get them to take food order, wife's toast arrived only cooked on one side, sent it back to be redone, came back the same way. Toast i ordered never came at all. My breakfeast arrived ok, had to ask 3 times for wifes breakfeast, finally came 40 minutes later! Bacon was cold and mushrooms burned. Paid £102 for B&B. Hotel was rated a 4 star by AA, Guess their standards have slipped.. Hotel was just hitting 3 stars in my book..Not worth price paid!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citsme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that, on this occasion, we let you down in relation to our Breakfast product and service. We usually attain high praise for our breakfast offering but it looks as though it feel below our standards on this occasion, for which I am sorry.

I can assure you that our General Manager has taken action since your comments and I trust that, should you return, it will be back up to the standards we aim to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the New Steine. The room was very nicely decorated and the bed was comfy, although the room was a little smaller than we would have liked. The breakfast is ok but there is little on the menu that is light and healthy. Great pancakes though (you have to be down early ish to get them before they run out). A bit of a walk from the pier and the lanes but a great location near the seafront and there are lots of good eateries close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Menu is for the Full Breakfast (also providing Vegan and Vegetarian) however we do also provide a full continental buffet of fruit, cereals, cheeses and fresh meat, compote and fresh juices, and I do hope you enjoyed this selection as well during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was booked by the company arranging my hen weekend package. I can honestly say that it was a brilliant choice and that I am sure that I will be back. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. The rooms were nice, clean and were nicely decorated. The hotel location was perfect. The beach is just at the bottom of the road, there are shops on the road to the top of the street and the nightlife was within a very short walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikipedia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#77 of 94 in Brighton
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $69 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing