We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely hotel!”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely hotel!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend and I were her in the end of May for a few days. The hotel was lovely! Just a short walk from the bus station and the city center. Short distance to the beach and the Pier as well.
The room was really big and nice, with a corner bathtub, separate toilet, our own privat backyard with table and chairs! Evendough we were only two, we got a room with one double bed and a single bed. The staff was nice as well :)

Would absolutely recommand you to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our terraced room as well as Brighton in general.

I do hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    205
    84
    36
    44
See reviews for
87
283
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

As a gay couple we decided to have a night in Gay Brighton.
We originally booked in at Gulivers hotel but was told we had been moved to the sister hotel "steins" it was no big deal to us as it was right next door to Gulivers and has the same owners.
We was shown to our double room down in the basement and was very pleased with it as it even had its own private patio area.
We slept very well (the drinking till late helped) we had a full English breakfast in the morning and what a great breakfast it was.
We would definately stay again and would recommend to our friends.
Even the parking was easy and cheap as we paid the hotel £7.50 and got a 24 hour parking permit.
Thanks to everyone who looked after us.
Gary & Arron xx

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do, on occasion, upgrade people from our Gulliver's to our New Steine property, as they are jointly run and located right next door to each other, and I am glad on this occasion that we could upgrade you to our terraced room, of which it appears you enjoyed.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed there with my hens and it was perfect for location, around 10-15 mins walk to the main bars and restaurants and close to the sea. The hotel arranged for us all to sit together downstairs to eat our breakfast together and we were able to use the same private room for my hens to organise a little party before we went out. The triples rooms are large enough but the bathroom is very small with a tiny shower. The only negative is that they need more twin rooms than doubles as they only provided double beds for my friends who would have preferred twins - the question was asked before staying but no one came back to my groups organiser. If you are a hen or a stag the hotel is perfect, if you want a quiet hotel for the weekend I wouldn't suggest it, all of us heard the group of lads that stayed the same weekend coming back at 3am when we were all based in different rooms around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry if no one got back to you with regards the room allocations - your rooms had been booked with a third party agent and they had been informed by us the exact room arrangements we had available for your booking on this occasion (we do have twin rooms but they were already booked up) so I am sorry on their behalf if they did not commuicate this information to you.

As for the noise disturbance, it is only over a few weekends in the summer that we have groups staying with us, and generally we only accept them at the same time, so as not to inconvenience our independant guest. At most times we consider ourselves a quiet relaxed small Hotel, far enough away from the party goers, but still walking distance to everything,

I do hope you and your party will return and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

All staff we came across were absoultely delightful and two problems, our television and water were dealt with superbly.
The bed was comfortable and the sheets were crisp, white and beautiful.
Bathroom was very basic - shower, basin and toilet but suited us for the one night.

We were in room 205 and the one window does not offer a great view but it's main problem is lack of double glazing / sound proofing. The noise from the birds and revellers kept us awake most of the night.
As did, the drunken guests who arrived back at 3am and proceeded to talk loudly on the landings for ten minutes or so. Not the fault of the Management but annoying none the less.
Breakfast was adequate nothing more.

£115 is a reasonable amount of money and I know it is probably competeive with the rest of Brighton 's similar establishments but if I am honest, this is woth no more than £90 a night.
I would also like to know how the AA works it's stars out as the rooms are small and basic so i can't see how it warrants such a high award.

Greatest asset, the staff but wold we stay again, probably not.
One point in its favour though, they did allow us to book for one night when most of their contempories were insisting on two as it was a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you do not feel you would stay again despite enjoying your stay. The room cost, we feel, is very competitive against the rest of the market in Brighton, and at weekends it is more expensive, but we do offer great deals for midweek stays.

As for the noise issues, some rooms do suffer a little from some noise outside, if there is any (as we are situtted away fromt he main run) however our Proprietor is lookng into possible improvements that can be made.

Our AA rating is judged every year and is awarded on the Hotel and it's facilities, and we have maintained our 4 star standard for many year's now.

I do hope you change your mind and choose to stay again as we would be happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice room with en suit and the usual facilities, our window had a great view out to sea and of the square, great breakfast set us up for the day. Easy to find with parking available if your patient although it's on street and metered during the day. We would not hesitate to recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Facing the square for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnymccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about our property.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed for a single night during the London to Brighton bike ride. The staff were really helpful (directions / maps / local events), and the room was spotlessly clean.
I thought it was great value for money - I had a single room with a shower (toilet was on next floor down), and the veggie breakfast was delicious. Thank you all at New Steine

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - and I do hope that you also did well in the London to Brighton Bike Ride that weekend.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon, for more of a relaxed stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My brother and I stayed for 3 nights in a lovely twin room downstairs. We originaly booked for 2 nights but were having such a nice time i asked if our room was free for another. It was already booked but the owner very kindly sorted it out so we didn't have to change rooms. All the staff are very helpful and couldn't do enough for you but not in the intrusive way. My brother has autism so this was much appreicated.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you even extended to stay longer.

We pride ourselves on providing exemplary service and standards and I am so glad that this was the case during your stay.

I do hope you choose to return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#73 of 93 in Brighton
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 93 in Brighton
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#29 of 93 in Brighton
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#42 of 93 in Brighton
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Property: New Steine Hotel
Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing