We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pelirocco [Cooler than Penguins Pantry]”
Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pelirocco [Cooler than Penguins Pantry]”
Reviewed February 23, 2007

I first stayed at the Pelirocco in 2001 when they had a room themed around old school Hip Hop, and found the room innovative, quirky and comfortable.

Over the last six years I've stayed in a variety of rooms including, Pressure Sounds, Skint, Bowery, Modrophena and last month, Cissy Mo's magic Garden. The rooms are unique, the staff are friendly and the bar always has good 'buzz' which is perfect for chips and drinks before a night out, or 'morning after' breakfast.

The fact the staff remember me by name when I call/arrive adds to my stay. If you're after a regular room that could be in any town or city then Travelodge is for you, if you're looking for somewhere ideal for a first date, anniversary treat and a great addition to a weekend in Brighton - Pelirocco is the place.

I've stayed in the big chain hotels across the country and paid for the priveledge of being ignored and ushered out as quickly as possible for the next guest - for me, Pelirocco is worth every penny for the stay - you never forget waking up and seeing 'Space-Hoppers' next to the bed, or astroturf on the ceiling.

Stay in a hotel with character and great art/deco - Brightons best advert for fun, style and innovation.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Bad-Good-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    216
    60
    47
    30
See reviews for
34
469
65
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Well, I have known about this hotel for some years but always found it hard to book for special occasions like valentines and birthdays as i have left it too late, but this time I made sure I got in early and booked before Christmas for two nights leading up to Valentines Day with a late checkout on Valentines afternoon, in The Ocean Room.

When we got there we were both treated to a free drink as the room was slightly delayed for an engineer repairing the TV Ariel...which was fine by us. As you'd expect, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and didn't seem able to do enough or offer enough advice. Even when returning late at night and sitting in the bar having a chatter and joke, the staff were very friendly.

The room was great, clean and crisp...with a little durex play kit pre ordered waiting on the bed!

Our entire stay was fun and well worth it. The breakfast was good and the location by the sea only added to the relaxing feel, even on a cold, wet and windy February day.

So glad we finally got to go there and we will look to return and try out some of the other rooms!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank condiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

What an awesome room/suite!! (Durex Play Room) Fairly pricey I suppose but worth every penny because it is unlike any other hotel, such a novelty room!!

Had a good laugh, thought it might be a bit seedy but it was not at all. It's a huge room, both bedroom and lounge area. The bathroom was even bigger and the plunge bath/monsoon showers are awesome. The bed was VERY comfortable and VERY BIG and the breakfast was good too. The pole dancing area finishes the room off making it the ultimate in s*xy.

We had a few drinks in the bar in the evening, the bar was open till 1am. I would suggest from the cocktail menu the "dirty [--] rotter"!! Sounds vile but tasted like vimto, mmmmmmmm!!

All in all, a very Brighton hotel and makes staying in a hotel all that more fun. ; )

  • Liked — The pole, the bed, the bath and the breakfast!!
  • Disliked — Nothing. But then Im only commenting on one room, some of the others dont look so great on line.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Celestial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

You will either love it or hate it. There's no nice, middle of the road here, its a one way freeway to act like a debauched rockstar.
we stayed in the Absolute Love room and me and my crazy little kiwi had a riot.
The staff are fab and extremely cool without being detached; thanks for the "three for the road shots"-Katy.
We will go back and, hopefully, "upgrade" the fun next time.
DirtyDaz

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't look for a trouser press
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DirtyDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Went down to Brighton for my husbands birthday and had an excellent time. The hotel is great and staff incredibly friendly, if you can get down there I would highly recommend staying here, but try to book early as it can get booked up quite quickly. It's funky, fun and everything I would expect from a boutique hotel, and the staff went out of their way to make our stay special. Will be going back and telling all of our friends to as well.

  • Liked — Fun, friendly and unique.
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was perfect.
  • Tips/Secrets — View the website to see all the rooms so you can choose your favourite.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank squiggly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Fantastic atmosphere, great staff. But Hotel as a whole smelled a bit rough/musty and our room was rather grimy (wouldn't have liked to eat in it!) Actual decor must have been wonderful when first done but could now do with being retouched here and there. General funkiness of the Hotel and the friendly staff made the stay a lot of fun but the cleanliness lets it down

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Ninja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Booked the Absolute Love room and was disappointed.
Not a cheap room and was expecting something worthy of the price.
Small room with huge bed.
basic bath/shower room and expected more.
No access to balcony as bed blocks windows.
Cold room on arrival never got much warmer.

Breakfast was good ... but limited fruit juice.
Good location but would appreciate a discount on the parking as only NCP available.
Would not recommend it as a romantic break and I am sure Brighton has better to offer at a more reasonable price.

Photo mkaes room look so much more romantic than it actually is.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — look around for better accomadation in Brighton
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank BFP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,041 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Property: Hotel Pelirocco
Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing