We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks can be deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“looks can be deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

My partner and i decided to book at hotel Pelirocco after seeing some excellent reviews on trip advisor, it looked like a boutique hotel with a 'twist'.The hotel was effectively a guest house with a paint job, which was several years old.The people running the hotel are charming and friendly but sadly their attitude was let down by a sub-standard and dirty room. We had chosen the absolute love room and were expecting a smart, stylish and funky hotel room as one would imagine as this is what the website promotes. However what greeted us was a creaking floor, loose underfoot, a door that did not lock properly and a stale stagnant smell lingering in the room and corridor. The centre piece of the room is an impressive king size bed, the bed stead and base of the bed was velvet but stained, torn and dirty, ...very dirty,the lamp shades both had burn holes in them and there were used sweet wrappers on the floor. The 'nice touch' smarties in the room were boxes that seemed re-used and one box was three quarters empty. The overall impression you are left with was that this room had had several parties in it over the years and not really been cleaned, the hotel is in major need of a refurb, upon noticing all of this we checked out within the hour. In defense to the hotel the bathroom although very basic was clean. We then headed to Drakes which cost us £5 per night more and the difference is tantamount to departing from Tel aviv and landing in St. Tropez.

  • Disliked — smell & cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavinsmithEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    213
    60
    47
    29
See reviews for
33
458
65
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We booked a birthday weekend and a much needed break from our 3 young children. The hotel was fantastic and just what we needed. The staff are so friendly and laid-back. We loved it. The Bloody Mary breakfast in bed was much needed for our huge hangovers! We ended up drinking in the hotel bar until 5am!

It's not for the faint-hearted nor blue rinse brigade but we had a really really had a fab time. We can't wait to go back. (if you like Banners in Crouch End, you'll love it).

  • Liked — The bloody mary, the amazing staff and not a child in sight!
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sizzlechest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAth, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

My partner and I went to Brighton to celebrate his 30th and to see Ricky Gervais's new stand up. We stay in the "Pussy" Room at the hotel and had a wonderful stay. The room was clean and funky with a fab view of the square and the sea. The bar was great and some very likeminded guests sat up with us drinking in the playstation bar until the wee hours!!!

What hosts. Oh yeah breakfats was great too, the chef did resemble Jesus a little!?!

Cheers guys x x

  • Liked — The Smarties in the room instead of boring biscuits!!!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SammyBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Even though we were squeezed into the smallest attic room (Bowery Room) on a hot summer weekend, we had a great time at this hotel.

The staff are genuinely laid back, but friendly and helpful. The bar plays great music and is open til very late.

All the decor is really funky, although our room was showing some signs of wear and tear (fur fabric doesn't age very well).

The breakfast, consumed through the fog of a monumental hangover, was marvellous, and we particularly appreciated the offer of cocktails with breakfast. Also, there is a 'late check-out' option, for those of you who get carried away with the bar facilities.

There was nothing to complain about here, I'd happily return here any time!

  • Liked — Hip decor, but no hipper-than-thou attitudes
  • Disliked — Room was very small, but we are also quite small, so we were happy.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BippyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We recently stayed during the August bank holiday weekend. We had the room dedicated to Bettie Page - it was all in the best possible taste including the handcuffs! The decor looked as though it had been refreshed and the view across Regency Square and to the sea was marvelllous. The staff were first class and couldn't have been more heplful.

It was occassionally noisy in the early hours but that's part of Brighton's busy nightlife.

  • Liked — Something different and great location
  • Disliked — scruffy bedcovers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaSerriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Pelirocco for one night for my boyfriends birthday, it was quite a stretch on price as we had the Play Room but when we got there we was not disappointed! The bar although quite small, is really well decorated with blacks and pinks and full of funky lighting and old pictures across the walls. Breakfast was freshly made and although the website simply says 'Full english' you could actually choose between a variety of options including smoked salmon scrambled eggs, cinnamon toast, cereal and fruits etc.

The room itself lived up to the hype on the website. Spread across 3 rooms it was spacious and prettty much every detail had been thought of. With a large plunge bath and monsoon showers, his and hers sinks, a large plasma and ps2 and an 8ft round bed! The lounge and bedroom had mood lighting throughout and there was even a small box of smarties on each tea cup!

I would definetly go back to the hotel, at times the service wasn't always the speediest but it was so unique and special you really cant complain - i will definetly be going back!

  • Liked — Its uniqueness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SCH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Oz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

Positives: the place has character, is in great location, the breakfast is AWESOME, staff are great, bed is comfy and sheets are clean.
Negatives: whilst the rooms have spunk, they are a bit tacky eg. the plastic flowers on the curtains in the Pin-up Parlour are held on by safety pins which are highly visible, the fabrics are starting to look worn, I think it's too expensive for what you get

  • Liked — themed room, breakfast
  • Disliked — tiny stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feralgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Property: Hotel Pelirocco
Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing