We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very brighton”
Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very brighton”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a great stay here. My friend was over from the States for a gig at Black Lion and we were travelling from birmingham. I wanted somewhere different for him to stay. He stayed in the Rough Trade room and for a single room it was really spacious. He's a vinyl addict so this seemed the perfect choice. We had the Bowry room on the top floor which is def 'cosy'. It was very warm in there but it's on the top floor so to be expected and I cannot stand cold so it was fine for me - also the windows opened so no problems there. The only downside was the distance between the rooms - ground floor and top but that was our choice of rooms.
Booking via email (Dan) was easy, friendly and on checking in we were given all the info we needed (he even tel the lock up car park and booked it on arrival for us as I'd forgotten - much appreciated.).
It's located very close to the front and a quick walk through the side roads at the back brings you out at the shopping area.
Unfortunately the bar was fairly quiet that weekend so the atmosphere wasn't as upbeat as I would have liked. Having read other reviews since, I regret not inviting the DJs and a few friends back to hotel for drinks!!!
The bed was lovely, comfy and warm, the room clean and the bathroom small but adequate.
If you like retro, quirks, art and alternative places to stay, you'll love it. The stairs are quite steep but that's the nature of original features in the building, nd there's lot's to look at to break the 'journey'. The lift is a 2 person lift and very retro - it's great. We do like to stay in slightly offbeat places when the budget allows. We were kindly allowed to book one night (saturday) when they have/had a 2night booking policy so that was appreciated. We'd def stay again in a different room for a different experience. It's not a place for the straight laced but if you're into music, appreciate a bit of retro and kitsch together with seaside humour, you'll appreciate here. It's very Brighton

Room Tip: look on the website to choose your room and look at the locations if more than one room for your gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshalLawLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    225
    63
    47
    30
See reviews for
39
485
70
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for one night with my other half and had a very amusing night, quirky place with tons of character and friendly and kind staff.
Definitely a B&B, not a hotel, our themed room, whilst very funny, was very tired with cracked furniture, dim lighting, sagging bed and a bathroom in need of some serious TLC.
We wouldn't stay again however we thoroughly enjoyed our time, probably helped by their brilliant cocktail range that we loved sampling and the local restaurants close to the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nookie room, definitely tailored towards open minded couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch11111122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for my 21st birthday and had the most fantastic time - the decor of the hotel will certainly leave a lasting impression, particularly in the bar area. The staff are helpful and friendly, which helps add to the laid back atmosphere.
Location is fantastic with everything you need really close by, including the sea front and west pier. The breakfasts are lovely, as are the drinks served at the bar. Everything was very clean and overall fantastic service (particularly from the hotel manager, Mark).
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstephensonpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good hotel good view of sea and the west pier with a reasonable priced car park over the road beach town and good restaurants all within easy strolling distance nice breakfast friendly welcoming staff nice themed rooms for a romantic break ...

Room Tip: All rooms have a different theme so check their website ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Quirky is a word that most reviewers use to describe this place and its bang on. It is creative and clever, unusual but also peculiar. The staff are lovely, the bar area is great and full of interesting people, cocktails really nice (apart from ice machine broken) The decor is refreshingly individual and i loved the different themed rooms concept. I hate to be picky and critical as I did love the atmosphere but the entrance was shabby, the outside needs repaint, beds need replacing, the ensuite was miniscule and dated, some powerpoints weren't working, the carpet was tired, the walls need repapering everywhere. Breakfast service was very slow, no cappuccino cos the coffee machine was broken but the poached eggs were perfect and the staff made up for any niggles so I would recommend this place overall. With updated decor give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Pretty vacant is a very big room on top floor (less people pass your room so more private) with love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshipperDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

If you're ever visiting Brighton and want to stay centrally and conveniently then choose this place. The cocktails and service are amazing and the rooms are wicked. Check out the play room if you want some fun after a few cocktails in the bar. The team here will ensure you have a great time and being a Brightonian myself, this is what Brighton is all about and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cheeky_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I spent my 50th birthday weekend with family and friends and we chose to stay at the Pelirocco.
What a brilliant choice
The hotel was quirky and fun. The décor was perfect. To be honest I felt like a student again - wonderful
The staff were great and the bar was excellent and stayed open until 4am. Usually not a consideration but it gave us all the chance to keep celebrating together until totally shattered
The coffee is excellent
We stayed in the Stoli room and it was perfect. The bed really comfortable and the temperature was perfect - not too hot
We will definitely return here the first chance we get

Room Tip: The Stoli room is a good size and good temperature. Bed King size and very comfortable. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picaroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Property: Hotel Pelirocco
Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing