We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rock'n'roll hotel with a great location”
Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First of all, this place is different. If you prefer chain hotel of the Hilton/Marriott type, this one ain't for you. Every room at the Pelirocco has a different theme linked to music and we found it so inspiring - ours was the mod room with half a scooter for a night table. Pretty cool! There was quite a bit of partying at night so if you're after peace and quiet, better find somewhere else but if you like character(s), this is perfect. Breakfast is made to order so not great if you're in a hurry but if you're on a lazy weekend, who cares about waiting a little longer? Location is awesome - a 15 minute walk from the station and the main shopping and restaurant streets, in a really pretty square. We enjoyed it and it's a hotel we won't forget any time soon. Word of caution: Not good for kids or people with noise sensitivity.

Room Tip: Use the website to spot a cool room that suits your taste in music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Skylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 898 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here last October with my daughter. I had gone to London to visit her and had booked the trip to Brighton as a surprise.
The hotel is really Quirky. All The rooms have different themes. The rooms are lovely and clean. The weather in Brighton was awful, but the hotel was lovely and Warm.
We had the nicest breakfast ever on the morning of our departure. Probably not for people looking for a quiet hotel.
Staff were lovely and friendly. Hotel is in a great location . Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eils211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from a terrific fun weekend in Brighton. But we probably chose the wrong hotel, strongly influenced by the great reviews on trip advisor. I suggest you read the hotels own site before booking and if you want to party it should suit you.

The Good things:
Location: Regency Square is very pretty and convenient for the sea front, not far from the lanes, pier and the Brighton Centre, which we were going to for the Rat Pack show.
The cocktails: lots to try on the menu and reasonably priced.
Themed rooms are quite good fun, ours was light and a reasonable size.
Staff were responsive to my request to check out why the shower didnt drain, and it was fixed.
Parking, which is at a premium in Brighton, is easy in nearby Regency Square car park, cost us £45 for two and half days which is typical for the area.

Not so good.
In our room ("Ophelia Fancy", lingerie themed) the funky decor masks a basic tiredness with the fittings; our bed was saggy, shower inadequate (wall heater style and cramped) really not conducive to the sensual theme suggested by the various saucy brochures for extra products.
It would be fine for couples who tear each others clothes off and throw them aside on the cheap carpet in the heat of passion, as there are no cupboards to put them in (though there is a rail)

Staff are friendly but at check in there was just one guy doing reception, telephone and making cocktails, so to say he was a bit pushed was putting it mildly.

One of our group of four is a real cocktail fan so we were keen to sample several; we were glad we did so before we went out for the evening because when we got back a private party was in full swing in the bar, which is the only reception area, and there was no chance of a quiet drink, nor having cocktails mixed and really not much hope of getting in the bar at all. Same the following night- the staff did say that their own website makes this clear, hence my suggestion to read it!!

Brighton on a bank holiday weekend is a pretty busy place and the partying locally goes on well into the night. Though the hotel party stopped around mid night, the street behind the hotel has one or two very lively bars which evidently carry on till 4.00 or so. Nothing to do with the hotel of course but something to bear in mind with this location- terrific if you plan to be out partying, ok if like me you sleep through anything, not so good for early to bed light sleepers.

As our rate didn't include breakfast (though a not unreasonable £9.50 for buffet style including fruit etc and cooked items) we decided to go out for that; I wholeheartedly recommend the Regency restaurant two minutes walk along the square and with the added bonus of sea views. We had a good dinner there too.

The room rate was reasonable and the staff are friendly.

We did n't think we were old fogeys before we went but, even though we went on the funfair and enjoyed broadening our horizons at the Ladyboys cabaret, we were probably wrong! So just make sure you are the right clientele before booking and I hope you enjoy.

Room Tip: I would opt for front room for better outlook and first or second floor; fourth floor attic rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Pelirocco for one night over the may bank holiday weekend. We have stayed at the Pelirocco several times over the last 10 years or so, but had not been there for some time. We had a great stay, and had forgotten how friendly and funky this little gem of a hotel is. If you want top luxury or corporate style hotels, this would not be for you, but if you want affordable funky chic which is very "Brighton", and individual rooms, not to mention a fab breakfast (served to us in our room for no extra cost) then you should check it out.
We were in Betty's Boudoir, which had a lovely sea view and balcony, and a very comfy bed and jacuzzi bath. Looking forward to coming back soon. We loved the singstar kareoke room and had a lot of fun in there!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spending two nights in Brighton for work recently, I was bored of the regular budget hotels, and I was able to secure a single room for two nights for about the same as a Premier Inn.
When I arrived on a sunday evening, there was a poetry and spoken word event happening in the hotel's bar, which made me think I had chosen the right sort of place. After kindly allowing me to lock my bike inside their karaoke lounge, I went straight to my reggae themed single room.

Despite being pretty small (what would you expect for a single?) the room was adequately equipped and furnished and I enjoyed reading the little bits of information about the room, and particularly enjoyed the bespoke wallpaper which had prints of Lee 'Scratch' Perry repeated, and a Myers Rum styled lampshade.

The breakfasts were lovely, and I was attended to by the very lovely and courteous staff who also gave me information on how to cycle to my destination!

Despite being a 'work' trip, the hotel was ideally placed to head out into Brighton and there were a number of restaurants on the street directly behind the hotel to choose from, plus it's a matter of a 2 minute walk to get to the beach (although the sub-zero conditions meant my trip to the beach lasted approximately 2minutes)

Would definitely stay here again on work or holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamK523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've wanted to stay at Hotel Pelirocco FOREVER and we booked for one night on a lastminute whim during some time off after our wedding.
Luckily it didn't disappoint, the room is HUGE, light and just as pictured - okay when you're there in reality you do the see the DIY element to the decor/ furniture etc but I like that, it's what makes it quirky and unique and is echoed in the bar, stairwells etc - too much to look at!
As we were in Brighton such a short time we didn't end up having breakfast or using the bar as we were out and about but all seemed good and staff were friendly.
Literally the only slight criticism I could make is that a decadent room like that should have a great bathroom and just comes with a tiny non-themed shower room - still it was clean and functional so not a complaint in any way. Great location will def be returning for longer

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are looking for a unique place in Brighton to stay, then the Pelirocco is the place for you. Each of the rooms are decorated according to a specific theme – we stayed in the Pin-up Parlour which was very decadent and based on the layout of Diana Dors’ boudoir. We used a voucher from KGB to get a great deal on the stay. This included a discounted rate for the room, free breakfast, a complimentary cocktail each and an hour session on Sing Star. At the price we paid it was great value.

The hotel has a really laid back feel to it, with very friendly staff and a funky bar downstairs where breakfast is served in the morning. Both the veggie and pork sausages were of a very high quality and sourced locally.

If we were to be critical about any aspect of our experience then the one thing that lacked pizazz was the bathroom. It was a bit on the small side and bland in comparison to the bedroom.

For somewhere truly original, and barely a stones’ throw from the sea front, then look no further.

Room Tip: The pin-up parlour has a view on to an attractive square and the sea. The room is a good size and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red_engine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,093 reviews
1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,042 reviews
0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing