We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, fun as a one off”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Different, fun as a one off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were given a Time Out Unusual Escapes Voucher and decided to use it at the Pelirocco. We were given the Diana Dors Room which is a large double at the front with a pleasant sea view from the chaise longue. The room is full of DD pictures with gold sparkly wallpaper and light green paint. Lovely big comfortable bed and rather small bathroom. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and reasonable TV. The hotel bar is quirky (you have breakfast in here) and cocktails are the thing to enjoy. It's all rather OTT but in a fun way. The staff are lovely and Amy managed to tell us that there would be a party in the bar in the most charming way - she also hosted us extremely well for half an hour whilst we waited to go out for dinner. I got the feeling that this was how the staff are. The hotel breakfast was excellent, fresh melon and pineapple with very good full English and plenty of coffee. This is the only meal they do but within 50 metres, in Preston Street just round the corner, is Casalingo, a superb Italian restaurant (see separate reviews). We are both around 60 and we had a really enjoyable time - only go if you are up for something different and willing to get in to the spirit of the place. If you are then it is fun.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    213
    60
    47
    29
See reviews for
33
458
65
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The perfect overnight stay - lovely people, spacious room (Dollywould), really comfy & cosy bed, good well-priced breakfast. All very easy and uncomplicated. Great location too. I will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Caro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here midweek. I got a very good deal via hotels.com. I booked a single and was originally given the sputnik room. I have to say it was very cell like, dire and a bit stinky. Luckily I was able to more to the Rough Trade Records room. This is an accessible room so it is quite large. I appreciated the space. The bed was comfy and the room was nice and warm. So much so I opened the window. Great location on Regency Square. All the cool neighborhoods are within a 15 to 20 minute easy walk. Would stay again.

Room Tip: avoid the sputnik.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gretagretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

a friend and I stayed here last sat night, we both stayed in single rooms.
we had a lovely time, the staff were very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
I will be staying again next time im in town. I also left my watch behind which is being posted back to me, as I said nothing was too much trouble for them. very satisfied customer.

Room Tip: if you are a large person you will not fit in the shower in the sputnik room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I thought this hotel was fab. If you're looking for something a little unusual and fun, this is the hotel for you.
We stayed from Sunday to Monday and were placed in the Rockabilly room. The room was fab - very bright and full of character. Also toasty warm (extra heaters had been placed in the room before our arrival) and very clean.

The useable jukebox was a great touch - great selection of of "rock n roll" style music. Also got 2 Curly Wurlys with our tea and milk in the room :-)
The only thing I would mention is that the shower is pretty small, and also the shower head may be far too low for taller people. My boyfriend is 6ft 1, and he had to duck under the shower head to get his hair wet! The water pressure and everything else was spot on though.

We had the "express" style breakfast as this was included in the deal we had purchased (normally costs £5 pp), and was an egg/bacon/sausage sandwich, or a selection of fresh fruit & cereal. Lastly, the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

I would definitely stay here again as the hotel was something totally different to the norm, and the location was perfect for strolling to the shops or nearby restaurants. The only thing that may put us off returning is the cost, as a one night stay is not particularly cheap, unless you're able to grab a voucher of course.

Brill stay overall :-)

Room Tip: The hotel is very small, so I dont think it would matter where you were situated in terms of noise l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having stayed in hundreds of hotels for business it was a breath of fresh air to stay in a privately run, friendly hotel where the staff seem genuinely happy to have you there and wanted you to have a good time. We were married on the Friday and arrived at the Pelirocco on the Sunday. When the staff found out we were newly-weds we were immediately upgraded to a superior double room which we absolutely loved. It was so refreshing to stay somewhere that wasn't your usual bland, boring hotel. Great nights sleep and a great breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior Double has sea views and a jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_Donna_Ingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fabulous, Stayed in Room 18 on a weekend visit to The Brighton Museum and the BIBA exibition. Despite the wild, windy and wet weather, the room was toasty warm, quiet (on the top floor) clean and Different! A lovely view of the Sea, and sea front lights after dark. Flat screen TV, REN products in the bathroom, Curly Wurly bars and Art Deco furniture. Good WIFI and Mobile phone signal (Oh Joy). All the staff were helpful and jolly.Travel Lodge this is not!

Room Tip: Room 18 on 4th floor is very quiet. There is a small lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Property: Hotel Pelirocco
Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing