We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, very noisy”
Review of Hotel Pelirocco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pelirocco
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My fiancee had booked this for my birthday - I felt gutted for him, was not at all what was expected, especialy for the £349 per night price tag
Check-in was meant to be from 3pm, we arrived at 3.20pm, room not ready and had to wait 30mins - we were offered a drink while we waited - and had to pay for it !!!
Eventually got to the room, and were very disappointed, black mildew on the walls, toilet broken, and the sofa in the sitting area had several tears in it
But worse than that - once we got to bed, the noise from the bar could be heard (it was so load it felt as though the people were in our room!) - this went on until gone 4am !
To cap it all, we booked breakfast in our room for 10am - eventually arrived just before 11am, after we chased them ! Breakfast was OK, although only one slice of toast between the two of us !
When we checked out - they didnt ask what we thought of our stay - I think they knew the answer they might get :(
Very disapointed, and a shame when you travel for 3 and a half hours for a weekend away !

Room Tip: Be aware that if in a room near the bar you will be kept awake until 4am !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DH_Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 879 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really enjoyed the hotel. The bar is a good place to be, the cocktails varied and tasty, prices reasonable and the breakfast was copious, tasty and served with a smile. The hotel is known for its funky room decoration and we weren't disappointed.
The only negatives concern the rickety windows (boy, do they rattle in the wind, and you hear every word pronounced by passers-by up to 200 metres away), and the rather primitive bathroom. The tiny shower space was just about okay for me but I'm sure the very plump customer I saw at breakfast that morning could not possibly have squeezed herself in there. Or have escaped if ever she managed to wedge herself in! Modernise the bathrooms and I'll happily return.
The hotel has many rooms with a sea-view and is located opposite the ruins of the old West pier, for those who see where that is. Just steps away from the Brighton Centre, Grand Hotel, etc. And only five minutes from the Lanes. Oh, no parking facilities, which was a drag, especially seeing that the nearby car-park was closed. So I picked up a hefty fine. Always a bit of a dampener.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Hotel Pelirocco desperately tries to prove its cool credentials at every turn but, like an individual who endlessly proclaims ‘look at me, aren’t I different?!’, this constant assertion of what a unique and funky hotel it believes itself to be feels hysterical and tired within the first few minutes of arrival.

The reception area (if one could be obliging enough to term a tiny, bright pink hallway with a usually unmanned hatch, this) sets the tone for your stay: it’s seedy, impractical and shabby, very much without the chic. A trip up the narrow staircase, past the supposedly eclectic (read, random) collection of ‘cool’ pictures, furthers this impression: generally poor quality vaguely rock themed images alongside student signage, including hilarious gems like ‘Stand Clear of the Wh*res’, suggest that the hotel has been decorated by a teenage boy who thinks overt-vulgarity makes him really grown up and impressive.

Sex too is in your face here, from the ‘flagship suite’ The Playroom, complete with pole-dancing pole; to the vibrating c*ck-ring selection in the bar toilets; to the sex toy menu in every room. Surely, one might question, if a sex toy was an important feature of your weekend you would have brought your own with you, rather than turning up on the off-chance that your hotel might provide a delivery service! But this is all part of the Pelirocco’s manufactured image: ‘oh, isn’t it naughty?!’ one is clearly supposed to cry, while feeling ever-so wild and open-minded. And here the hotel has the perfect, in-built defence to any criticism: if you don’t like it you’re what a previous reviewer termed ‘part of the blue rinse brigade’. However, I would argue that if you and your partner are having a genuinely ‘dirty weekend’ then you don’t need a hotel providing props; letting you know you’re on the right track, and facilitating you metaphorically shouting about all the sex you’re having by providing a sex themed suite- you just get on and have it! Surely the reminder that other people too have had sex, or enjoyed one of the lovely devices on offer, right where you’re now doing it does little to enhance the experience.

Many of the comforts one might expect from a hotel (a reception desk; a wardrobe or chest of drawers to unpack into; friendly staff; a shower with a vague modicum of temperature control; a breakfast room; heating that doesn’t oscillate between not being on at all, to being on full-blast; tourist information; soundproofing in a downstairs bar that serves until 4am at weekends) are clearly far too bourgeois for the Pelirocco and the hotel exudes the air that we, their guests, should consider ourselves lucky to have escaped these horrors because isn’t it fun to hang your clothes on a rail like you did when you were a student?! And isn’t it great to eat your breakfast in a bar, perched on uncomfortable stools counting the different types of wallpaper adorning the walls in that charmingly conflicting way?! Erm, no, not really. Not when you’re not eighteen years old. Not when you’ve paid the same price as you would for a 4*, or even for some rooms 5*, hotel. Not when perhaps, dare I be boring enough to say, you might want a little bit of comfort from the place you are sleeping in. And that is the essence of the Pelirocco’s message: if you want a comfortable room with a design that is actually practical, well-kept and visually pleasing then you miss the whole point of their wonderfully bohemian enterprise. And I am proud to say that I did miss this point.

The hotel is certainly cleverly marketed and very pleased with the image that it has created, yet I would venture to say that at the heart of this bohemian gem that ‘saves’ its guests from the horror of a hotel chain, lurks a very clever consumerist. After all, in addition to the extortionate price you have already paid for very poor quality, you can give the hotel even more money by buying merchandise (Hotel Pelirocco knickers – really?!); artwork or even paying someone to dress you up and take photos of you in the rooms. This ‘hotel’ really makes me feel depressed and it goes without saying that I will not be going anywhere near this sordid, tawdry hole of a place again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Leah-Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We tarted in the play room which was huge and extravagent. the bath was excellent and the shower was an experience itself. we had our own court yard and reception area which was great for entertaining our friends later on!
the bed, apart from being huge, was very comfortable. the mirrored ceiling was good fun as was the pole!
this room had everything you needed down to an iron and tea, top class.
the staff are the main feature of this hotel, really personable and helpful, the bar area is great in the evening. not too loud and very cool with a really laid back ambience making for the perfect Pre drink (or the whole evening out if you are like us!). In the morning the bar becomes a beautiful place for breakfast. service is excellent and the breakfasts are as good as anything else out here, an experience itself.
if you go to the pelirocco you will defiantly fall in live with it and return.
perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samashford76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Enjoyed my stay in the Pressure Sounds themed room with the Lee Scratch Perry wallpaper. Room is small but clean and has everything needed for a short stay.

The whole place has rock and roll feel, including the cool little bar with Yazoo and Smiths photos.

Good breakfast of cereal, juice and cooked options (including a nice veggie breakfast). Service was a little slow but that's just something to bear in mind if you're in a hurry rather than a complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here with a wowcher offer, so didn't pay full price. And I couldn't have justified the price had we had to pay the full whack. However based on the price we paid, it was a lovely place to stay. Bed was very comfy, room was spacious, bathroom was clean. Room was a bit cold when we arrived, but the electric heater soon warmed it up. Breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the Hotel Pelirocco. The themed room, Dolly Parton for us, made such a difference launching the hotel into quirky to say the least. The sea views were amazing and the staff so friendly and helpful. Curly wurlys in the room a nice touch too,been a long time since had one of those!The bar area is so cool and decorated with musical paraphenalia. It was lovely to have a veggie breakfast.The location is fab,,so close to the town,will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Sea view highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginpinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.0 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelirocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelirocco

Address: 10 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brighton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $108 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelirocco 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelirocco is Brighton's original boutique hotel with 19 individually themed rooms inspired by maverick musicians, inspiring individuals and popular sub-cultures. Complete with late night cocktail, private karaoke lounge and frequent live music and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pelirocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelirocco Hotel Brighton
Boutique Hotel Pelirocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing