We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The weather was dreadful but that did not matter as the 21 was so good. Welcoming, friendly, room great, bed comfortable, super vegetarian breakfast and the cleanest place we have ever stayed! What more is there to say - except we will definitely be back and try it for yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runandhobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,821 - 1,827 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

The warmest of welcomes awaits you at The Twenty One. Andy and Matt are the perfect hosts and by the end of our stay we felt as though we had known them for years. Our room, No. 8, was beautifully decorated, spotless and very comfortable. It was our anniversary and Andy and Matt had left us a box of Thorntons chocolates and a card, such a kind gesture which was much appreciated - as were the little muffins we found in our room the next day! The B&B is perfectly situated for all that Brighton has to offer, the Lanes, the Pier and the restaurants. We can highly recommend the Sopar Thai Restaurant - their food was equalled by their friendliness. A visit to GinGin for a cocktail or three is a must - try the Coco Colada or the GinGin Palace!!! We are already planning our return visit to The Twenty One and can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

You have to go to check that it's as good as people say .... and it is. Matt and Andy had thought of lots of extras to make the stay more enjoyable and relaxing. Great breakfasts, good recommendations for eating places/places to visit and the hotel resident parking vouchers for £5 a day were useful too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MariaCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Matt & Andy were kind & welcoming, and genuinely nice guys. The room was lovely, the breakfast was lovely, the place was immaculately clean. It was like staying on a cloud in heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Matt and Andy cannot do enough to make your visit enjoyable. From the moment we arrived, our every need was catered for. Our room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The tea tray was loaded with goodies. A fridge contained complimentary water, replenished every day. The breakfast was better than the 2* michelin hotel/spa where I stayed recently! These guys are seriously good at looking after their guests! I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JELLYPOOCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Had a lovely 4 night stay at this B&B with my girlfriend. Matt and Andy were very friendly and helpful, beautiful room and amazing breakfasts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingLibrarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Have just returned from a two night stay at The Twenty One .This place beats any B and B I've ever stayed in. As said in other reviews the service is perfect, so friendly and informative on arrival. Great restaurant recommendations, we had a lovely Thai meal at "Sopar" at the end of Charlotte Street. Rooms were beautifully decorated and clean (we stayed in room 5). Bathrobes, slippers, kit kats, complimentary mineral water, dvd player, ipod dock, we couldn't have asked for more in the room. The breakfast selection is excellent and the owners made us feel right at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catspyjamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,342 reviews
0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $105 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing