We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the 21”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the 21”
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I stayed at The 21 with several friends, Matt and Andy made us so welcome and the standard of accomodation was excellent. There are some great restaurants nearby and we were in walking distance of all the fab shops! I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Matt and Andy couldn't be more helpful
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlsBillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
189
1,425
136
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

It was so refreshing to be met by such friendly and helpful owners.The room had a contempary decor which was of a high standard. This is guesthouse punching way above what you normally would expect. When I return to Brighton I will stay here again assuming they have a vacant room!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — 3rd Floor no lift.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We have just returned from a girls reunion weekend staying at The Twenty-One, and I just wanted to let everyone know that all the great reviews are true!
Amazingly personal service with the owners always on hand with restaurant recommendations and ideas of places to go/things to see/etc.
Plus the full English breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, and the choice of breakfast cereals was a very pleasant suprise.
Nothing was too much trouble, and even when I accidently broke a part off our shower (fantastic power showers by the way), it was magically mended about three hours later, with no questions and no mess.
All in all the best B and B I have ever stayed in!

  • Liked — the owners and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alysanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Booked this place out of curiousity after reading rave reviews on Trip Advisor. It definitely exceeded our expectations - the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, and pretty quiet. Matt and Andy are very welcoming and shared lots of tips on what to see in Brighton & suggested great restaurants and bars. They also cooked up a wonderful breakfast each morning!

Would definitely stay here again next time we return to Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedgehog1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We went to the Twenty One for my 30th Birthday. Not only did Matt and Andy make us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived but the gifts, card and balloon just made our stay extra special. The hotel is faultless, very clean, very cosy and very friendly.
Nothing seems to be to much trouble for the lovely hosts.
We will definately be coming back to see our new friends!
Jess and Kelly

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jessbarnes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed at The Twenty One a couple of weeks ago and haven't stopped raving about it since. Matt and Andy were amazing - attentive, generous with their time and full of great suggestions for restaurants and places to go. They made our 5th anniversary incredibly special. The Hotel is gorgeous with everything you could want. Thank you so much for a lovely time - we can't wait to come back!

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Unitd Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

I have just come back from two nights at the Twenty One. My husband and I had a double room and my mum had the single room. From the moment we arrived Matt and Andy were fantastic. Unfortunately my mum had left some of her medical equipment at home and started worrying as I was not with her at the time and Matt and Andy put her at ease straight away and helped her until I arrived.

The accomodation was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and as for the breakfast that was so filling I didn't need to eat anything until the afternoon.

I would definately recommend anyone to stay there. It is away from the noise of the Brighton nightclubs and pubs but within easy walking distance. I would definately stay there again on my next visit to Brighton.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing everything was perfect
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurat-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,186 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing