We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its very best”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its very best”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just back from a stay at The Twenty One and we can only echo the stunning reviews that have already been submitted. The place is beautiful, tasteful, spotlessly clean and the welcome from Matt and Andy is heartily warm without being over bearing. We were met with a very welcome cuppa and a chat about the places we might like see/eat at, etc, and were provided with a helpful map.

We stayed in room 4. It is the smallest room, we knew this when booking and this is reflected fairly in the price. It is small but perfectly formed. Sumptuously decorated and the complimentary tray should have the tag line "if Carlsberg did complimentary trays...." Rocky Road, iPad, iPod dock, flat screen tv, spotless....need I go on?? The amenities are well thought out: an iron and ironing board on standby, a dvd library, a normal kettle in the room (not one of those silly travel things), big mirrors, a good hair dryer with a long lead in front of the mirror (so no need for stretching and craning of necks to dry your hair!). Lovely bathroom, great shower, nice toiletries and good quality toilet paper (a small but imperative detail!)

The breakfasts are sublime, plentiful, fresh fruit, wam croissants, fresh juice, fab sausages and not a soggy mushroom in sight. Matt and Andy needed to be complimented, in these hard times a lot of people would cut corners to reduce costs but they are obviously passionate to support local business, and while it may cost a little more they are maintaining a great ethos. So nice to see people who seem to care so much that their guests have a good time. Matt and Andy are just lovely decent people and this shines through in their business.

A gem of a place and 100% worthy of its number one ranking. Thanks to you both for a great stay (& the birthday chocs, a touching & a much appreciated surprise)!
We hope to see you again soon
Mel & Billy
(Rated the pool and fitness suite by accident and it won't let me uncheck it now, apologies!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,049
    29
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
179
1,399
133
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had a lovely 1 night last-minute stay at the Twenty One during the week.

Matt and Andy were wonderful hosts - as soon as I arrived, they helped out with maps of the city, suggestions of where to go etc. and offered drinks.

The breakfast was amazing (so huge!) and my single room (while small) had everything I could need.

It's in a great spot near Kemp Town with heaps of restaurants and cafes nearby, and is only a 5 minute stroll down to the wheel and the pier. I caught the train from London, and walked from the station to the B&B - consider doing this if you don't have much luggage, it's a lovely stroll through the North Laines and along the beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we had a 2 night stay but wish it was longer. Matt and Andy could not be most hospitable, from the time we arrived (late) nothing was too much trouble. The rooms, both public and private were really clean with plenty of tea, coffee and nibbles. Breakfast was astonishing we had a meat and cheese platter (ample for 2) and a full "sussex" with all local supplies with the freshest eggs possible,stunning sausages and smoked bacon. Should you need to stay in Brighton then look no further STAY here as we shall do again soon. thanks guys for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy42_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Please stay at The Twenty One.

This place is absolutely fabulous.

From the moment we walked though the door, we were welcomed with a smile. We were offered a seat and refreshments, no, not just tea but, a lovely glass of wine or a cool lager, fruit juice or fizzy drink etc,, Never happened in any B&B I have stayed in, except, a 5 Star Hotel abroad!

The interiors are beautifully decorated and our facilities were spotlessly clean, not just on arrival, which, is really important to me. (Stayed 4 nights) We loved room 8 because it was a good size and stylish. First time visit, so cannot speak for the other rooms.

Nothing was too much trouble for Matt & Andy, they provided us with wonderful breakfasts and were absolutely charming.

Would I stay here again, OH YES!!!!!

Andy and Matt, Keep up your very high standards and you will continue going for even more years.

Thank you so much.

Hetty

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in Room 8, this is at the top! But, well worth the walk and you will burn calori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Once again we have had an outstanding break with Matt and Andy at the Twenty One. We have travelled alot but this is our favourite place to stay. Everything is perfect from th initial reception to the wonderful room to the fabulous breakfast.....nothing is too much bother.
If you fancy five star treatment choose the Twenty One

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

An incredible little gem in the heart of Brighton. We had the most amazing couple of days in Brighton with a warm welcome from Matt and Andy making our stay really special. We had room 6 which was beautifully decorated and a welcome tray with endless snacks/tea/coffee/chocolate etc as well as rocky road cakes beside the bed - never experienced such intimate hospitality. The breakfast was really delicious with loads of choice, fresh fruit/cereal/porridge/cooked breakfast etc. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Room 6 great view of the sea, really sunny and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great find - well done people power on Tripadvisor. Most friendly and genial hosts in a great location. Good breakfasts with fresh fruit and smoothies. One complaint: please no more free chocolate cake in the bedroom- just too tempting!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 93 in Brighton
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing