We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“short stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Brilliant accommodation and owners were great. Rooms were fantastic, great to be offered a free drink before we went out for the evening. Lovely worth every penny and the breakfast was scrumptious. We would have liked to have stayed a bit longer as it was so relaxing. Also its in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
188
1,425
136
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at Twenty One before and would certainly stay there again. The welcome is second to none and customer care is totally on the agenda. I think these guys have thought of every last detail and are always willing to do more to make your stay the best. I would highly recommend this establishment and the guys will tell you the best places to eat, the best places to visit and have always got time for you. Chocolate delights in the room hit the spot for us....we love you Matt and Andy! Will recommend to all our friends and family and will be back soon.
Carole and Robert from Croydon

Room Tip: Look on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Won't repeat all the praise already lavished on this wonderful place to stay. Just to say that it is all true. A very great pleasure to spend time with such lovely people in an amazingly comfortable and beautiful house. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 3 on first floor was perfect, lots of light, plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Twenty one once before and were very impressed and again this time we weren't disappointed. I would (and do) highly recommend a stay here if you're in Brighton. It is close to all the amenities yet also is in a quiet location. Matt and Andy are very accommodating. The bedrooms are very comfortable and well decorated, the breakfasts are fab ( you wont need to eat for the rest of the day) and the Tea tray in the bedroom is the most well stocked ive ever come across. A fab place to stay :-D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everything about this B an B is wonderful - from the warm welcome to the immaculate and beautifully decorated rooms. Matt and Andy have thought of everything - they will talk you through the best places to go and the best places to eat; there are lovely treats in your room to revive you after a day exploring Brighton; and a complimentary glass of wine to enjoy while you are getting ready for a night out on the town. Then a friendly chat over a delcious breakfast when you come down in the morning. We first stayed here 5 years ago and remembered it as being rather lovely then - but the boys have upped their game even further since our first visit and we will be back again very soon.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the jewel in the crown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I spent one night here with my 8 year old daughter, and I am so glad I did. Despite it being a Friday night, there were no road sounds or noisy revellers - things that we had experienced in every other Brighton b and b / hotel. We also couldn't hear neighbours in the other rooms, and it was fully booked.

The hosts are friendly without being intrusive, and did not fawn over my daughter in the way that other places had (putting me in awkward positions with, "is Mummy taking you to the ice rink?" and suchlike). They seemed to read that we were fairly private and solitary people, and respected this.

The room was wonderful. Stylishly inoffensive, scrupulously clean, and more snacks and extra than we could possibly have eaten. An iPad sat perkily on the dressing table, and the wall mounted flat screen TV played DVDs - but although there is a really good stock of choice on the second floor, do bring your own if you have children as there is not much choice for kids.

The (double) shower was lovely - my daughter had to be dragged out of it, and she hates showers. A really lovely touch were the bathrobes and slippers waiting in the cupboard; another delight for an 8 year old (and me). The style of the bedroom and bathroom is tastefully contemporary, and everything looks brand new.

Also, don't let the map location put you off - yes, it is a little off to the right on the map, but you can walk to Choccywoccydoodah's on Middle Street in about 20 minutes, and that's the other side of The Lanes. It's also very close to the beachfront and a small Boots!

It was £44 more expensive than the place we had stayed at the previous night - one of the big, 1700 affairs that belong in Stephen King's "The Shining" - but well worth it and I'm not going to ever bother browsing hotels and B and Bs again - it's always going to be "The Twenty One".

And the toiletries are the type worth taking home...

Room Tip: Room 5 was quiet and had a window overlooking other people's little courtyard gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4francis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just got home from a second lovely stay at the Twenty One and once again couldn't fault anything - a very warm welcome, an almost endless supply of Tunnock's wafers and teacakes, a lovely room with side-on sea view and a perfect breakfast. The #1 rating speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very nice and has a side-on sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,185 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing