We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave Andy and Matt are the perfect hosts.They are welcoming and friendly. Take the time to point out places to visit and provide a very helpful map.
Our room was amazingly comfortable. Every detail obviously thought out so carefully to make you feel at home. The room was spotless. Dressing gowns and slippers provided along with fluffy towels and quality toiletries.The welcome tray was truly scrumptious. A chocco dream in fact.
Now on to the breakfast. A WOW! A choice selection of yummies to tempt and delight. From cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, freshly baked croissant to a full on Sussex breakfast using local produce. There is a veggie option too. Yum.yum.yum. A plentiful supply of extra tea, coffee and toast. Matt and Andy create such a happy atmosphere. It felt like we were staying with old friends.
The Twenty One is an ideal base from which to explore Brighton, but most importantly it is the ideal place to relax at the end of a day getting lost in The Lanes,discovering the delights of the pavilion or checking out the sharks at the Sealife centre.
I'd most certainly recommend a stay with Andy and Matt in their beautiful home. Thank you once again to them both for making us so welcome. We have returned home recharged, relaxed and really looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypop1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
178
1,389
133
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I read a rave review in an English newspaper about The Twenty One saying it had rated the best B & B in England. It was. I booked a stay in #3 there this past September and felt like I was in my own home. Clean, quiet, and the BEST English breakfast I have ever had. I have had a few. My husband, grandson and I have a return trip booked for 2013. Matt and Andy work very hard to accomplish the raves, they are well deserved.

Room Tip: Room 3 was fantastic. Tea, coffee and more treats then you can imagine. Very quiet. Very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

John and I stayed at `The 21` on 19th and 20th October, on a birthday trip to see Joan Rivers at the Brighton Centre. We found the 21 to be just right for our visit, the Guys were welcoming and friendly, even advising us about parking vouchers, and adding them onto the bill, which saved a lot of `faff`!
room was spotless, ans well stocked(possibly a little TOO much chocolate?) with gadgets, and nice quality toiletries. It has to be one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in...such an important point!! The breakfast was superb, with quality local produce, even black pudding!
If I had a criticism, the street on the friday evening was very noisy, and the sound certainly travels!! Apparently the possible addition of double glazing later this year will help. Altogether a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back would obviously be quieter, but did not see any of them, so not sure if they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My GF and I recently returned from 2 night stay at the Twenty One B & B in Brighton which was such a nice, Friendly and professionally run play to stay.

We knew by the tripadvisor reviews we would experience a top B&B and it truly lived up to all the expectation and positive reviews! We met Andy on our Arrival who offered us a drink then talked us through handy tips of places to eat and the local area, while all this was going on Matt took our bags to the room and hung all our clothes for us which again was a surprise but such a nice touch. Andy advised about local places of Interest, Good Restaurants, parts of Brighton we had not ventured to before and even told us about the free complimentary evening drinks free to all staying guests to start their night....I actually didn’t have one but you don’t get that anywhere in this day and age!

We stayed in Room 8 which was very Cosy/Rustic with added touches like the Ipad (Which is such a cool touch and Very handy for looking into Brighton Places of Interest/Restaurants) Tea/Coffee, Extensive Nibbles selection and Fresh Cake for People that like to indulge. The Room was spotless, warm, cosy and better than a lot of Hotel Rooms out there for sure! Beds were made during our stay, we even returned late one evening to more fresh cake (Dangerous! lol) and a reminder the clocks were going back......again simple but makes you feel more than just a paying customer.

Hotel Location is brilliant, 10 mins walk to the Pier, 10 Min Walk to the Shops, Close to Kempton and the Lanes are a short walk away, Great place to Explore Brighton from.

Breakfast both days was fantastic, Fruits/Cereals/Yoghurt/Fresh Croissants available to help yourself with Matt very nicely serving out front and keeping the buzz and humour going for everyone throughout the morning while Andy works his magic in the Kitchen. The Scrambled Egg and Smoked Salmon Bagel (Was honestly Amazing!) and Full English (Great Fry Up) were truly a joy to eat and certainly set us up for the days shopping!!

Overall I would say you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay in Brighton, Matt and Andy are first and foremost very nice people, they understand what it takes to make people feel more than simply paying guests, they are personable, friendly, humorous and know that small things go a long way in their business. They don’t interfere, impose on your stay at all yet quietly go about running a brilliant B & B with lovely accommodation, modern touches and excellent food.

I would and have recommended the Twenty-one to all friends and family and would not hesitate to return here for more future Brighton Trips. I was a pleasure to stay here and long may Andy and Matt continue to do what they are doing cos this is the kind of place people love to stay. Thanks Again for such a Warm Welcome stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Twenty One. We went for my brother-in-law's 50th and Matt and Andy even left a balloon and chocolates in their room! We stayed in rooms 7 & 8 on the top floor which was great for a party of 4 staying together as they have a small landing outside them and so we were able to leave our doors open and no-one else needed to pass by. The personal touch was apparent throughout our stay. The complimentary snack tray was mind blowing and we could have survived on the contents of that alone! Complimentary bottles of water in the fridge and even downstairs along with beers, wine and soft drinks to help ourselves to throughout our stay. Breakfast was amazing and truly delicious!! Soooooooo much choice from the many variety of fruits, cereals, warm croissants and cooked to order options available. The full Sussex was faultless and plentiful! Rooms were spotless, airy and welcoming. Complimentary use of robes and slippers were very welcome after a long day exploring. Matt and Andy provide a fantastic service and lovely home. They are warm and friendly and Matt has a wicked sense of humour! Will certainly be returning and recommending to all our friends. Very close to all attractions/the Lanes and many bars and restaurants. Think it will be hard to find somewhere even half as good in the future. Fabulous!!!

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, opt for a room on the first floor as the stairs do go up and up and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have just arrived home after another perfect week at The Twenty One.
This was our fourth visit, its so good, we stayed for six nights this time, the standard is just as high as ever, it seems to get better, and is very near to perfection.
Matt & Andy really do what all the other reviewers on here say, there is always a lovely warm welcome to a lovely warm house, perfect rooms, with everything you can think of to make your visit perfect provided as part of the deal.
The room tea/coffee trays have to be seen to be believed, it would satisfsy any chocoholic !
Bathroom was great, with a good power shower, tons of fresh towels every day.
Breakfast is a must do, even for us late night lazybones, Andy is a cook worth getting up for, Full Sussex would see most people through the entire day,
but my personal favourite, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon hit the spot every time.
He does a damned good sausage toastie as well !!
There is a very good fresh fruit selection as well, which i enjoyed every day
I dont look for faults, even so, there are non here.
It was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 3 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Warm and welcoming arrival by Matt and Andy. We were meant to be staying in double room 7 but were complementary upgraded to room 6 which was larger. The room was full of little touches i.e. Ipad, bath and shower, mini fridge with water, extras to the normal freebies in the bathroom (shoe shine, mending kit, vanity kit, etc). The breakfast was beautiful with a range of fresh fruit, cereals, jams, followed by warm croissants and an order cooked breakfast. Fresh tea and coffee was on tap. Whilst getting ready of an evening, the offering of a cold glass of wine or beer was provided complimentary by Matt and Andy. Amazing stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing