We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a B&B”
Review of The Twenty One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than just a B&B”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. From the offset we were sat down with a drink and given loads of tips and information on things to see and do whilst in Brighton. The room was immaculately presented and very comfortable. The breakfast choice and quality of food was amazing and plentiful. We were only here for 2 nights but wished we could have stayed longer. This B&B is in an excellent location just off the seafront and everything is within walking distance. They fully deserve their 5 star rating from Trip Advisor and we would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Brighton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdsterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,049
    29
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
179
1,399
133
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I think its all been said! a really, really nice place to stay. Excellent room, excellent food, best service I've ever encountered.We especially appreciated the complimentary bottles of water in the fridge, tucked away in the wardrobe, and the wine glasses - so much nicer than having to use the toothbrush mugs! And the fact that consumables were replenished daily, which is by no means the norm, even in so-called top-quality hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CooperOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for an overnight trip earlier this month with my heavily pregnant wife as a belated birthday celebration. We have stayed at various boutique B+Bs in Brighton and this beat them all hands down. I will not go over all the details mentioned in the other reviews but to say that they are truly representative. The attention to detail is really first class and the standard of decor in the communal and guest areas is superb. Matt and Andy even left a box of chocolates and a card for my birthday- very thoughtful and a nice welcome. Great location for all the attractions and a seaview from our room.
Should be the only choice for a Brighton trip- well done guys!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leicester44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My best friend and I have just spent the weekend at The Twenty One in Brighton to celebrate our 30th birthdays.
Before arriving we already expected something good given the raving reviews! However, the whole experience massively exceeded any expectations. From the welcoming smiles of Matt & Andy to the well needed glass of wine they handed to us after we arrived very late to check in due to being stuck in traffic for forever.
We were later than planned checking in but Matt & Andy were very warm & welcoming, helping us find parking and taking our bags to our room followed by them kindly taking the time to give us a full run down of the local area and the best places to see & where's best to eat.
The room was like a home from home with so many generous suprises waiting for us from gorgeous bath robes to an insane compliments tray! The bathroom was 5 star standard with all the necessary complimentary items incase you forget to bring yours (which I did!) To add to this the huge range of DVD's that are kindly provided for you to watch during your stay as well as the generous trust of Matt & Andy allowing you to help yourself to complimentary drinks from the breakfast room as you come & go. In addition to this the room was also re-stocked of goodies and bed re-made whilst we were out :)
One other very important subject to mention is the simply outstanding breakfast you are provided with..... The menu is so varied and we were presented with fresh warm croissants the minute we sat down. The food was absolutely to die for, all fresh produce cooked to perfection.
I literally could not fault this place, Matt & Andy obviously put their heart & soul into running it and you feel that every second you're there. They take the time to speak to you and find out about your stay and even knidly provide you with pain killers when you *may* have drank a little too much the night before! haha. Could not have felt more welcome or comfortable here.
I would definitely recommend The Twenty One without hesitation every time and fully intend to return :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second time staying at the 21 and it was just as good as the first. Excellent rooms, great food and lovely hosts. The breakfast is great with plenty of choice and the addition of a free drinks fridge available throughout your stay a great bonus. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Me and my wife both needed a relaxing break.We chose Brighton as we have never been.
We stayed overnight in room three.It was wonderful.The room was spotless and beautifuly decorated.There was lovely biscuits and cakes for us to help ourself too.The bathroom was magnificant my wife said it was the best long bath she ever had.The bed was very comfy.
Matt and Andy made us very welcome and were ever so helpful they even sat with us and pointed out on the local map all the hot spots That evening we went to River Spice curry house in town which was excellent.The highlight for me was the cooked breakfast in the morning it was the best i have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu_char5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and myself stayed at The Twenty One for a short break at Brighton and were completely bowled over by the exceptionally high standards Matt and Andy offer their guests.
Our room was immaculate, tastefully decorated and complete with a wide variety of daily snacks to enjoy with tea or coffee.I have stayed at hundreds of places both on holiday and business and always look forward to a good breakfast. Without question,the breakfast at The Twenty One is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure to sit down to.Parking in the streets was not difficult and it was only a fifteen minute walk to the centre of town.
Matt and Andy's suggestions of suitable places for evening meals was also very much appreciated and for future guests I would recommend The Ginger Dog about ten minutes walk away. The Twenty One is a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 93 in Brighton
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty One

Property: The Twenty One
Address: 21 Charlotte Street | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twenty One 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Twenty One. We are so happy to have been awarded a Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice Award for 2017. We have been awarded a Travellers' Choice Award by TripAdvisor for the years, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and now for 2017! - No other B&B has ever been awarded such an award in Brighton! We hope you will enjoy the fact that our well-maintained period property is located in a quiet residential side street, yet right at the heart of the lively and cosmopolitan Kemp Town area of Brighton. We are a few steps from the seafront (our principal rooms have the benefit of oblique sea views) and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. All double rooms have iPads and our king rooms benefit from internet-connected SmartTV's with movies on-demand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 21
The Twenty One Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing